We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in one of the most beautiful towns in Mexico. This is a colonial housed nicely remodeled with huge rooms, beautiful decoration, comfortable beds, bathroom towards the small size but within your fantastic room you simple forget about it. Rooms have a balcony to the main plaza, and the whole environment of the hotel is just wonderful. Location couldn't be better, is close to all the attractions and walking distance to every interesting place in Guanajuato.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbarrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
42
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel ideally located in the historic center of Guanajuato. Being familiar with the sometimes noisy street activities of Guanajuato I had requested and was given a room in the back which turned out to be very quiet. The included breakfast was surprising good with fresh fruit, eggs, fresh bread and juice.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The town of Guanajuato is really lovely. Just busy enough to be almost bustling, but not too busy to stifle you. Climate great too. The hotel itself has been crafted from an old courtyard and surrounding rooms. Our duplex room on the second floor looked over the very pleasant Paz square. The room was fantastic for a family of 4. The bathroom was a little too small. Breakfast was served downstairs and was "OK". Service at the hotel was quite good. We did struggle as our Spanish is not that good and the staff only spoke Spanish. At $200 / night, it was one of the more expensive hotels in Guanajuato but there were 4 of us in the room (which by the way, could have slept 6!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location. If staying in Guanajuato this is the best hotel if you want to be within walking distance to many attractions. Very reasonable price; booked through hotels.com. Breakfast is included, and its very good. When we go back for another Cervantino Festival we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agj3614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is a beautiful and in a great location, the decor is typical Mexican and I found it pleasant. We paid $200/night but there were 4 of us in the room and we were not crowded, we also had a living area and kitchen with table and 4 chairs. Bathroom was on the smaller side -compared to the US- as some people have reviewed, however, I didn't find it so small that was uncomfortable, I have been in way smaller bathrooms in Europe, this is an old Spanish house, what are people expecting? My only complaint with the hotel is that our room was on the left side of the building and facing the street and there is a club 3 doors down. At night time we could hear the music, dj talking and people going in and out.... Breakfast was delicious and there was no menu we ordered eggs however we wanted each morning and it came with fresh fruit, fresh squeezed oj, coffe, tea and fresh bread. I would definitely go back but ask for a room in the back of the house. By the way, service was A+, everyone was super helpful and catered to our every wishes, room was perfectly clean and restock with amenities every day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Location is excellent, that is true. BUT service is ridiculous, decor of the common areas is simply non-existant, rooms are stupid expanses that are very sparsely decorated and bathrooms are simply TINY!

I cannot imagine a worse constructed room, honestly: huge reception hall and kitchen, huge bedroom area, and then barely one sink and a tiny shower! Cannot imagine what the architect was thinking.

Reception consists of a lady sitting in plain clothes on a drab looking room, behving more like a ticket seller at a cinema than the receptionist of one of the best hotels in town.

This property is totally underutilised and very poorly run. Location is flawless, again, but the ocerall experience is appalling and NOT worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
224 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Too expensive for patterns mexicanos I paied likje 170 US dollars for a hotel without without, conditioned air, noisy because of TV reception.No restaurant.. I booked a room where i had right a buffet breakfast and they just gave a voucher to go a restaurant with very limited options I asked where was the restaurant and the attendant just said ¨turn riight and go straight on¨.After I claim, they decided to show the restaurant, without ¨buffet breakfast¨, of course.
The location is good,in central square, but Guanajusto is small town , so it ís not important. .Most of hotels there have good location.This hotel could be good if you get to pay less than 50 US dollar.If not, does´t worth.
Positive aspect- Room where I stayed was big..And this all positive aspect I found.
Value ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas

Property: Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Address: Plaza de la Paz #48 | Centro Histórico, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The experienced traveller knows the advantages of staying in good hotels located the center of historic cities. There can be in the middle of the fun and the healthy away from the rest. It is a Baroque building in its conception and in its formal expression. The old House has been recently restored into an elegant and comfortable Boutique hotel. Here you enjoy a central and tranquil stay during his visit to the city of Guanajuato. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing