We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly service, great location and lovely decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boutique 1850
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Firstly, this place is slap bang in the middle of Guanajuato! The main square/jardin is right on your doorstep! From the moment I walked in the door, I received the warmest and most friendly welcome of any hotel I have stayed in recently. The concierge also came over to say hello and was equally lovely! Guanajuato is beautiful and so is this hotel! I stayed in the Alexia room which was very nice although you need to choose your room carefully as they are all very different. This room had an interior view which given the activity outside, suited me just fine! The bed was super comfortable but beware the bathroom door which is very heavy glass and inflicts a painful bruise if you bump into it in the middle of the night! Also I couldn't work out how to turn off the funky light on the sink at night although this might just be user error! The funkiest bar in town is on the room of this place which is nice. A free drink was included and I popped up to read my book for a while. I didn't find the bar staff here overly welcoming but it is clearly a popular place! The breakfast is amazing although be aware it is served at the restaurant next door and not in the hotel itself. It will definitely set you up for the day though. Delicious!! All in all, a great hotel with lovely staff. Definitely a design led place with some lovely features! Be sure you select the room right for you!

Room Tip: All rooms are different. Be sure you know which one you're booking. I didn't book direct a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear guest,

We sincerely value the time you spent writing the details about your stay with us.
It is very rewarding and important for us to know the experience from all the guest that have stayed with us. We need your comments to know where we can be better and improve each area, that´s why we really appreciate each of them.

All the staff is very pleased to know that your stay with us was pretty warm and that you found the service very friendly, because comments like yours help us to never stop being enthusiasts.

We all wish to have the opportunity to see you again and to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is as centrally located in Guanajuato as you can get. This is perfect once you are there but can be a bit of a problem trying to make it there with your car (especially during semana santa when the basically block of the town). Anyway we made it and once we where ther it was perfect.

Everyone at reception was super nice and they went out of their way to help us with everything, the even walked us to the restaurant at night. We had a room in the back of the hotel which did not have a window but was very nice. Normally I would really prefer one with a window but given the craziness outside during Semana Santa this was probaly not a bad thing during our stay. You might want to check how your room is located at the time ov booking.

The whole hotel is very nice and stylish and they have a great rooftop bar as well as a very nice restaurant next door.

All in all a great experience and thanks to everyone at the hotel. You were super nice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Our dear guest,

We are extremely happy to read your kind comment, we really appreciate it, thank you so much.

Certainly it´s a little bit complicated for those dates when Guanajuato it´s full of tourism because the city doesn´t have enough streets where the cars can pass by, but with pleasure we can help you to find the easier way to get to the Hotel. As you mentioned, we truly try our best to make you fell like home helping you in any request.

The advice that you wrote about the rooms it's also very important. You can visit the web site or you call us and we can help you to choose the best room according to your needs. Could be with interior view, view to the garden or without window. There´s twenty different rooms!

Thank you again, we all send you kindest regards and we hope see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent three incredible nights last week, and echo the comments of so many other guests who have consistently rated the Hotel Boutique 1850 so highly. The property and location are superb. But what made the experience so exceptional was the reception and hospitality of every staff member throughout the hotel. In all of our world travels, including extensive travel throughout Mexico, never have we been so warmly received with such an extraordinary dedication to every detail to make our visit so complete and memorable. From the moment we entered, we were treated like family. The private guided tour of Guanajuato and another day trip to neighboring San Miguel de Allende arranged by the staff were extraordinary. Our hats are off to Barbara, Paulina, Betty, Fernanda, Mariana, Angel, Israel, Diego, and the many others who made us feel so welcome and truly at home. We look forward to another stay in the future. Muchisimas gracias por todo!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftbjonestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the time you spent for sharing your experience with us.
All the staff are very grateful with your feedback and nice comments.
We are pleased to finally be able to offer private transportation services such as tours and transfers with quality guides and drivers so we can be sure that not only your stay with us in the hotel will be enjoyable but also outside we can offer you the best service to make your entire stay in the city unforgettable.
Thank you so much for let us be part of your life, can´t wait to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Incredible location right on Jardín de la Unión, the heart of Guanajuato. The only negative, you cannot reach it by car; however, they come to you, wherever that may be - most probably a tunnel under the city - to help with the bags and park the car. The service was fantastic, incredibly friendly and helpful, specially Betty, the Concierge. She was amazing! The included full breakfast at the next-door restaurant, Casa Valadez, was top-notch. However, if you are an early riser you'll have to wait until 9:00 a.m. when they open. They do have coffee and tea in the hotel, and the Starbucks at the entrance opens at 7:30 a.m. Room was a little small and dark (only one window to the indoor courtyard) but very comfortable with a great bed. I didn't particularly like the hotel's modern decor but that is a matter of taste. Do not miss the terrace bar on the 4th floor with beautiful views of El Pipila and the domes and towers of the surrounding churches. A great visit overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbyripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for the time you put into writing this comment. We truly appreciate your sincere feedback as it helps the whole team to continuously improve. We are aware that arriving by car in Guanajuato can be complicated but our bellboys are, as you mention, specialized in locating our guest anywhere and help them to get to the hotel. We are all excited to learn that you were satisfied with the service, as it is the best reward for any of us. As for the design, all of our 20 rooms have a completely different decoration, there are some rooms with a little more classy touch that you might like better.

We all hope to welcome you back soon and would be more than happy to help you choosing a room you will love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We've just returned from a trip to Guanajuato, March 24-27, which I can't recommend enough! We enjoyed an absolutely fabulous stay at the Hotel 1850. We had taken advantage of a wonderful TripAdvisor rate when we reserved prior to our trip - make sure to check the hotel website's for such special discounts. Ours included a lovely breakfast at Casa Valadez immediately adjacent.
Prior to our trip, I had already made reservations elsewhere but decided to cancel in favor of the Hotel 1850, given the great TripAdvisor rate, reviews, and photos. I am so glad I did! Upon arriving on Mon. afternoon before 3 p.m., we requested to check in, if at all possible. They didn't have our reserved room ready (Natalia) but graciously awarded us an upgrade with a choice of Julieta on the 200 level or 102 Carlota, which we ended in - a highly comfortable and accessible room with a lovely balcony overlooking Jardín de la Unión (the double pane windows keep any major noise out, so no worries).
I can only reiterate what has already been said in other reviews (note: kenodog's "Best Customer Service & Location" is an excellent all-encompassing review). First, the hotel's staff is beyond wonderful because they are helpful with all sorts of recommendations and they follow through with requests. They were able to get us tickets for a free concert one evening in the nearby Teatro Juarez without us having to wait in line. They will not only order you a taxi but they will walk you to it (the hotel is in a fully pedestrian area and you catch the cabs behind the Teatro just a short walk away). Betty the concierge and Cindy at Reception are "las mera, mera," as well as Fer(nanda), and Mariana at Reception, (Juan) Carlos, Israel, Diego, all of them are just wonderful, and they seem to all work together very well, like a genuine family. The hotel is fancy and elegant, but they also make it very warm and welcoming, making us feel at home at every moment. Secondly, the hotel's location is absolutely the best, and its accomodations and decor are outstanding.
Thank you, team at Hotel 1850! You contributed greatly to Guanajuato leaving an indelible imprint in our hearts forever!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyGoingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We feel very pleased to have exceeded your expectations for accommodation.

It is true, in 1850 Hotel Boutique more than partners, we are a family and every member is an important piece to be what we are and we feel very happy to share with you that feeling then you will feel yourself home no matter the distance.

The whole team 1850 is very grateful for allowing us be part of your experience in Guanajuato, for let us help you in all what you need and to contribute with our suggestions about what to do in the city.

Thank you so much to you too for share your experience with us, for trust in our recommendations about the activities during your stay, thank you for let us pamper you and for become part of the family 1850.

We miss you so much, but we know that you will be back soon because your family in Guanajuato always will be waiting for you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just returned yesterday from a short 2-night trip to Guanajuato. We've been there several times and stayed in several hotels, but nothing compares to our stay in 1850. We absolutely loved it. The hotel is so beautiful, filled with gorgeous modern art. We looked at several rooms when we arrived and chose the Pilar Suite, which we loved. We went to dinner after checking in and were shocked to find a birthday cake and a card signed by the staff in our room upon our return. We were celebrating a birthday, but we hadn't told the hotel staff. (We later learned that our driver had told them.) The staff was super attentive throughout our short visit - no matter how strange our request. We stayed out later than we expected on the first night, and were hungry when we returned. Room service was closed, but the hotel staff found a way to get a pizza delivered to our room. Since the hotel wasn't busy during our mid-week visit, we decided to upgrade our room the second night. The staff made our move effortless. We stayed in the Victoria Suite that night and loved it too. We've stayed in hotels all over Central Mexico and this hotel really was a delightful surprise. We will definitely go back!! (Even if you don't choose 1850, be sure to check out their rooftop bar. The views are amazing.)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for your great comment, we truly appreciate that you took your time to give us your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Boutique 1850. We all believe that the tiny details are the magic that make the difference and ensure that your stay is more pleasant and memorable.

All the efforts we make is to be able to provide the best service possible. All the staff members steadily work on improving as an employee as much as growing as a person as well. Comments like yours motivate all of us to go the extra mile.

We all hope to welcome you back soon to your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Boutique 1850 for a week in the Aranza room. This hotel is perfectly located in the center of Guanajuato on the Jardin de la Union where all the action is. There are numerous restaurants and shops within walking distance with a Starbucks next door. We used the hotel's car service from Leon airport which cost about $15 US more than a taxi but was worth it for us to have someone that new exactly where to go, handle all the baggage and be in contact with the hotel. The bell staff met the car to guide us and handle the bags The hotel is about 1/2 block from the car drop off site.

Hotel 1850 is a combination of a colonial building mixed with a modern style. The Arnanza room is average in size, located on the 1st floor towards the back of the building, and is very quiet. This room has all modern furnishings, a king size bed with quality linens, and was very comfortable. The flat screen TV gets about 8 channels. The wifi always had strong signal and worked fine. There was plenty of hot water with decent water pressure. The A/C was quiet and worked well. The room could use a little bit more light and the closet space is small. Free bottled water is provided and resupplied when ever you need it.

Our stay included a daily breakfast at the Casa Valadez restaurant next to the Starbucks. Breakfast was very good and included a beverage, juice, baked goods, and an entree.

The bar on the roof opens at 6pm, has good views of the city and is a comfortable place to have a drink. First drink is free for new guests (nice touch).

Also, onsite is a spa, small gym, other lounge areas and 24 hour security personnel.

What sets this hotel far above any other though is the customer service. Everyone we met that worked at this hotel was very friendly and helpful every time we saw them throughout the week.However, the stars in this department are Cindy and Betty. Cindy runs the front desk and Betty is the concierge. Both are very friendly, genuinely interested, and have a vast knowledge of the city. They are a goldmine of information and if you're not using them during your stay you are missing out. They will make you maps, call you cabs, tell you where the best restaurants are and will go the extra mile to make your stay convenient and enjoyable. For example, we did a day trip to San Miguel de Allende and both Cindy & Betty made us a package of bus schedules, told us when to take cabs, and made a map of San Miguel showing us the best attractions, restaurants and view points. More than enough to do in a day trip. The restaurants were excellent and we would never have found them on our own. We have been to many hotels over the years but this was the best customer service ever. If I had a hotel I would want these two working for me.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are very quiet but may have less light. If your cab driver doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We don´t have enough words to express our sincere appreciation for your wonderful comment which you wrote with such great detail. Feedback like yours help us to continue providing the best service to you and future guest.

Thank you for describing every detail about the Hotel and describing your experience in every outlet of our Hotel.

We feel very satisfied for every detail that you describe during your stay with us in every one of the facilities and supplies that we provide you, starting with your description since your arrival to the hotel, your excellent description about the building, your description about your room, about the bar and about every area that we have in this hotel. As kindly you said the room isn´t very bright but we can provide you some lamps to make it brighter because we try to offer the device to make your stay as best as we can.

There´s twenty rooms all of them different so we have something for everyone, one of those brighter, one of those darker, ones with balcony to the main garden, and others. So for the people that would like more light or less we can give them the best suggestions if they allows us, because as we told you we are very gladly to do whatever we can to make you feel like home
All the staff from 1850 works hard daily to keep offering you the best service and we fell truly happy when guests like you share with us their experience letting us know that we provide you what your deserve it is a satisfaction because that way we know that we accomplish our work and purposes offering quality and attention to the guest that more than a guest at the end of your stay you become part of this small but big family 1850.

On behalf of Cindy and Betty we really want to express our sincere gratitude for your appreciation in each of the areas your mention. All of us were very happy to assist you all over your stay, helping you in every need during this week.

Thank you so much, we miss you so much but you remain here until the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique 1850

Address: Calle Jardin de La Union 7 | Colonia Centro Histórico, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: £118 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique 1850 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Design Hotel, with the best location, within downtown of Guanajuato Capital, cultural heritage of humanity. Hotel features with the multi adward winning Restaurant "Casa Valadez", "1850 Spa", sky bar "One Bar & Lounge", with the best atmosphere and city view, "Lobby Bar", "Starbucks Coffee", and the best services and amenities of hotel industry worldwide. Enjoy The Secret... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique 1850 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing