We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place for a great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Meson de los Poetas
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming place for a great weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It's a good hotel with an excellent view on the terrace of the roof. The room was clean and the service was great. If you need to park you car it will cost you extra and you will need to leave it 5 minutes walking trough a tunel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lquilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    206
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
128
200
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I've been to Gto several times and stayed in different hotels, but this has been one of the best. First the hotel is huge on the inside, lots of rooms and floors, although very few have a nice view, some have very little windows, so ask for a balcony and a view. Also the walking distance from Plaza de La Paz is
two minutes away, but getting by car to the hotel is very very difficult, more than other hotels. Very nice hotel, I recommend it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank javiergoz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Cute hotel with quaint rooms arranged amidst spiral staircases, narrow hallways and winding hallways. Richly colored modest rooms capture true Guanajuato charm. I found the hotel central to everything but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: seniors beware of lodging on upper floors due to stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you don't like to walk stairs then this isn't your place. There are a lot of dark rooms below so choose a room upstairs toward the back of the hotel for better sunlight-the room we ended up staying in had a view outside of the town. There's a beautiful little sunny terrace above this room that we ended up pretty much having all to ourselves. Keep in mind this town has hordes of kids showing up all the time and some were pretty obnoxiously loud at times. Overall though this place is very affordable and a great value.

Room Tip: One of the top rooms think it was 406-sunny with a view of the town
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was my first time in Guanajuato and I really did not know what to expect. Well, overwhelmed would be an understatement. It is such a beautiful city, tunnels, stairs, colours and history. On the recommendation of our tour guide Carlos Aguilar, we decided to stay at El Meson de los Poetas, right in the heart of Guanajuato. It was incredible! From the outside you need to pay attention very closely or you might drive right by. Once you walk in you are in a different world. A world of history and expansion, one of colour and decor. This is a great place to stay, quiet and inspiring with just a touch of modern technology to keep you up to date.
The morning breakfast was well prepared and the service was incredible. If you are thinking of going to Guanajuato you need to stay at El Meson de los Poetas and escape from the world.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor, it will force you to walk around the Hotel and see how cool it really i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Voeslau, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A beautiful hotel, in a wonderfully restored building --apparently an ex-governor's residence that was joined with a student hostel in the back. Tasteful interiors in pastel colors, ironwork, sculptures and paintings remind one of the better Spanish boutique hotels. We stayed in one of the suites on the second floor, street front with spectacular view of Guanajuato town. Small but clean bathroom. Next morning breakfast more than adequate, nothing to write Tripadvisor about. Having said all that, it is a mystery why the check-in staff insists on cheating you on the room rate: we booked through booking.com, with payment at the hotel of an agreed rate in US$, yet at check-in 16% IVA tax was added, we had to "buy" the total in Mex pesos at their buying rate, and the result charged to our credit card. All this while the hotel of course only has to buy the US$ that it owes booking.com in commission... It may not add up to a fortune but who likes to be ripped off in their face? Check-in staff was not open to discussion or our argument either.
One final tip if you come here by rental car: ask that you can park it uptown at the Abadia hotel (Poetas has a deal with them) and take a taxi to Poetas --there is no room in the old center of Guanajuato!

Room Tip: Street front suites have nicest view and are larger (but more expensive). Rooms in the ex-hostel are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griffoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A quirky hotel with many rooms on different levels. Best to have a top room near the terrace.
Some rooms have kitchenettes but they have no facilities. Largish bedrooms but tiny bathrooms.
Owing to the nature of Guanajuato and if you have a hire car it is absolutely impossible to park
outside!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 55 in Guanajuato
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson de los Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson de los Poetas

Property: El Meson de los Poetas
Address: Positos 35 | Zona Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guanajuato
#2 Family Hotel in Guanajuato
#5 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson de los Poetas 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Meson de los Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson De Los Poetas Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing