We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous inn, wonderful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Ranked #8 of 72 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous inn, wonderful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Recently returned last week from a great stay at this beautiful inn. The property is just lovely, as it appears in the pictures, and the views are amazing, especially from the outdoor breakfast table.We were taken great care of by the staff, who were all friendly and helpful, and the breakfast ladies are great cooks! The only slight concern we had before booking was regarding whether the location might be inconvenient in terms of being too far from town, but this wasn't a problem at all. Taxi's can be called to take you to town and arrive within 10 minutes, and getting one in town to bring you back "home" was never a problem, even at night. So you can enjoy the buzz of the city at night if you want, and then return to a peaceful haven. This was our first visit to Guanajuato, which is a unique and charming town, and we'd love to visit again, maybe during the Cervantino Festival.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lily128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
74
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just returned from a delightful week at Casa Estrella. It far exceeded our expectations -- nothing was too much for Sharon the owner: My wife needed meds on the first night so she sent a taxi to pick them up -- and refused to charge us! Our bags got lost en route and Sharon diligently followed up and tracked them down. Sharon tracked down a gym nearby for us to use and negotiated a good day rate.

We have stayed at many high quality hotels in different cities around the world and the feeling of personal service at Casa Estrella was equal to the best hotel anywhere.

And the setting up on a hillside, quiet yet only a few minutes taxi ride to the centre was perfect. Sitting on the terrace having breakfast was a joy.

In short a wonderful place to stay -- and very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyzCouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

As a travel advisor, I am constantly in search of charming, off the beaten path Inns and small hotels that have local character and outstanding service that I can offer to my clients when designing a trip. Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is just such a place.
Owner Sharon has done a great job in decorating the Inn with Mexican arts and crafts and wonderful amenities in each bedroom and throughout the property. Beautiful gardens, pool and outdoor dining with a great view of the colonial town of Guanajuato below create a peaceful setting. Breakfast is served al fresco on the terrace each morning. Sharon, Javier and staff are extremely knowledgeable and offer insight and recommendations on the many things to experience while vising this fascinating part of Mexico.
The Inn is walking distance to Temple de San Cayetano a must -see while you are here, and a short taxi ride to the town below. The staff can arrange for transportation to and from town as well as a driving tour to other nearby towns in the region known as the Bajio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This property has some outstanding views, in a city of great views. The property is beautiful with its gardens, subtle rustic furnishings, patios and out door spaces and rooms done with both function and beauty in mind,

The staff are attentive, helpful, welcoming and competent. Breakfasts on the terrace overlooking all of GTO and the surrounding villages provided magnificent fuel for body and soul each morning-simple and delicious food presented well and served with gracious smiles.

The quiet of the Inn, tucked away up in the hills of Valenciana is a great respite from the noise, excitement and bustle of the city below. With several good restaurants within walking distance this worked well for a weekend.

Room Tip: We had the St B room with two beds and a private patio- just a super room with access to garden, fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I was very impressed with the hotel. Not only is it beautiful and tastefully decorated, it is very well maintained. My room (I stayed in Cata) was clean and quiet, the bed and pillows were fantastic, which made sleeping very comfortable, and breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. I found the staff to be very professional and friendly - nothing was ever a problem! My special thanks go to Javier who helped me arrange my tours. I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone traveling to Guanajuato.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laviajera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicaninns, Owner at Casa Estrella de la Valenciana, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Estrella while visiting Guanajuato! You were our first visitor from Russia which was noteworthy for us; we want thank you for choosing Casa Estrella de la Valenciana!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

What a wonderful place. the view, the interior, the warm and welcoming staff. You feel instantly at home here. The whole place is at such a scale that it never feels like a hotel. More like a lovely house. Unfortunately I cannot give the 5 stars since the room (Sirena) we upgraded to on arrival had a sauna that did not heat up properly. Even after more than an hour preheating (please notice that the heating system turns off automatically after 30 minutes or so). The simple reason for that is that the whole space is covered in cold, yet beautiful, tiles. Saunas are for a reason made of wood. It did not spoil our fun, though.
When we get the chance we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicaninns, Owner at Casa Estrella de la Valenciana, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I regret that the steam room did not heat properly for you. When we tested it, the steam was fully functioning in about 5 minutes, so I am not sure what happened. When something like that happens, we hope that guests will notify the staff as no one was aware that you were having problems with the heat. Our staff has been reminded to ask guests if anything is not working to their satisfaction so we can attend to it.
Also, traditional steam rooms, unlike saunas, usually have stone or tile interiors because of the high humidity heated environment. Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed your trip to Guanajuato and were comfortable at the inn; better yet, that you plan to return some day in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the moment we arrived at night to even after we left the next day, we couldn't stop thinking about how wonderful this "casa" was. The interior and exterior was amazing and each person we met during our stay was fabulous. The room, snacks, view, breakfast, everything.. was AWESOME!

We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
1.6 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Diego
Hotel San Diego
#14 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estrella de la Valenciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Property: Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Address: Calle Jalisco # 10, Guanajuato 36260, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Estrella de la Valenciana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a hillside Mexican bed and breakfast inn that overlooks the Valenciana mine. Every one of our unique bedrooms has a view of the city and its surrounding mountains. Nestled in the heart of the Central Mexican Highlands - Mexico's "Cradle of Independence," our location is perfect to enjoy the romantic city of Guanajuato, with its underground tunnels and beautiful plazas, as well as day trips to the nearby cities of San Miguel de Allende and Dolores Hidalgo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Estrella de la Valenciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Estrella De La Valenciana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing