We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and quaint”
Review of Meson Cuevano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meson Cuevano
Ranked #5 of 75 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
427 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,678 helpful votes
“Cute and quaint”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Meson Cuevano was a wonderful hotel for our two night stay in Guanajuato in mid-January. Our room was quaint, with wood paneled floors, a queen-sized bed, a fan, a heater, a desk, a small couch, and a bathroom with shower in an attached room. The bed was very comfortable. The concierge was able to answer all of our questions and made excellent recommendations for food and places to dance. With its convenient location, the hotel was only minutes by foot from the main center of the city.

The only major downside (or upside), was that we were treated to a nightly performance of 'Callejonaderos', a talented though rather loud singing troupe that scheduled its nightly stop immediately outside our window between 9 PM and 11:30 PM. This didn't bother us because we weren't sleeping at that time, but it is something to consider if you are considering the hotel and hoping to go to sleep early. WiFi was free and included, however reception was sometimes a bit spotty. The staff was very nice though perhaps not super-efficient. Our toilet paper holder broke on the first days, and it was not fixed before we left. Breakfast was also included in the rates, although it was pretty simple and not extraordinary. Fortunately, we did not need extraordinary. For 700 pesos a night (about $50), we were very comfortable and happy just to be there. We would return for sure.

Room Tip: Ask the staff which side of the hotel faces the street with the musical entertainment if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    39
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
52
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I dont recommend anyone to go to this hotel. One of the employees told a friend that she was "stupid". The employee said that "she doesn't need to be nice to anyone because she owns the hotel". The hotel was small and the bath didn't worked. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugenio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Great location really clean new furniture low price compared to others it does not have a parking lot but there is one that gives a special price for guests and it also has a nice view so i guess it has something good besides there is a lot of traffic near the hotel so it is good to leave the the car some other place. :D

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent value, clean rooms, very nice bathrooms and very good service. The breakfast is also great with yogurt, cereals, fruit and breads. I highly recommend this place and a much better deal and experience than a hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is Excellent!

Primarily it has very friendly and knowledgable staff, pre-arranged and organised parking nearby and it is clean. Furthermore it is both central and located away from main thoroughfares so you can easily walk around the city yet not suffer road noise at night.

I stayed in a room that does not have any external facing windows, as the hotel was very busy even in January, however I only use a hotel for a bed and this did not detract from my stay. My room was still nice sporting one open stone and two windows that opened into the foyer.

Breakfast was fine as per other reviews and the staff even let me use their computer and printer free of charge.

Overall I would recommend this good, reasonably priced central hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a balcony at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We really liked this little hotel. The location is great, the room clean, the bed very comfortable and the continental breakfast exceeded expectations (I liked especially that the coffee is freshly prepared for each table). Overall fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

J'ai partagé avec mes amis une chambre de 2 lits doubles, et cet hôtel nous a beaucoup plu. Situé en plein centre, les chambres étaient grandes et propres. La salle de bain était un peu petite, mais au moins c'était propre aussi. On a également aimé le petit déjeuner. Je recommande vraiment cet hotel.
My friends and I shared a 2 queen-beds room in this hotel and we liked it a lot. The hotel was very well located, right in the historical center. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was maybe a bit small but at least it was very clean, too. We also enjoyed the breakfast. I really recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralie0487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Diego
Hotel San Diego
#14 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Cuevano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Cuevano

Property: Meson Cuevano
Address: Callejon La Barranca # 8 | Centro Histórico, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located in the historical centre of the city, Mesón Cuévano offers you some nicely furnished rooms (with private bathroom) where you can enjoy a quiet and pleasant stay. It is the ideal place to spend some well-deserved holidays with your family, or just to get a nice weekend break. Without any doubt, Mesón Cuévano is definitely the place to be. If you seek more information on our availabilities and prices, please get in contact with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meson Cuevano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing