We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of France in Old Mexico”
Review of El Midi Bistro

El Midi Bistro
Ranked #5 of 246 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Old Mexico”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Located upstairs in the building called Cuatro Casas El Midi is
an artsy contemporary looking restaurant with good french food.
There are 3 or 4 window tables that give you a view of the very busy street below. My husband had a delicious lamb dish. I enjoyed the pate. The onion soup was not up to par in my opinion
not enough flavor and not enough cheese. The service was good and our server spoke English.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chachaandsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Great ambience, food and music in a charming location”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went to this restaurant based on a referral from another visitor and the announcement of live jazz & samba music in a travel brochure provided at the tourist information. The dinner was delicious, every item well cooked and beautifully served. We enjoyed the lamb and the beef, a Mediterranean salad and a few glasses of the Chardonnay. There was a special warmth in the restaurant, the customers were personally greeted by the owner and many seems to be regulars? The service was excellent and the musicians very talented professionals which added to the ambience. I can't think of a place in my city which would give you the same experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UlrikeHellmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a wonderful Sunday afternoon we had at El Midi! Flamenco guitarists and a singer, which they were all so talented, accompanied by a pitcher of sangria and the most delicious food made for a highlight of our visit. We loved every dish and we ordered a lot. The grilled vegetables, the salads, the chicken dishes, bread, cheese plate and dessert were beautifully presented and tasted so good.
The staff were efficient and attentive, but the ambience in which to take our time to eat, listen to music and take in the gorgeous view near the balcony was truly wonderful. The chef came by to check on us and was very sweet to make sure we didn't need anything else. When we return to GTO, this will be our first stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estrella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
“El Midi - good food and good fun”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I studied Spanish in Guanajuato for five weeks. El Midi was my favorite restaurant. Great margaritas, and special tequilas and other drinks. A friend raved about the cassoulet. I especially loved the different music: one night it was a blues band, another evening it was tango. The restaurant has lots of marvelous art and a gallery where they have varied programming, including a bit of yoga and music. Luis, the owner, seems to be creating a place for food and art. My friends and I loved it and returned many times. There are few rooftop restaurants in Guanajuato. El Midi has views to three cathedrals and El Pipila. It's marvelous. Thank you, Luis. Rose from Palo Alto.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A good choice for dinner”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Close to the center, friendly service, tasty food. We both had the rabbit served with pasta. It was certainly good, though not memorable. The atmosphere is pleasant, with some interesting art.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Midi Bistro also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Midi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing