We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three cheers for Marco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Conquistador

Cafe Conquistador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three cheers for Marco!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had coffee here every morning during our week in Guanajuato. I miss Marco, a friendly barrista who I think is there all day every day. His English is pretty good, and he was patient with my fledgling Spanish. He and his coffee attract a steady stream of pretty girls and other bohemian college students. I loved trying to listen in on their conversations (wonderful training in comprehension). It's a tiny place with only three tables, but manages to be a hotbed of activity nontheless. Three cheers for Marco!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    28
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coffee, coffee, coffee”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

It is definitely about the coffee. It starts with the scent of fresh roasted beans wafting up the street, followed by the sight of the swirling beans in the roaster at the entrance. Snuggled inside is a tight counter with a friendly barista working the machines and producing the various orders from the eclectic group of customers. We bought beans to go and enjoyed their coffee for the rest of our trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Its About The Coffee - Period”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hole in the wall doesn't have much else but the coffee is good, and roasted on site. The smell will draw you there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tutchone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guanajuato, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Hole in the wall!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great local coffee, great atmosphere, beats Starbucks any day! central location next to "Taberna de Diego y Frida". All locals know where "El Conquistador" is located".

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLNM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great coffee and service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A hole in the wall serving great coffee and hot chocolate for the kids. Also had tasty brownies :) Only just off the main Juarez avenue near Plaza del Paz. We also bought a kilo of beans to bring home and can taste Guanajuato every morning with our cup of expresso!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Conquistador also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
 

Been to Cafe Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing