We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Estrella Has It All - Great Food, Great People & Great Views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Ranked #8 of 72 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Sacramento, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Estrella Has It All - Great Food, Great People & Great Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a magical time I had during my stay at Casa Estrella! Perfectly situated atop a hill overlooking the town center, but distant enough to be visited by hummingbirds as you lounge by the pool, Casa Estrella has it all - great food, great people and great views!

I went to attend a private event (a beautiful fiesta at the hotel) and relax, but unexpectedly had to attend to business while I was there. The innkeepers did everything to assist me so that I could quickly tie up my work and get back to relaxing with my family. That's exactly what happened. We created memories I'll never forget! Thanks Casa Estrella!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
74
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Hotel is beautiful just like mentioned in previous reviews. The staff is friendly (and included two big dogs for us dog lovers) which makes it hard to complain but our stay was not as magical as we hoped. The hotel was not very clean, especially the kitchen. Our breakfast was served cold.

The view is very special. Casa Estrella is above the city and we could see the city from our room. But the area where it is located is considered dangerous. Our taxista told us that the university next door had a terrible robbery involving masked men and weapons and that students had been mugged. He said it was not safe to walk at night and to be careful during the day. We waited at the front door 15 minutes to wait for the boy to come open the door. It is better to lodge in the city center until the threat of violence passes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicaninns, Owner at Casa Estrella de la Valenciana, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Before responding to this review, we wanted to have independent inspections and checks to determine if our level of cleanliness was lacking. We found that it is not! Our property has always received the highest marks and compliments for cleanliness in the kitchen, guest rooms and common areas. Cleanliness is a top priority for Casa Estrella and will remain so.
The kitchen at Casa Estrella is featured in the very colorful book, Mexicocina which came out in 2006. In 2009, our kitchen graced the cover of the Cocinas Mexicanas calendar published by Brown Trout Publishers. We are very proud of Casa Estrella and grateful for these accolades.
Our delicious full Mexican breakfasts receive raving reviews on a regular basis! At an altitude of 7,200 feet, we encourage guests to start eating immediately when served so that their meals do not cool off. However, if it does, one has only to ask our kitchen staff to reheat the plate in order to thoroughly enjoy an authentic Mexican dish!
Lastly, as anywhere in the world, we must take commonsense precautions with regards to our personal safety. However, for a guest to report that the neighborhood is unsafe solely from a conversation with a taxi driver, is to unfairly judge the city of Guanajuato and in particular, the neighborhood of Valenciana. I have never heard anyone else say that they considered the Valenciana area less safe than any other part of the city or the world! Having lived on this property for many years, I can personally say that I feel much safer than living in an urban California region.
We love the country of Mexico; our greatest desire is to showcase the vibrant color, variety of Mexican folk art and crafts, hand painted tiles and ceramic ware. Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a tribute to these great traditions and the view high above the city is a stunning bonus. Even after owning this property for 12 years, all of our time spent at Casa Estrella is indeed magical!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was fortunate enough to spend 5 days in this lovely bed and breakfast - the staff was exceptional and the breakfasts on the patio were leisurely (I almost didn't want to get out of my pajamas to join the others). Beyond the property there was the personal relationship that Sharon has with local artists - it was such a priviledge to have private tours of their studios. I regret that it has taken me so long to write this since I have shared this experience with so many and encouraged them to make the trip.

Room Tip: The main property has outstanding views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmouth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachuca, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is an amazing place to take a deep relaxation time, at any time. I felt in love with Casa Estrella and Guanajuato City. All the staff and the personel made me feel like at home. Thanks a lot, guys!
Best Greetings :)

Room Tip: Do not miss to select a room with whirlpool tub/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We wish we would have had more time to enjoy everything Casa Estrella de la Valenciana and Guanajuato has to offer. As beautiful as Casa Estrella itself is (and it's gorgeous!) it's the people who make your stay special. Janet and the staff were fantastic. The rooms are super-comfortable and well-appointed, the breakfasts yummy, the art & decor creates a special ambience. Everything is first class. We also appreciated the quality of the bedding - these are not your standard hard beds you normally find in Mexico. There are nice touches like coffee and tea ready whenever you want, a pantry with healthy snacks, many interesting books everywhere, even a tasteful selection of nice art and local crafts at good prices for those last minute gifts. One of the reasons we chose the Casa Estrella was for the pool and hot tub but we were so busy enjoying Guanajuato we never swam! Its location on a hill overlooking the city not only affords spectacular views of the city but a level of tranquility hard to find in the urban center. I could go on but you get the idea: The place is great. The owners, manager and staff are remarkable. The city is a treasure. It's a testament to any B&B that you leave feeling you have a "home" and new friends, people you look forward to spending more time with. That's what Casa Estrella was for us. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tx834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at Case Estrella. It's located on a hill overlooking Guanajuato - very quiet and peaceful; a short inexpensive cab ride takes you into town. The staff is warm and accommodating - the breakfasts are delicious and enormous - the rooms are impeccably designed with furniture and accessories from all over Mexico. Javier gave us a private full-day tour of the surrounding towns and sites; Sharon, Juan, Janet and Edith couldn't have been pleasanter or more fun. Now all our friends want to visit, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JujuGMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What can I say was the best of casa estrella? -- has to be the warmth of the staff and their commitment to make one feel at home. A close second was the physical beauty of the inn - -the breathtaking view and the quality of the accommodation.

We took our bichon frise puppy Lexi with us -- and she received extra special treatment from all.

Room Tip: we stayed in the large room on the lower level by the swimming pool (the san bernabe suite) -- it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
1.6 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Diego
Hotel San Diego
#14 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estrella de la Valenciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Property: Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Address: Calle Jalisco # 10, Guanajuato 36260, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Estrella de la Valenciana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a hillside Mexican bed and breakfast inn that overlooks the Valenciana mine. Every one of our unique bedrooms has a view of the city and its surrounding mountains. Nestled in the heart of the Central Mexican Highlands - Mexico's "Cradle of Independence," our location is perfect to enjoy the romantic city of Guanajuato, with its underground tunnels and beautiful plazas, as well as day trips to the nearby cities of San Miguel de Allende and Dolores Hidalgo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Estrella de la Valenciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Estrella De La Valenciana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing