We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lack of Service”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We travelled to Guanajuato this last weekend thinking on having a great experience that indeed we had. Only problem was the hotel Balcon del Cielo. We arrived on Sunday March 17th and stayed for one night. I trust tripadvisor ratings and very often I had have very good results but this hotel selection based on trip advisor information was not.
I traveled with my family and we got 2 rooms (#9 and #10). Room #9 good view to the city but only from a window. Room #10, good area + small balcony. Best option of this hotel. There was a sofa in room #9 with stains and not looking very professional on a hotel room that is not cheap.
At night you are on top of the city center so you have to be ready to accept some noise from the Guanajuato night life. I do not have problem with it. Beds are OK but bed sheets, blanket, etc. very basic.
Overall is a basic concept but what I could not accepted was the 2 only employees we met during all our stay in this hotel and their lack of guest services training and/or knowledge. First one was a young guy at the front desk one we arrived. Just had few words, handed written policies and instructions about the hotel, the way to get up and down to the city through the little train "funicular" and that was all. He was browsing the web the remaining part of the evening. I got there with 2 little babies, my wife and my 70 year old mother. I had to walk with all the luggage from the parking place (not from the hotel, you have to pay) that is almost 100 mts away and 3 levels above (30 stairs or more ) to get to balcon del cielo and this guy at balcon del cielo could not even ask if we needed help with the luggage to continue our way up to the rooms. I left one of our bags for an hour or more in front of his desk and he even notice it I think. It was more important for him to continue to be in front of his screen! As this was not enough, next day we got back from the city to the hotel at 13:10 hrs (check out is at 13:00 hrs), there was now a new person in the reception area of the hotel a young lady. She asked if we were going to stay an additional night, we answered no and that we were going up for our luggage to leave. We were down at 13:40 hrs with the surprise of this little lady asking for payment of an additional night for the 2 rooms because we exceeded the checkout limit time. It is the first time on my life of extensive international traveling that for 40 min exceding checkout I am asked to pay a full day room charge even when we told her we where leaving and when long weekend was over and for sure no rooms where even booked for a Monday night.
I strongly suggest the owner of this place to invest on the training and selection on the people he puts to work on the reception of his hotel.

Room Tip: Room # 10 being the one with larger area and small and "safe" balcony overlooking to Guana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tai72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    68
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
75
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The hotel has a great view of the city. It's clean, safe, cozy, and reasonable. Most if not every room has a great view of the city. Very close to city center and accessible by funicular which is another exciting feature. It is close to the historic center yet quiet since it is several meters above the hill.rooms are clean and modern. Wonderful,magnificent view of the city.

Room Tip: All rooms has a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

First trip to Guanajuato and not our last. Clean room and great staff. Funicular made it a breeze to get right down into the city.

Only issues were a hard bed (which is everywhere in mexico), and you have to turn the hot water on for 15 minutes before it gets hot...but once you get a system down, it is more of an annoyance than a deal breaker. Convieniant to everything...great breakfast (but it is on mexican time...they do not eat until 900am or so....). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimDavidR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I booked this hotel thru Priceline. The extra bonus was supposed to be a free upgrade upon arrival. When we checked in today the person at the front desk ignored my comment about the upgrade but I did not insist about it. when we got to the room all we cared about was the great view from the balcony.... end of the fairy tale story. When we came back at night to the hotel the sewage odor that came from the bathroom was unbearable (we even opened the balcony door to help it air but all we got is getting cold). Went to the front desk to complain and the person in charge for the night was very accommodating and showed me several rooms available (the upper levels have a stronger odor). A room with a bigger balcony was available but the person in charge had to call the Manager for authorization to move as to a different room and oh surprise, instead of getting apologies for the inconvenience the Manager requested and additional fee for the bigger balcony (not only it was the hotel fault but we were supposed to get the upgrade from the very beginning).
This would have never happen in the US. I don't know if it is acceptable in Mexico but I believe that poor management is the worst for any business.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel when is warm. Their sewage odor increases as the temperatures start rais...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

As everyone has mentioned, the views are fantastic, and if you are staying in Guanajuato, how can justify a hotel without a postcard perfect view? The hotel is literally steps from the top of the only furnicular in town, and the entrance is actually within an enclosed commercial corridor, which makes it feel really safe. Taking the furnicular down lands you dead center in the middle of town, and it runs until 9:45 at night. You can always take a taxi up there, and giving directions is super simple because the "El Pipila" landmark is right there. Plus there are two adorable easy-to-follow walking paths that get up to your hotel, about 15 minute uphill walk, though warning at night you might feel unsafe walking on your own.

The hotel itself is minimalistic and pleasant; the rooms are spacious, but warning the bed is small--it felt like a twin bed. Downsides: shower takes a long time to get hot water, and bathroom is literally next to bed and affords little privacy, and for our stay the wifi was only accessible in the bathroom. Re: the noise, yes, you can hear a muffled version of all the downtown partying, but I can't imagine you are going to find a much quieter spot anywhere else in town--chalk it up to the acoustics of this hillside city. In sum, for the view and perks (you get free breakfasts at a great place in town and free furnicular rides) we felt this place was a great value and clear winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We loved this hotel - except for the showers. It is hard to find, but once you get there the rooms are nice and the view from the big balcony is fabulous. It was really fun going back and forth to the city via the funicular (except for the night we returned after 9:45 and had to climb the stairs). The staff were nice and there was coffee available and reliable internet. The breakfasts were really terrific, in an elegant restaurant on the square, with lots of delicious options on the menu (though there is an extra charge if you take the pan dulce, which you don't need since they bring you bread as part of your meal).

The showers at this hotel, however, were a big problem. They were either freezing cold or scalding hot. It took so long for a change in the settings to change the water mix that you couldn't ever get it right. Maybe if they marked the handles at the right setting it would work, but unfortunately a freezing shower really puts a damper on the day. We complained after our first night and they had a plumber come, but it didn't help. I hope they work this out!

Room Tip: There was a little noise from the front desk, but it wasn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blkdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Yeah, there are a few issues. The bathroom door needed to be kept closed because there was a sewage smell at times. The bed was a little small, and a little bit on the hard side. Staff spoke only Spanish, as some people stated. But hey, you know what? If you go to a mid-range hotel in America, the staff will probably speak only English. Water takes forever to heat up, though eventually it does.

Dollar for dollar, though, this may be the best value in town. The view is just jaw-dropping. Yeah, you can get it from going up to the Pipila monument, but you know, it's just not the same as sitting on the balcony in the afternoon with a glass of wine in hand. Speaking of which, they're pretty accommodating in terms of providing things like a corkscrew or a knife to cut fruit.

Other than sewage smell (which is confined to the bathroom), the room was quite clean.

You get to ride the funicular for free as long as you want if you stay here, which is nice. I was a little concerned that the funicular which is required to get into town, stops working at 9:45 PM. But this turned out to be a gift. When you catch a cab from town, they wind up going through the extensive tunnel network which we otherwise wouldn't have gotten to see. Way cool!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Cielo

Property: Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Address: Carr. Panoramica Pipila, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing