We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel. 21 century and Internet didn't work. Will never stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Meson de los Poetas
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Milpitas, California
1 review
“Poor hotel. 21 century and Internet didn't work. Will never stay again”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for one night.
The Internet was promised and didn't work in my room.
Service desk denied to repair or make any effort to improve.
Porr hotel!
Do not recoomend it,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexrutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    203
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
126
199
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

A fantastic hotel that shows off the unique character of the town by spanning several buildings that are connected like an M.C.Escher picture. Very helpful staff and good breakfast. The only two less than ideal aspects were; open air plan of the hotel made the rooms a bit cool at night so bring something warm to sleep in, and if you're bringing a car it's a bit of a walk to the parking lot. But these are minor things compared to the hotel's location (this is a town you have to walk to see) and the interesting architecture. One of my favourite hotels!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Amazing Hotel, Ones of the more beautiful hotles I've been, If you are lookig for a romantic, & colonial place, this will be the better option, the service is great & nice, & the place is amazing & big. Thanks for leting me be the guest. I recommend it to everybody & hope come back soon :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavio-Duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in Meson de los Poetas. The rooms are very charming and comfortable. The location is unbeatable. In the very city center, but away from noise. The service was great. They went with me to the parking lot all the way, making sure everything was fine, even helped me to park the car correctly! The next day the breakfast was delicious. Free wi-fi. Can only recommend it, and it will definitely be my hotel of choice when I come back to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This hotel is in a good spot. You must like to walk up and down hills. And their beds are like rocks. The breakfasts are very good. But the stairs to the room is something else. The hotel is clean and has it's charm.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

i stayed here for two nights at the beginning of september. the rooms are quite large and the breakfast is above average. not an excellent hotel, but very nice, clean, good food, and a perfect location. you may find a better hotel, but i don't think you would be disappointed here.

also, for local food and an excellent deal, grab a bit at the restaurant across the street at the corner. very good prices and clean food. i would pair this with a meal at las mercedes, which is outstanding.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank casiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location - within walking distance of all the major sites. The staff is very friendly and the room rate includes a buffet breakfast which is really quite good. It´s important to note that this is in no way a luxury hotel. It´s a boutique property located in a charming old colonial building. The hotel looses one star because the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#9 of 56 in Guanajuato
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
482 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson de los Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson de los Poetas

Property: El Meson de los Poetas
Address: Positos 35 | Zona Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Guanajuato
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guanajuato
#5 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson de los Poetas 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Meson de los Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson De Los Poetas Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing