We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go there....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mision Guanajuato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mision Guanajuato
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't go there....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I can absolutely not recomment this hotel. It's outside the towncenter (you net a taxi). The rooms are old and need a renovation. The smell in our room (coming from the bathroom) was very bad. When the reading light didn't work, they only came next day to repair it (which doesn't help, when you want to read a book in the evening).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnenblume117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    129
    73
    44
    47
See reviews for
179
99
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

I like older, well-kept hotels. I am here at a busy time and chose to stay outside the city center. There is plentiful hot water, a clean room, lovely grounds and swimming pool, a very nice restaurant, and blissful quiet at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

This hotel looks nice in the pictures of the web page but really is not that nice, there is no elevators so i had to walk carring my luggage all the way to the 5th floor and thats not it, is really confusing, my frind got lost looking for his room. The beds were terrible i had a hard time sleeping, the shower was really bad it was either to cold or to hot.

So if you like getting lost, carring your luggage up to the top floors and sleeping in a really bad beds go ahead!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcialC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this place. The bathroom is smelly, water is never really hot. WE is very noisy and the restaurant food is to be missed at all costs. Breakfast "bufffet" is really bad, foul coffee, inneficient service...The worst for us was may be to discover on our departure day that our car had been forced in their public parking. and the security was to be "located"

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anargratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

The location of this place is out of town a ways and it is not particularly easy to find (not that anything is easy to find in Guanajuato). If you are driving then print a map first! There is a courtesy bus to town and taxis are CHEAP (30 pesos from town back to the hotel) so the location isn't too much of an issue.

The rooms are average. Reasonably clean, rather hard beds etc. Nothing to write home about. The pool looked nice but we didn't go in.

The service is ok in general but again nothing spectacular.

Avoid the restaurant and eat in town if you can then taxi back to the Hotel. The breakfast buffet is pretty good though it is a bit pricey.

The one big plus is the gardens and Hacienda next door which is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

One year ago I stayed in this hotel and to tell the truth the only thing I liked was the gardens surrounding it, somehow this year I was booked again in this hotel I am amazed with the changes that have been accomplished, the rooms look much nicer and refreshed, the gardens still beautiful, cost-value just fine. I will gladly return to this spot.
Seems they added room amenities, now there is Wireless internet service free of charge.
Thanks, Rudy Cisneros

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rudycSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Maybe the noisiest hotel I've been.
People have no longer the education to keep the noise down while in the corridors of any hotel, but in this one, the echo is really loud.
The floor is made of irregular tiles and while screaming, shouting, telling jokes and just being plain loud, people drag their sutcases and the noise is quadrupled, and this happens 24 hrs.
Hotel staff does nothing about this.
The telephone in my room was out of order, and stayed out of order despite I reported it at least 7 times.
The staff is mean and rude, specially Samuel Cruz, who is one of the guys at the front desk.
I returned to the hotel around 1.30 AM after new year's party and right at the entrance the lights went out, and I heard my 5 year old kid fell and cry, and when the lights came back 4 or 5 seconds after they went out, a young man passed running right beside me.
It took 3 more seconds to realize that it was he who ran over my kid leaving him on the floor with a nasty bump in the back of his head, and when I tried to run after him he was already gone.
Hotel staff did nothing to help me, they did not assist me in any way, they didn't even care.
We don't know if he was trying to snatch someone's purse, wallet or something and they did absolutely nothing.
The hotel is not very clean and well maintained, I struggled with the shower just to keep a regular water temperature during my shower, and service is really poor.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dechopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#7 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guanajuato

Property: Mision Guanajuato
Address: Camino Antiguo a Marfil km. 2.5 | Col. Noria Alta, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guanajuato
#4 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guanajuato 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of Guanajuato, a World Heritage Site, with its colonial architecture and its romantic atmosphere, it is an excellent destination for unforgettable moments. It has 138 rooms with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 6 meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 to 800 people with services to perform the wedding of your dreams, special events, parties and business meetings. Hotel Mission Guanajuato support you with the organization and we provide everything necessary so that your expectations are met. In our facilities you will find restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, laundry and dry cleaning and gift shop, which places us as one of the hotels in Guanajuato most complete services and amenities. Our hotel has a prime location, next to the Museo ex Hacienda San Gabriel de Barrera, heritage of the city and home of the International Cervantino Festival. Also we are located 20 minutes from the airport, 40 minutes from the city of Leon and 3 hours 45 minutes from Mexico City. Among the main attractions of the city is the Jardin de la Union, beautiful triangular park roofed by leafy trees, with its kiosk in the center and a pleasant atmosphere, the Collegiate Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato, the Temple and Ex-Convent the Society of Jesus, with a large dome in the neoclassical style and the famous Callejón del Beso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mision Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing