We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bearable for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Murillo Plaza
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Bearable for a weekend”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

PROS:
10 min walk to the centre
Free parking

CONS:
I was charged MS$590 even though booking.com had the hotel listed at MS507 ($41.50)
The room was horrendously hot - the fan barely functioned.
the shower head needs cleaning as water pressure was very low
the whole hotel could do with a lick of paint

Room Tip: Don't choose room 30 unless you enjoy sleeping in a sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
16
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is a really average hotel for mexico. Extreamly basic, but half price from the other hotels. So you do get what you pay for, If on a budget worth it. secure parking and central to the historic area.

Room Tip: NOt sure i did move rooms because of construction in the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omtulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Guanajuato was part of our road trip destinations after San Miguel de Allende. The road which descents to town center kind of wraps around the surrounding hills. As we swirled in, the views were magnificent ! Every turn was just beautiful!

We rented a GPS thinking it would help us in the trip and it totally failed in this city because there were tunnels underground but the GPS could only processed in 2 dimensional terms. So sometimes it told us to turn off a cliff or into a building. Imagine!

The hotel is at the bullseye of the town center. And arriving by car was full of problems:
1) There was no standing area at the town center that we could have time to try to locate ourselves with GPS or map in relations to the hotel. The traffic never stopped.
2) Like all latin countries, it's full of one way roads, if you miss the entrance road to the hotel, you have to do the whole loop again, and again.
3) That one (and only) tiny road which led to the hotel was so narrow that our mini-van almost couldn't pass.

Finally we made it to the hotel. They had ample parking in the basement which was a big relief.

We were a group of 5 and we took 3 rooms. Our room was over-looking a parking lot next door. One of our friend's room was right next to the internal staircase that the noise from people walking upstairs bothered her at night.

Thank goodness we were just spending 1 night here in this hotel. Anyway the rates were quite reasonable that other than the noise, I wouldn't complain about it.

Guanajuato is beautiful! We visited the el Mercado Hidalgo, Callejón del Beso, Jardín de la Unión. And we managed to eat sushi (owned and run by a japanese gentleman) in one of the tiny streets above the Jardín.

Out of curiosity we walked into a small section of one of the underground tunnels. Even though it was smelling like exhaust but the thought of all these tunnels were inter-connected somehow made it neat and unique.

This is a town I would like to come back some day but definitely will try a different hotel up the hill.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2005

My husband and I booked this hotel based on the website and 3 star rating. It was not my idea of a 3 star. The room we got on the first day was next to the street. It was small, the bed was way to small and stiff for my 6 foot tall husband. The bathrooms were old and the tile was cracked thru the whole bathroom. The cleanliness factor of the whole room was minimal at best. Lets break it down to what the room consisted of. A bed, a ceiling fan with a light, a TV (without a remote) and a few clothes hangers for your clothes. The staff was not to accomidating when we informed them or TV had no remote. My husband speaks limited spanish and they don't speak a word of english. Lucky that I am fully bilingual but that still didn't score any comfort of freindly points with the Murillo staff. We switched rooms to see if we would fare better. We got the same layout as above with an added bed and a bathroom that reaked of mold and fungus! We would hold our breath run in, do our business and run out all in one breath! We stayed 3 nights 4 days and took no shower, We couldn't hold our breath long enough! The vending machine they boast about was out of order.Room was 300pesos/$30 US.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiquidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Rita
Hotel Santa Rita
#28 of 56 in Guanajuato
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Magica Hotel
Casa Magica Hotel
#25 of 56 in Guanajuato
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Guanajuato
Hotel Real Guanajuato
#34 of 56 in Guanajuato
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Flamingos Auto Hotel
Flamingos Auto Hotel
#30 of 56 in Guanajuato
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Socavon
Socavon
#22 of 56 in Guanajuato
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Del Frayle
Hosteria Del Frayle
#36 of 56 in Guanajuato
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo Plaza

Property: Hotel Murillo Plaza
Address: Calle Insurgencia 9 | Col. Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murillo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the downtown area of Guanajuato. You will find the” Alhóndiga de granaditas” and Museums a few steps away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Murillo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing