We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with million dollar view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with million dollar view”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Yeah, there are a few issues. The bathroom door needed to be kept closed because there was a sewage smell at times. The bed was a little small, and a little bit on the hard side. Staff spoke only Spanish, as some people stated. But hey, you know what? If you go to a mid-range hotel in America, the staff will probably speak only English. Water takes forever to heat up, though eventually it does.

Dollar for dollar, though, this may be the best value in town. The view is just jaw-dropping. Yeah, you can get it from going up to the Pipila monument, but you know, it's just not the same as sitting on the balcony in the afternoon with a glass of wine in hand. Speaking of which, they're pretty accommodating in terms of providing things like a corkscrew or a knife to cut fruit.

Other than sewage smell (which is confined to the bathroom), the room was quite clean.

You get to ride the funicular for free as long as you want if you stay here, which is nice. I was a little concerned that the funicular which is required to get into town, stops working at 9:45 PM. But this turned out to be a gift. When you catch a cab from town, they wind up going through the extensive tunnel network which we otherwise wouldn't have gotten to see. Way cool!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    69
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
76
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Overlooking the center of the city from up high, the hotel gets a high rating. The room was spotlessly clean and had a good bed. Access to the downtown is via a very convenient funicular with free rides provided by the hotel. The funicular runs every few minutes so it is very convenient.
The cons -- from the bathroom (which was very clean) came a relatively strong sewerage odor. I don't know if that was temporary or permanent. In addition, the door to the balcony did not lock. While it would take Spiderman to enter the room, it was still uncomfortable not being able to lock away our things. An in-room safe is provided, but it is small, so our purchases were vulnerable. No one entered the room and nothing was robbed.

Advice: if you arrive or depart by taxi, the taxi stops up a long set of steps from the hotel If you have multiple or heavy bags, you must have taxi driver or someone he/she summons to carry luggage down to the hotel. It is not a big deal, but readers should be advised.

Room Tip: Make sure the room overlooks the city (think that most do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The view from this hotel was amazing. The funicular was right by the hotel which made it easy to get directly into town. The hotel supplied free tickets for the funicular so you did not need to pay each time. The room was airy and clean. At night the noise from the town does carry to the hotel, and I heard a great classical symphony one night. However, if I couldnt sleep, earplugs did the trick. The reception was always helpful and available. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

the hotel is very nice, the room and the facilities. Is very small, but yes, has a great view (if you like to see the roof of the houses)...
there isn't phone in the room so you have to go to the front desk anytime you need something.
rooms are very clean.
the hot water works.
the agreement with the parking lot really sucks...I always have to pay more than what the hotel said... times are from 9am to 9pm and from 9pm to 9am...so if you enter at 8pm they charge you the hour plus the charge of the next 12hours...I dont know you are supposed to pay 10 bucks and you finishing paying more than that.....
if you are hungry at the 10pm so let me tell you that you are in troubles. the funicular is closed at that time, the hotel doesn't have restaurant, you can't take your car becasue the parking lot is closed too...so if you want to eat somethig at night be prepared.
the food in the restaurant in front of Juarez Teather was more than delicious...
BUT PLEASE DONT GET ME WRONG THE HOTEL IS NICE....

Room Tip: the ones with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ger_ariasmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Had a very good experience in this hotel. Great view of the city, we were always out walking around. Clean, great beds, you need to let the hot water run a bit till it starts coming out.
It was great taking a lift up and down to the city center

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiram_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I'm shocked by all of the great reviews of Hotel Balcon del Cielo in Guanajuato! I chose the hotel because it was ranked #2 on Trip Advisor. I've lost confidence in Trip Advisor due to this experience.

The hotel is up on the hill and you have to take a cable car up and down to the town square. It does have a beautiful view, but you can see that by going to the sites up there.

The noise from the city carried and the windows were paper thin. We had teenagers hanging outside our window all night as that is the place where they hang.

They don't have air condition and it was 85-90 degrees out. When I asked about the air conditioning they gave me a fan. However, you have to have the lights on to work the electrical outlets. So you needed to sleep with the lights on or be hot.

The bathroom had a sliding glass door so there was NO privacy.

The staff only speaks Spanish, so if you aren't proficient they aren't much help with attractions in the town.

This is not a #2 hotel. We went into several hotels along the square and they were fantastic. Wish I would have stayed in one of them instead!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Balcon del Cielo on a Friday and Saturday night in April 2012. The view is surreal!!! The hotel provides free access to the Funicular, which goes right down to the middle of Centro. It is literaly right outside the door and it's easily accessible, until 9:45 pm. We missed the last ride one night and ended taking a nice, invigorating walk back up to the hotel!You can also catch a cab for a reasonable price. The room was very clean and the staff went out of their way to be accomodating and helpful. The only issues we had were that the room did not cool down as much as we liked at night. It would have helped to keep the patio door open all night, but the music from below could be heard until 5:00am. Maybe week nights would not be as noisy. The hotel staff provided us with a fan that did drown out most of the noise though. Breakfast is at a scenic restaurant at the bottom of the Funicular. Very nice! All in all we were happy and would stay their again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 55 in Guanajuato
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
#46 of 55 in Guanajuato
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Cielo

Property: Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Address: Carr. Panoramica Pipila, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Otel so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing