We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mision Grand Casa Colorada
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The hotel has a perfect location with an exciting view on Guanajuato. The personnel are very nice and friendly. Unfortunately, the infrastructure has not been maintained through years, and the deterioration is easily visible. The main trap for a guest paying about $200 USD per night is the interruption of the water supply. During two days of staying in the hotel, the water supply was interrupted many times. It was very unpleasant to experience the interruption during the morning or late night shower. I had to go two levels down just to use the restaurant restroom at night in order to prevent an unpleasant smell in the $200 room. Although the hotel claims availability of Wi-Fi, level of signal in my room was very low and unstable. In spite the history of the place (and its location), it is a shame for the Mexican tourist industry (if it is exists?)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tlcTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

We had our wedding at Casa Colorada, it has the greatest view of Guanajuato but we were disapointed with the service, we had rented the place from 3 pm but the tables were not ready before one hour late, for example. we did not get what we agreed and we had to ask several times and remind them about our agreements. Some of our licour "disappeared".

To conclude; the service was terrible, and the people were not profesional !!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerardoGuanajuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stay at this hotel in the holy week in Mexico, we chose it because thres not other available for those days,. The hotel is too expensive about $300 dollas per night and for that price we obtain dirty bathrobes, worn towels, old curtains, the people is very rude at front desk, and the food is not very good. We were dissapointed because we saw the pictures on the i nternet and we thougt that was a nice and exclusive place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

I did not stay at this hotel. I only ate in the restaurant.

We were a party of 5 (four native Mexicans - plus I was the only American). Everyone thought their food was fair to poor. One desert was so bad the two who ordered it had a bite and did not finish it. My expensive piece of beef was stringy and flavorless. The prices were very high for Mexico. (For the same prices or less you can go to truly good restaurants in Guadalajara.)

So maybe you go for a drink to see the view, which is terrific. But any street taco stand (or MacDonalds) has better food, for a fraction of the price.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank longshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

i went to this hotel on my honeymoon and every thing was good, its kinda expensive but i love the view from the suite call REFUGIO. I did not liked the food very much, i am from jalisco and the food is beter over there but you can see the town even on the shower and the bath tub. and they have satellite tv and very goog wine, so overall was good enogh

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank feruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

We recently had dinner at Casa Colorda. The view was spectacular, the service was good, the food was just ok, but when we received the bill, we had been charged $899.00 pesos for the exact same wine that we had purchased in a store earlier that day for $150.00 pesos. I understand standard wine markup, but this is price gauging. The server did not bring a wine list (for which we asked), recommended the wine we purchased, and then we were forced to pay close to $90.00 american dollars for a NOT great bottle of wine (Tempernillo from Baja Cal).

The food is NOT remarkable, but if you decide to eat here please ask for a wine list WITH PRICES or you will be in for an unpleasant surprise when the bill comes!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank nfooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I need to start by saying that any reviewer who has a screen name that contains "fussy" will never, ever, be satisfied. Having said that, Hotel Refugio is not as bad as some reviewers have made it out to be. I will lay this review out using a Pros and Cons list and then I will interject my comments at the end.

Pros
- Awesome view, probably the best in town
- Gorgeous Spanish Colonial architecture and decorations
- Good resteraunt (for Guanajuato anyways) that takes advantage of the nice views.
- Hilltop locale that has a secluded, elite feel.
- Did I mention the views? The rooms have balconies and windows that allow you to gawk at the breath taking panoramic views of colorful Guanajuato.
- Huge bathrooms
- Sat TV (for when you are tired i guess)
- Homey feel

Cons
- Hi price tag, $250+ nightly (this is Mexico after all)
- Dated in some aspects. The rooms also didn't seem as clean as they should. This may be due to the age.
- Couldn't have a fire in the fireplace.
- Strange smell from the bathroom. Most of the plumbing in these parts of Mexico are quite old so this comes as no surprise.
- No tables or chairs on the patio. I did manage to get room chairs out there so I could do some computer work and drink some coronas.
- somewhat far from downtown; taxis are very quick, however

Honestly, I will stay somewhere else the next time I go to Guanajuato. But, the hotel is not as bad as the previous review makes it out to be. The view is worth the price of admission in my opinion and the hotel grounds are very nice. If you do stay here, ask ahead of time for some chairs and a table for the balcony. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jzking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.2 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#12 of 55 in Guanajuato
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Grand Casa Colorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Grand Casa Colorada

Address: Cerro de San Miguel 13 | Col. Lomas de Pozuelo, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: £87 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mision Grand Casa Colorada 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel in Guanajuato offers first class accommodation in this evocative colonial city. Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada you can enjoy peace of mind while delighting your senses with a Mexican restaurant , a wine cellar selected domestic and imported wines , spaces decorated with Mexican art , cactus gardens and a terrace with a privileged view of the Guanajuato . Our Hotel in Guanajuato has 6 luxury suites with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 5 meeting rooms with capacity from 10 to 350 people with everything needed to perform their social and business events. The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the historic center , for those traveling by plane we are located just 20 minutes from the airport , in turn is excellent for those who visit us on the road, we are 4 hours from the city of Mexico road . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mision Grand Casa Colorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing