We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, fast, and filling”
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #129 of 251 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty, fast, and filling”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I ate here twice. First time, I had milanesa de pollo (chicken schnitzel-style) which was nothing fancy, but tasty and filling. Second time, I had the set-menu lunch, which featured pollo en mole rojo (chicken in chocolate-spicy sauce) plus various other courses. Yummy, and a great value.

Before your meal arrives they also give you a basket of bread, a basket of chips, and salsas for dipping.

The only downside - a minor one - would be the somewhat cramped space; at the tables-for-two you're hard-pressed to find a spot that isn't on the path to the kitchen or a bathroom.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good, typical Mexican”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Great green pozole. A Huge menu of typical, heavy Mexican food. Nice view of the street. Not a typical place for tourists.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great View, Good Food”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I need to begin by mentioning how awesome the only server for this entire restaurant was. He greeted customers, sat them, gave them menus, made their drinks, took their orders, brought their food, bussed their tables, and brought their checks when they were through - all while maintaining a pleasant demeanor. The restaurant is located directly across from the University of Guanajuato which makes people watching especially fun at the table. I began dinner with Sopa Azteca, and the take on theirs here is delicious: not as spicy as most, but sweet with an undertone of onion in the broth. Full of avocados and tortillas (that stayed crispy until my last bite), this was a good start to a meal. I ordered arracherra nortena, this region's popular take on the American fajita. The steak was juicy and tender, and the the accompaniments - chorizo, melted oaxacan cheese, creamy smooth guacamole, and refried beans made for nice fillers with the tortillas. I was happily surprised to find out I'd been given some of the crispy beans scooped from the bottom of the pot - most cooks save that (the best part) for themselves! With two sangrias, my total bill came to $17.00. I would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank washwestcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stopped in during our travels for lunch. Across from the University, it's a convenient location. I had the enchiladas mineras which had potatoes in them; very yummy. Cute tavern.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Professors, Students, Travelers”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This venus is immediately adjacent to University of Guanajuato, on the south side. It is always bustling with academic types. The arracherra nortena is the SINGLE-BEST dish in Guanajuato.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ElProfesorDeFinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing