We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Japanese food in Mexico?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Delica Mitsu

Delica Mitsu
Ranked #18 of 235 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Japanese food in Mexico?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I live for 6 or 7 months a year in Mexico and there is lots of Japanese restaurants where I live. I wish Delica Mitsu was one of them. It is truly a hole in the wall place, run by a nice, young Japanese couple. The sushi is not slathered in mayonnaise, but very authentic. the various salads that they make fresh daily are all great. Go early, say 2:00 pm, before they start running out of stuff. Just off San Fernando Plaza , it is a bit hard to find, but find the plaza and ask the people at the crepe place which callione to walk up. Combine it with a trip the Diego Museum or the University as both are nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank p0liner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

After living in Tokyo for 5 years, we know Japanese food and were pleasantly surprised by how fresh and delicious our lunch at Delica Mitsu was today! Yes, it's a hard to find hole-in-the-wall, but it's worth the search if you want authentic Japanese food, cooked by Japanese chefs, with good fresh ingredients. We read comments about slow or bad service, but our experience was totally positive, and we were surprised how quickly our order arrived during the crowded, busy lunch hour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portlandman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Great place, but hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A nice , small Asian food restaurant, if you arrive after 15:30 you wont be able to eat whatever its in the menu. Lunch time its the best to enjoy this excellent Japanese food although its really hard to find the place and the service its really slow. Not much space to seat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guanajuato
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I love everything about this funky, 100% authentic little hole in the wall. The Japanese owner cooks everything so perfectly that the food goes fast every day. Absolutely delicious fare, superb, loving, friendlty service, great pricess and an enormous favourite of people who've never tasted Japanese cuisine before.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We came for dinner and loved the sushi. The menu is pretty limited and they told us they were only open from 7-8 for dinner. But we are glad we came as we really enjoyed the misu soup and rolls. The place is a hole in the wall in need of a paint job. But the waitress was very friendly and we would definitely return. I would have given it a 5 if they would have have just painted the walls.

Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delica Mitsu also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Delica Mitsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing