We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Estrella de la Valenciana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Ranked #10 of 81 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have been doing a 21 day tour of Mexico, and have stayed at several hotels. Casa Estrella de la Valenciana was definitely our favorite!

We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we cannot say enough praise about Javier, Angelica, Antonio and Corni! Our stay was safe, comfortable, friendly and really an extension of home away from home with all of the splendor and glory of the beautiful views, delicious breakfasts, impressive gardens and pools, and comfortable rooms at Casa Estrella.

They have really put together a top notch staff who go the extra mile for anything you need! We will return as soon as we can and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a premier location that will hold a special memory in your heart. Definitely the best place to stay in Guanajuato.

Room Tip: Anything we needed they took care of. Did not use a fitness area, so cannot elaborate on that point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Casa Estrella for 11 nights as a "base" to visit Guanajuato as well as other neighboring towns/cities during our vacation. Even though it a short taxi ride ($4-5 USD each way) to get into the Centro, the accommodations were very much worth the mild inconvenience. Our room was the San Bernades--beautiful, CLEAN and loads of room for two adult women who like to have lots of space for clothes, supplies, etc.

The staff is exceptional, and were available for everything we needed, including coffee, calling for taxis, help with luggage, and planning our day trips. By the end of our stay, we knew all of them...including the groundskeepers, and felt a part of their "family."

The breakfasts are exceptional--probably the best in all of Guanajuato! We would have liked the opportunity to buy a small meal at night; but that was truly the only unfulfilled wish.

We will happily return...hopefully soon. All in all, an excellent experience.

Room Tip: The San Bernades has two dressing areas and two queen beds, as well as a jacuzzi. Very quiet at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Estrella for 3nights and we loved every single minute of it.
The view was amazing, facilities were great, the staff were helpful and the manager Javier is fantastic and the list goes on

If you are looking for comfortable, relaxing and luxurious holiday this definitely is the place!

We had some unpleasant time at San Miguel before we got to Guanajuato but the 3 nights at Casa Estrella made up for it and ended up saving our holiday.

6 stars!

ps: I don't like signing in to websites but I purposely signed up to write the review.
its that good!.. ALSO tripadvisor, let ppl write review without signing in!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My parents and I travelled the short bus ride from San Miguel de Allende to Guanajuato for a three-day getaway together. I am already a huge fan of San Miguel and the area, but this was a very happy and special time. The staff are so warm and welcoming... you feel as though you are guest in their home. The rooms we had were beautiful and the nights were peaceful and with the comfortable beds, sleep was never an issue. the breakfast were really delicious and our hosts were happy to modify or accommodate our varying appetites and tastes. The pool is lovely, with views of the city and surrounding hills... a great way to end the day. We took a guided tour of the area that was very reasonable and enjoyable, and spent another day just wandering the historical centro and visiting galleries and the old theatre. I would highly recommend this B&B to all my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Recently returned last week from a great stay at this beautiful inn. The property is just lovely, as it appears in the pictures, and the views are amazing, especially from the outdoor breakfast table.We were taken great care of by the staff, who were all friendly and helpful, and the breakfast ladies are great cooks! The only slight concern we had before booking was regarding whether the location might be inconvenient in terms of being too far from town, but this wasn't a problem at all. Taxi's can be called to take you to town and arrive within 10 minutes, and getting one in town to bring you back "home" was never a problem, even at night. So you can enjoy the buzz of the city at night if you want, and then return to a peaceful haven. This was our first visit to Guanajuato, which is a unique and charming town, and we'd love to visit again, maybe during the Cervantino Festival.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just returned from a delightful week at Casa Estrella. It far exceeded our expectations -- nothing was too much for Sharon the owner: My wife needed meds on the first night so she sent a taxi to pick them up -- and refused to charge us! Our bags got lost en route and Sharon diligently followed up and tracked them down. Sharon tracked down a gym nearby for us to use and negotiated a good day rate.

We have stayed at many high quality hotels in different cities around the world and the feeling of personal service at Casa Estrella was equal to the best hotel anywhere.

And the setting up on a hillside, quiet yet only a few minutes taxi ride to the centre was perfect. Sitting on the terrace having breakfast was a joy.

In short a wonderful place to stay -- and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyzCouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

As a travel advisor, I am constantly in search of charming, off the beaten path Inns and small hotels that have local character and outstanding service that I can offer to my clients when designing a trip. Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is just such a place.
Owner Sharon has done a great job in decorating the Inn with Mexican arts and crafts and wonderful amenities in each bedroom and throughout the property. Beautiful gardens, pool and outdoor dining with a great view of the colonial town of Guanajuato below create a peaceful setting. Breakfast is served al fresco on the terrace each morning. Sharon, Javier and staff are extremely knowledgeable and offer insight and recommendations on the many things to experience while vising this fascinating part of Mexico.
The Inn is walking distance to Temple de San Cayetano a must -see while you are here, and a short taxi ride to the town below. The staff can arrange for transportation to and from town as well as a driving tour to other nearby towns in the region known as the Bajio.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
5.4 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
276 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
5.8 mi away
Camino Real Guanajuato
Camino Real Guanajuato
#39 of 55 in Guanajuato
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
516 reviews
5.4 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
701 reviews
5.3 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 81 in Guanajuato
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estrella de la Valenciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Address: Calle Jalisco # 10, Guanajuato 36260, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: £113 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Estrella de la Valenciana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a hillside Mexican bed and breakfast inn that overlooks the Valenciana mine. Every one of our unique bedrooms has a view of the city and its surrounding mountains. Nestled in the heart of the Central Mexican Highlands - Mexico's "Cradle of Independence," our location is perfect to enjoy the romantic city of Guanajuato, with its underground tunnels and beautiful plazas, as well as day trips to the nearby cities of San Miguel de Allende and Dolores Hidalgo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Estrella de la Valenciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Estrella De La Valenciana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing