We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa de la Plata
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed 23 May 2006

We exchanged through RCI to this resort. We were in Room 29 at the end of the building. It was OK, but not what we expected from an RCI exchange. We've stayed all over Mexico & Europe & this hotel would rate a 3 on a scale of 1 to 10. We basically judge a place on the room and not the amenities as we don't hang around the hotel/resort. Villa de la Plata rooms need a facelift. The room we had was good size (I BR/2baths/Kitchen) but not very clean, especially the kitchen. The bed & couches were very hard. We had 2 small balconies and they brought in new wrought iron chairs for one of the balconies which were the most comfortable furniture in the unit. The kitchen had a microwave/toaster but we didn't use them. The stove worked as opposed to another reviewer who said theirs didn't. We had lots of ants that came out at night in the kiltchen, but that wasn't an issue for us since we didn't cook at night.

The onsite restaurant was fine. The grounds were so-so as far as plants, but needed some TLC. They were painting some of the exterior. It's located on a mountain road with no sidewalks about 5 miles from town; it would be dangerous to try to walk. It's right on the bus route so that was convenient or you could catch a taxi going by or have the desk call one for you. There was a small tienda across the road to pick up some basics for food, if you didn't want to carry it back from town. One note to those who don't speak any Spanish....there was no one there duing our visit who did speak English so that could be a problem. Net net, we would stay somewhere else, if we returned to Guanajuato.

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank seek4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2003

We stayed at the Villa de la Plata in Guanajuato (RCI). Its about as high as you can get in "G" and its about 2.5 miles to the center of town. Believe me when I tell you there is no walking to town. There is no sidewalks, so bus or taxi is your only way to travel (or private car). Bus leaves from right in front of the Hotel. The best advice I can give you if you are traveling to "G" on your own, learn to speak Spanish. Very few people speak English and the next best tip is carry change. The Hotel is probably a 6 on a scale of 1-10. Could be cleaner. We ate breakfast there once, it then was closed for a couple of days. We had a refrig and coffee maker and toaster so we bought some stuff for breakfast. There is a big Grocey store about two blocks from the Mercado Hidalgo (facing the Mercado it is right. Look for the Ambulances, we thought it was a Hospital, but it was a Grocery store. Between the Mercado and the Grocery is a bus stop area. You can catch the bus to the Mummy Museum here (look for bus that says Momias), its only 2.5 pesos to go. The best Museum is Museo Iconografico del Quijote. This is the Don Quixote Museum, it is really good, clean, and free. The Jardin Union (square) is excellent. Definitely make a trip to the San Cayetano, La Valenciana Church. In that area, all within 10 yards is the Church, a great resturant Casa del Conde de la Valenciana open 10-6 only. Its left of the church and a nice gift shop Ojo de Venado, right of the church, amost directly across the resturant. Behind the church also to your right is a Mine you can take a tour and walk down the mine. It was worth it and its was very cheap to do so. You should be in shape to take the walk down and up. To get there you can take the Valenciana bus and get off at the church . There are a number of churches and museums that are worth visiting but the next one we found that was great was the Cata Church. Again we took the bus. Two other resturants we liked was Chao Bella and if your upant up the hill behind the San Diego church. All 3 resturants mentioned take Visa, so does the gift shop. We went to Casa de Capelo, which is up past the San Cayetano church. He is a famous Ceramist. You can take a bus, to the foot of the hill on the left, but then you will have to walk to his place. If you are interested in buying stuff, make the trip, his stuff in gift shops around "G" are almost double. No Visa. A suggestion on going to Delores Hidalgo, don't go on a tour, if you are thinking of buying some ceramics, the tour will only take you to one or two places and there a dozens. You may want to take a taxi or private tour. If you are not going to buy stuff, we did not feel it was worth the trip to buy an ice cream cone. We stayed one week in "G" and learned the bus system and then went to San Miguel for one week, were everyone spoke English. John and Barbara.

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank jonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drizzlysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Segundo piso lejos ruido autopista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicente F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Una excelente vista de la ciudad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiolatamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Israel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#16 of 55 in Guanajuato
28 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Casa Magica Hotel
Casa Magica Hotel
#27 of 55 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Abadia Tradicional
La Abadia Tradicional
#30 of 55 in Guanajuato
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embajadoras Hotel
Embajadoras Hotel
#25 of 55 in Guanajuato
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de la Plata

Address: Carretera Mineral de Valenciana Km 3, Guanajuato 36240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: £50 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa de la Plata 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa de la Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing