We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boutique 1850
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is probably the best hotel in town. What we loved: central square location, beautifully appointed, lovely employees specially the manager, rooftop bar after sunset, pillow bar, rooms with windows that look onto the garden, full service Starbucks adjacent to the lobby. What we didn't love so much: HORRIBLE wifi, design trumped function (hanging shirts in the closet touch the floor), many of the rooms--while beautifully appointed are dark and without windows.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for choosing us among so many hotels in Guanajuato, your comments will help us, trying to improve all our services. I will like to comment, that because the hotel was built in a building listed as a world heritage building, 2 of our rooms have no natural light, this is because we need to respect the original architecture and spaces of the 19th century building. I would also like to say that in terms of our hi speed Wi-Fi, we all ready increased the amount of acces points, in order to improve one small area of the hotel which had connectivity problems. Today Wi-Fi is running with good speed at all hotel areas and rooms. We hope to have the oportunity to see you again, and you will see that we are working hard trying to correct all our mistakes, in order to fill all our guest expectations.
Thank you, very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days in June. I could not have picked a better hotel!! I had read the good reviews here and picked it even if the price was a bit higher than surrounding hotels... well, it's absolutely worth every penny!! It's not that expensive anyway... about $145 USD for the standard room (in this case delux room Natalia)... which by the way have nothing standard about them... every room is decorated in a completely different modern style (so you can pick the exact room that you want by looking at the name of each room and pictures). Well not only are the rooms amazing... the lobby and hotel common areas area a work of art... really great interior design! The room rate includes breakfast (at the restaurant next door... and it is very good as you can choose a la carte what you want... well worth it and delicious) and two complementary drinks at the rooftop bar at the hotel (also amazingly well designed). Well we checked into one of the standard rooms and it was quite nice... problem is the air conditioner froze up. The staff (I'll get to the above excellent customer service down below) were great at letting us know what the problem was and also upgrading us to one of the suites (Isabel) ... WOW! Amazing room!!! I think they run around $175 per night (also with breakfast and drinks). But now let me get to the staff! Excellent, Excellent customer service. I travel the world for work and have stayed at some of the best hotels in China, South America, rest of Asia, etc... and this has to be one of the nicest experiences I've had with the staff... what else can I say (keep it up staff!). The location of the hotel is in Jardines de La union (the main plaza in Gto) so its always busy and even noisy at night but you cant even hear this inside the hotel. Overall one of the best hotels I've stayed at anywhere. (p.s. I thought the modern décor would put me off...being in a very colonial traditional city, but they blended the two together perfectly!)

Room Tip: The rooftop bar opens at 6pm but it can get rather hot up there because of the blazing sun... we wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanmbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest:
On behalf of all staff working at the Hotel Boutique 1850, we thank you for taking the time to include such kind comments about our rooms, service and great location. your comments help us and give us the pattern to know that we are on the right way to serve as you deserve. Thanks for your preference. We hope see you soon in Guanajuato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel has a roof top terrace with a bar.

A wide view of Guanajuato downtown, less than a block from Teatro Juarez.

Nice people, friends groups, not expensive. A good option to have a drink after dinner.

If you order a whisky, do not expect the waiter to come back with the bottle to serve it at your sight; you will receive it served at the glass. A little detail, but a detail.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Comando23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest
In the name of all staff working here at the 1850 Boutique Hotel, we thank you for the important feedback that you let us know by sending your tripadvisor coments.
Be sure that coments like yours, let us know where we are now, and where we want to be in a short future. We are concient, that care in small details makes the diference between a normal stay and an excellence one.
By this moment we are working hard, trying to correct our foults, to offer a better service for our future guests.
We honestly hope, to have, the oportunity of see you soon again, and give you the service that you deserve.
Kindly regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This place is excellent. Great location. Modern, clean and very well maintained rooms. Very attentive, competent and polite staff. There are many restaurants in the area. We found a nice family style Mexican cuisine restaurant a 4 min walk away. See my separate review on Ofelia. Highly recommend Boutique 1850. It's more expensive but the value for money equation is fair! Tip: if you are arriving by car this can be a bit of a headache since one must contend with underground tunnels snaking underneath the entire city and small narrow winding streets which are very difficult to navigate. The hotel is located next to Teatro Juarez completely surrounded by walking streets. It is best to head directly to the hotel's parking garage at Jardín Primer Ligero on Calle Sostenes Rocha and then walk the 5-7 min from there with your bags. Try to get rid of your car as soon as you arrive!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank joelob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guest: We are pleased to know, that staff and hotel meet with your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us to continue working as if it were on our first day, and help us trying to become better. We appreciate the spending time to include your comments at Tripadvisor. We hope to have your preference in the near future. Kindly Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Cannot say enough about this beautiful hotel run by the most delightful, accommodating & lovely staff -- a million thanks to Elisa, Barbara, Gaby & Betty for making it an exceptional experience. Any question or need was resolved swiftly, graciously and with a joy to be of service (how often does that happen in the U.S.?). The hotel is beautiful and immaculate, on the lovely pedestrian Jardin de Union, our room "Natalia" was delightful and ultra-comfortable, and we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guest:
On behalf of all staff working at the Hotel Boutique 1850, we thank you for taking the time to include such kind comments about our service and great staff. your comments help us, and give us the pattern to know that we are on the right way to serve as all our guest deserve. Thanks for everything and we hope to see you soon again, at this mexican magical city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

My wonderful husband and I celebrated our 5th Anniversary feeling very taken care if by the lovely and attentive staff of 1850 Hotel Boutique!
We truly felt at home, in fact by the end of our 6th day, we felt like family.
Have a very special Gracias! to Elisa, Gen. Manager, who diligently saw to our comfort by upgrading us to a spacious suite when our air went on the blink as we were turning in for the night. She really cared and placed our comfort as a top priority!
We also enjoyed Barbara, Berenice, Betty and Cynthia, whose "techie" skills helped get our computer up and running. And Carlos with his ready smile and eagerness to help, accompanied me to a ATM upon arrival.
We really enjoyed the included breakfasts right next door every a.m. And since they didn't open till 9, there was a Starbucks right under the hotel - opens at 7:30.
Definitely recommend a room with window open to outside as mariachis are fine musicians and the sounds of everyday life some how feel magical here. And the windows are such that they really block out sound when you want quiet
Again mil gracias to the best hotel crew ever!! Easy to see why they're #1
Virginia & Charles

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Virginia and Charles: It has been a pleasure to serve people so friendly, in fact comments like yours, really motivate us to continue working in the same way and with the same spirit as the first day, people like you, make our work fills with joy and passion. On behalf of all staff working at the Hotel Boutique 1850, we thank you for all such kind comments about our service and Hotel. We all really hope to see you soon in Guanajuato.
Thanks, for giving us the opportunity to stay with us. You know that this is your home at this magical city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My family and I stayed in Guanajuato at the Hotel Boutique 1850 for six nights, over the Easter holiday. First, the hotel was recently renovated, so everything was brand new, clean and very modern. As far as location, it can't get better than this. The very center of Guanajuato is the Jardin de Union - which is a garden surrounded by restaurants, the grand theatre, the basillica (one block away) and lots of little shops and cafes. The hotel is located right in the center of the Jardin. One step outside the hotel's front door, and you are in the middle of the most vibrant and beautiful part of the city. On the top floor (roof) there is an outdoor bar/lounge with incredible views of the city, especially at night.

Regarding the service - Barbara, the concierge; Betty, Berenice, Elisa,Cindy and the entire bell staff are absolutely incredible. They went out of their way to help us find things to do, provide directions and just make us feel at home. By the end of our stay, we felt like family! They are multi-lingual, so no worries.

Hints: You definitely do not need a car in Guanajuato, but if you have one, the hotel provides parking at a nearby parking garage, which is included in the price. Also, there is a full service Starbucks attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: For a family of 4, pick room "Inez".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlsbaaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Guest: The whole team working at the Hotel Boutique 1850, is very grateful for giving us your preference on your last visit to this beautiful city. We want to commented that comments like yours, let us know that all our efforts to give all our guests the service that they deserve, leave us very satisfied, because thats our real goal. Thank you for commenting your experience at Tripadvisor and we hope sincerely , see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
529 reviews
0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
140 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
732 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique 1850

Address: Calle Jardin de La Union 7 | Colonia Centro Histórico, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: £124 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique 1850 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Design Hotel, with the best location, within downtown of Guanajuato Capital, cultural heritage of humanity. Hotel features with the multi adward winning Restaurant "Casa Valadez", "1850 Spa", sky bar "One Bar & Lounge", with the best atmosphere and city view, "Lobby Bar", "Starbucks Coffee", and the best services and amenities of hotel industry worldwide. Enjoy The Secret... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Boutique 1850 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing