We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet IN Centro GTO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Meson de los Poetas
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The best aspect of El Meson de los Poetas is the owner, Anna Karen. Earlier, I had been duped into renting a house "Casa Bella Vista B&B Guanajuato" - in actuality a tired old place on a severely steep hillside high above the Centro in a seedy section of GTO on a "cul de sac" - i.e. a sad dead end road.
Desperate, I emailed Anna Karen who found clean quiet rooms for us that very evening. Yes, there are many steps - I counted 145 from front desk to my room. Rooms are equipped with small kitchens. The building is like a gigantic cavern, rooms nestled into nooks and crannies, windows facing inside. Included breakfast was ample with the usual fruit/yogurt/juice/bread, and any menu dish! Location is important - open the lobby door and you are IN the Centro and can see sights, restaurants, shopping. Note - b/c of the hotel's unique design, it is cool and offers little natural light in rooms; however, the central courtyard is open. English spoken.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank El H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you are looking for modern convenience or have a mobility disability this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is perfect, though, if you want to feel like you've gone back in time and have been transported to the Guanajuato of the sixteen hundreds. The hotel was made from two old haciendas that were renovated and converted to make the hotel. There are many stairs that one needs to go up and down in order to get to rooms and the breakfast buffet area which is where the old courtyard of the hacienda used to be. The rooms are comfortable and, in the inside part of the hotel, very peaceful and quiet. For heating and cooling our room had a portable heater and a portable fan. Instead of a closet the room had a chiffonier. A slight inconvenience was that the bathroom of our room was rather small and one needed to go up a step in order to reach it. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and most accommodating. One caveat, if you are driving the hotel doesn't have on-site parking. The nearest parking is a private parking lot (dirt lot) that charges two hundred pesos per 24 hour period and is staffed 24/7. El Mesón de los Poetas is withing walking distance of all downtown Guanajuato sites and wonderful restaurants. (We highly recommend La Tratoria, El Mestizo, and Los Campos.)
The only complaint I would have is really not the hotel's fault. We booked our trip through Booking.com and were supposed to get a discount on the third night at half off. The hotel indicated that they were not running any promotion and that the third night at half off must be a promotion from the booking company. We called Booking.com and gave them the coupon code but they did not honor it. Lesson learned and will not use Booking.com in the future.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room and make sure to go up the spiral staircase at the breakfast buffet area to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel is like staying in an m.c.escher sketch the one with stairs going nowhere , expect to climb lots of stairs. Rooms are nice very rustic and the property is very interesting. 5-10 min walk to all GTO attractions. Parking is not included expect to walk 1/2 mile to park. Very reasonable rates

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We chose this hotel for it's value and because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. When we arrived, the water was not working in our room, but this was quickly resolved when they moved us to another room. The hotel is unique - apparently a mansion converted to a hotel. There are stairs and alleyways all over the property so it takes a while to get oriented - but that is part of the charm. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

It's hard to describe this hotel, a labyrinthine collection of very varied rooms in a traditional building in the heart of the old town, with great views of the city and hills. The location is doors from the house where Diego Rivera was born, and close to many other museums, galleries etc. But the hotel itself is deeply idiosyncratic. We were first given a room in the basement that was utterly freezing. Then the very amiable staff moved us to room 403 (recommended by Lonely Planet). This was at the opposite extreme -- on the warm, sunny rooftop, like a little cabin on the prairie -- I loved it. About 11.30pm the wiring blew when my husband turned on the TV, and we moved to a room on the third floor with extremely smelly drains. Our pals meanwhile had been sensible enough to book the poshest rooms in the house, and had a consistently wonderful time.
The service is terrific and the breakfasts good value, so worth including in your tariff.
So, strangely enough, I would return to this hotel, but the lesson for any traveller is make sure you inspect your room before you pay for it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank roseserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This lovely hotel is very near the center of town, almost next to the Diego Rivera home and museum. The staff is always helpful, and the breakfasts are excellent. If you have trouble walking beware of the stairs (with no elevators). Also, in the winter because of the layout of the hotel it tends to be cold. But I always stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Decor is just great! Rooms are spatious and clean at reasonable price. One can say that there's some sort of magic there =)
Location is at walking distance of major attractions. Cons: too many stairs and no elevator! So if u have knee problems, try yo get the lower rooms because it is definitely worth it!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pilarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#5 of 55 in Guanajuato
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#12 of 55 in Guanajuato
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
730 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson de los Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson de los Poetas

Address: Positos 35 | Zona Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guanajuato
#5 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range: £46 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson de los Poetas 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Meson de los Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson De Los Poetas Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing