We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just What We Were Looking for in Guanajuato” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Balcon del Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Just What We Were Looking for in Guanajuato”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We thought this was a great choice for a two night stay exploring Guanajuato. As previous reviewers have said, the location really is terrific - just below the Pipila monument at the terminus of the little funicular that runs up and down the hill. The views are amazing, and being up on the hill makes for a quieter experience than opting for a hotel down in the center of things. Do consider bringing some soft ear plugs, however. We never heard a peep from anyone inside the hotel, but the noise from down below does drift up the hill.
Having the funicular co-located with the hotel made getting up and down the hill a snap. The breakfast arrangement they have with a local restaurant located right next to the Jardin Union is great - very generous breakfast packages in one of the prettiest settings in the city.
Staff were very attentive and seemed to go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. No problems whatever getting a taxi to the bus station from the little park just above the hotel at the Pipila.
Finding the hotel the first time can be a challenge, but the street view on Google Maps helped immensely. Found the entrance to the short downhill path to the place without too much drama, and the friendly folks manning the souvenir stands were glad to point the way.
Finally, you just cannot beat the price. We thought that the free use of the funicular and the generous breakfast plan provided plenty of "Value Added" to an already enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Spring for one of the rooms with a balcony. Doesn't cost that much more and it's well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    67
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
74
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I think your experience at Balcon del Cielo depends on your expectations. If you came to have really great views of Guanajuato and a nice, comfortable stay, then you came to the right place. The room is large and modern and very nicely decorated, and the front desk is very willing to do whatever you need. The location is great for what it is--a great spot to take photos of Guanajuato from. To get to any sort of restaurant, cafe, or tourist destination, you'll have to use the cable car to get into the center; they give you a card that allows you to ride for free, and it takes you directly to the main plaza in just a few seconds. Downside--closes at 9:30, so you're out of luck after that and will need to find a taxi.

Suggestions:
-Ask the front desk to light more pilot lights on the water heater if you plan on taking a shower during the afternoon or evening. They usually only keep one on, which isn't enough to take a good shower.
-Bring earplugs, because sound travels through the halls really easily. We heard people coming and going all night. You can't hear noises from other rooms, though. Depending on the night (mostly weekends), you can hear live music from the streets of the city center below coming up to your room until about 2 a.m. Could be nice, depending on what you're looking for.
-Bring your walking shoes! The fun part about getting up to the hotel during the day is to explore the tiny streets that will lead up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I just stayed at the Balcon De Cielo the past 2 nights. It is a good hotel with nice rooms, clean and comfortable with some charm, friendly staff and a good value for the price paid (I got my room through bookings.com at a good discount). There are also incredible views of the city.

However, there are lot of little things that are not at the level of what one would would expect for a hotel rated the best in Guanajuato on Trip Advisor. Some examples:
- No carpet
- No Phone
- Flaky/slow wifi (some major websites always timed out)
- chambermaid took dirty towels and forgot to replace them
- Front desk wouldn't check me out or call a cab the night before when I had to leave very early in the morning and then took over 15 minutes to accomplish this in the morning so I almost missed my bus.

Are any of these dealbreakers? Probably not and if the most important think for you is great views then this is the hotel for you but for those of you who see the high ranking and are expecting real 5 star hotel accommodations and service, be aware that it is not what you get.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wander25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Had a very good experience in this hotel. Great view of the city, if your not going to stay on the balcony just get the room with a view, we were always out walking around. New , clean, great bed, you need to let the hot water run a bit till it starts coming out. it was great taking a lift up and down to the city center. After staying in 3 hotels in the city this is really your best bet!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omtulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We travel in Mexico a lot, We like hotels that have character, where the staff is friendly and helpful, that are clean, that have plenty of hot water, and that have reading lights for the beds. We prefer to be in the historic centers. We do not require the latest in American- style facilities or conveniences. Great character and cool places to stay are key to us. The Hotel Balcon del Cielo is a great place to stay in Guanajuato – If you can find it.
It is located on the hillside just below the “El Pipila” monument literally at the top of the funicular -- the funicular is actually part of the hotel. One cannot get there by car- one parks in a nearby parking lot, or takes a cab to the monument and walks down, or gets to the bottom of the funicular (which is right in the center of the city one block from El Jardin, and funiculars up (a two minute ride, and it runs constantly from 8 am to9 pm) (all rides are free to hotel guests). The building is quite new with a clean contemporary design. Every room has a spectacular view over the city. Rooms area spacious with a large closet, desk, and reading lights. Baths is nicely appointed, plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had sliding doors on to a sizable terrace overlooking the city. The bottom of the funicular puts one in a terrific location one short block from the heart of the city – El Jardin de la Union – and central to everything one might want to do, see or eat in Guanajuato.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BBLikesToExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guanajuato, GTO., Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This hotel is located in the funicular station, 60 meters above the heart of the village and next door to Casa Zuniga. Guests receive a free pass for unlimited use of the funicular. The funicular is a rail tram that takes you to and from the hotel to the dead center of the village in 90 seconds.

Rooms 1 & 2 have a nice patio overlooking the village and ran 980 pesos total. Other rooms have balconies and/or windows that over-look the village, they ran, 780 pesos total.

The beds are doubles, new firm mattresses . Bathrooms are large and modern. Hot water 24 hrs. A call to the front desk gets hot water to your room faster. Less wasted water this way. The head-board/nite-stand had no lamps. the reading light is above the bed. New flat screen with cable, Free WiFi. There is a parking lot at the street above the hotel. Parking is 60 pesos/24hrs.

This hotel is at the "Pipila Monument" and very easy to reach by car, cab, bus, walking or the funicular.

I live in Guanajuato and wanted to try out the hotel so I would now if i could recommend it and I do.
Rick Zuniga

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickZuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#7 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Guanajuato
Hotel Real Guanajuato
#37 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Cielo

Property: Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Address: Carr. Panoramica Pipila, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing