We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAIRLY NEW ATTRACTION”

Museo del Pueblo de Guanajuato
Ranked #24 of 64 things to do in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Acton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FAIRLY NEW ATTRACTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Quite interesting. A must see to learn about Guanajuato's arts and culture.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zanubia1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best museum in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you are going to just one museum this is the one. Very informative...you get a great understanding of the history of the city and state.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank BCJimVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well-rounded "people's" art museum. Kids liked the miniatures.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

A nice mix of folk art, paintings, and photography. Something for everyone, inexpensive and very close to the University. The kids liked the exhibit of miniature folk art, tiny representations of common objects, people, houses, etc., some so small you literally need a magnifying glass to see them.

There are quite a few well-done paintings and photographs of people of local historical interest. Young kids have limited attention span for that sort of thing, but they did marvel at the realism of a few of the Realist paintings as we compared them to photographs and discussed the differences. There are 3 floors, with the miniatures on the bottom, historical paintings and photos in the middle, and modern art on the top floor.

When we visited, there was an exhibit of some modern photography that contained disturbing themes and sexual imagery. Fortunately, there was a person on hand to warn us that children were not allowed upstairs.

Overall, a worthwhile stop on a tour of the city center.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guanajuato, GTO., Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This home is a museum in it's self.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This museum is in the home once owned by the family that owned the Rayas mine. The very first mine in Guanajuato. The one with huge walls that make it look like a fortress of some kind. 1st floor; great collection of miniatures! 2nd floor; art, some that is always there and some on exhibit. On the 2nd floor there a chapel. From the street you see an arched opening. Behind this opening is the chapel. Jose, the same guy that did the wonderful murals in the Alhondiga De Granaditas, painted a mural on the back wall of the chapel. Kind of like something Rivera would paint. Super E-Z to get to. Facing the University steps, the house on your left.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RickZuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Art and access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

One trip to a museum probably isn't enough to make a visitor into an expert. So it is with the Museo del Pueblo de Guanajuato.

The museum is located close to the university. That means you can find it almost no matter where you are, because the university's large white features are visible from far away in all directions.

I happened unwittingly upon the Museo while strolling down the street. With a name like that, why not step inside? The cost was nominal, perhaps 15 pesos. But if I had stopped there and just sauntered through, I would have missed much.

At first sight, the place was just another oversized house, i.e., a large stone structure where a rich family once lived. OK, I thought. Same old story. I could see a few items here and there. Most of the displays were glass cases that contained a handful of objects. Things like statuettes and so forth. Oh well.

Then the question hit me. What is the point of this museum? Modern art? Ancient art? Religious art? Let's find somebody to ask. None of the answers seemed obvious. So I backtracked to the front desk and inquired (in Spanish) whether there were any brochures that I could read. No, she replied, but I will find you someone here who can answer your questions. Which she did, and suddenly the light came on.

A young man who works at the Museo walked me through each room, and each glass case, explaining the real point of the works. What a difference! This is classic pottery from such and such town; here are carvings from the state of so and so; etc. With some explanation, the place came alive. It's a splendid collection of Mexican arts and crafts. Truly worth your time -- but you can't just stroll through as a foreigner and expect to pick up what's really going on. You have to get a bit of help.

By the time it was over, I thought the Museo deserved high marks. And it does. The trick is...find a way to access the real points of the exhibits. Maybe do a little homework in advance. Or find a book, or a guide. Or, as I will do next time, go back a second time.

Helpful?
2 Thank dmgHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo del Pueblo de Guanajuato also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Museo del Pueblo de Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing