We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa De Los Espiritus Alegres
Ranked #15 of 74 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We are a 55 year old couple and loved the ambiance, the assistance from the staff and we liked the out of town location which enabled us to come back and relax. The cab is a $3.00 easy ride to town.
We would definitely come here again! THank you to all of the staff, Jane ad Hank

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandhcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, VIrginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This old hacienda is a vibrant arrangement of intense color, surrounded by gardens to match. Our family has stayed here a few times and each time was unforgettable. The ambiance is uniquely Mexican folk, and each bedroom is its own imaginative entity. The staff is friendly and professional, with suggestions and directions for each day's events. They even arranged a Spanish tutor for us! The food is scrumptious; a fusion of fresh Mexican and other worldly. I think my favorite memory is eating the 4 course breakfasts at a festive table with the other (fascinating!) guests, where every chair is hand painted/ decorated by a different artist.

Guanajuato is a colonial city, established for silver mining, with a beautiful historic downtown, and many cultural sights. The weather has always been perfect, usually mid 70'sduring the day, and we've visited in three seasons. The whole experience is refreshing and relaxing. By the time you leave, you'll feel like family.

  • Liked — The friendliness and the food
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LosViejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2008

la casa is a beautiful place - and the hosts are out of this world.

the breakfasts were great. each room has it's own theme, and each is artfully decorated. la casa has a very unique feel.

everyone was so friendly and helpful. it is a nice quiet respite. great for relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stlandmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

La Casa de Espiritus Alegres is a wonderful old hacienda that has been converted into a comfortable bed and breakfast. They have a number of rooms on the lushly landscaped property. We stayed in the "Raj", which is a very private "casita", located down in the garden.

The staff are very friendly and really made us feel well taken care of, especially the manager Angelica. The included breakfast was delicious and the property owner Carol, an accomplished printmaker from Santa Cruz, California, joined us at the breakfast table each morning. This inclusiveness was particularly appreciated because as a gay couple we do not always feel welcome at B&B's.

The place is loaded with whimsical arts and crafts from Mexico and India, as well as the owner's own work, that make it feel like an artist's retreat. You cannot help but smile as you walk around the place.

The location required us to hire taxis to take us to town but they were easy to hail and cost only 35 pesos from the Casa de Espiritus Alegres. It was nice to get out of the surprisingly bustling town of Guanajuato after a day of sightseeing to the haven of the gardens and our own private casita.

The only minor complaints were a neighbor dog barking continuously the first night we stayed (apparently his master had been away until the next morning) and the slightly musty smell of the outer linens on our bedding. The Casa provides earplugs which I used the first night to block out the barking. The manager mentioned mosquitos but we did not encounter more than a couple and the room was equipped with repellent and an electrical anti-mosquito device.

I should also mention that we happened to visit during an unusually slow few days so were the only two guests but the rooms seem to be arranged and landscaped in such a way as to provide maximum privacy.

Overall this is an exceptional B&B and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for someplace unusual, creatively inspired, full of history and friendly people who obviously love running the place.

  • Liked — The building/grounds and the artwork
  • Disliked — The slightly musty bedding
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Golthanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Casa de Espiritus Allegres is a unique place to stay that feels a bit like you are staying in a magic garden. The surroundings are lovely and each room is uniquely and thoughtfully decorated. However, we had a few minor "complaints" that made it less than 5 stars (but still totally a great place to stay).

1. As others have mentioned, the location is a cab ride away and not walkable. This is an inconvenience that didn't work well for us since we wanted to go back to the room during the day and really couldn't do it easily.

2. The staff is mostly around in the mornings and completely clears out at night so there's no one around if you have a question or need. We didn't know how to reach anyone if we needed something on the property. We never met the owners in the 2 days were were there.

3. Our room had no lock on the door and no one offered us a place to store valuables, although we were reassured that it was safe... and we didn't have any problems.

4. The bed linens, towels and pillows were very average and even a little worn out. The bed sloped slightly downwards and probably should be replaced.

Otherwise, the breakfasts were great, staff was friendly, and our room was quite unique. And I really haven't seen a property as whimsically and creatively decorated as this- it is really unique.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

We ended up at La Casa de Espiritus Alegres when our flight home was delayed 48 hours. It turned out to be a wonderful extension of our vacation. Angelica made us feel right at home, despite our unexpected arrival, and we loved the ambiance and unique art collection at La Casa. The breakfasts were delicious (including both Scottish scones and Mexican specialties) and the rooms were a wonderful combination of Indian and Mexican folk art. The location is a bit out of town but that didn't present a major problem. In fact we ate in the neighborhood (Marfil) two nights, and enjoyed both meals. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights over the new years holiday and absolutely loved it. The staff were so friendly and always similing and happy. The whole place is absolutely gorgeous, beautifully decorated in traditional mexican style. It is a little out of town, but I actually enjoyed that as our Mexican trip felt so busy, with all of the zocolo's we visited bustling with people, it was really nice to have the secluded retreat to retun to. Not to mention the food was fantastic and there was a lovely atmosphere as we enjoyed our morning ritual of breakfast with the other guests.
I would defintely recommend this place and hope to return one day.

  • Liked — authentic charm.
  • Disliked — beware tall people of short beds, our feet did hang over the end, but it was still comfortable
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
2.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#21 of 56 in Guanajuato
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.9 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Los Espiritus Alegres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Los Espiritus Alegres

Property: La Casa De Los Espiritus Alegres
Address: Hacienda La Trinidad 1, Guanajuato 36250, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa De Los Espiritus Alegres 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened as a Bed & Breakfast in 1990, La Casa de Espiritus Alegres was quickly discovered by people worldwide who appreciate the ambience, attention to detail, folk art and delicious food. We have 8 rooms each with an individual style based on themes and elements of Mexican art. The result is a warm and welcoming blend of sophistication and playfulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa De Los Espiritus Alegres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Espiritus Alegres Hotel Guanajuato
La Casa De Espiritus Alegres Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing