We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Brunch :)”
Review of El Midi Bistro

El Midi Bistro
Ranked #5 of 245 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Brunch :)”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The juice was fresh, the pancakes were delicious. The ambience is unbeatable and we had a table by the window so the cool breeze made the whole experience even lovelier.

The service is prompt and polite. This place must be popular because on Friday night we couldnt get a table and we didnt want to wait 20 minutes so we came back on Saturday for brunch.

I couldnt recommend the place more to fellow travelers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shweta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent drinks and social ambiance”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great little bar/restaurant with an art gallery! The kicker is that is has a very modern looking rooftop lounge mixed with historical art. The drinks were tasty and although I did not get a chance to eat here, the locals rave about the food as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bliudolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but----”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at Midi twice now and loved the setting. The lunch time salad bar had a good variety of tasty, freshly prepared salads that you pay for by weight. Last evening we went for dinner. While the appetizers were delicious, tapenade with perfect toasts and delightfully spicy papas, the lamb navarin left a lot to be desired. It was very bland, lacking in appreciable flavour, and the meat was stringy. Enjoy the atmosphere but choose the menu items carefully.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Old Mexico”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Located upstairs in the building called Cuatro Casas El Midi is
an artsy contemporary looking restaurant with good french food.
There are 3 or 4 window tables that give you a view of the very busy street below. My husband had a delicious lamb dish. I enjoyed the pate. The onion soup was not up to par in my opinion
not enough flavor and not enough cheese. The service was good and our server spoke English.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chachaandsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Great ambience, food and music in a charming location”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went to this restaurant based on a referral from another visitor and the announcement of live jazz & samba music in a travel brochure provided at the tourist information. The dinner was delicious, every item well cooked and beautifully served. We enjoyed the lamb and the beef, a Mediterranean salad and a few glasses of the Chardonnay. There was a special warmth in the restaurant, the customers were personally greeted by the owner and many seems to be regulars? The service was excellent and the musicians very talented professionals which added to the ambience. I can't think of a place in my city which would give you the same experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UlrikeHellmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Midi Bistro also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Midi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing