We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but a Little Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Santa Fe
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location but a Little Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great location, friendly staff, super clean laundry were all pluses. On the negative side our room was not conducive to getting a good night's sleep as it had only a small window in the shower room & nothing in the main bedroom. We spent three nights with different coping strategies - open toilet door and get noise but fresh air, sleep in a very dark room with minimum noise but very hot or use the fan which has some noise attached - but none really worked.

The included breakfast was poor only saved by the fresh orange juice. The drinks were a bit erratic and there was little atmosphere in the restaurant - better places along the jardin.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    224
    110
    52
    31
See reviews for
197
200
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We choose this hotel because my knee was having problem. Its location right on the most active square with free parking sounded great and it was for the first day. However, if you want to take your car out of their parking garage you probably will not be allowed to return and park the car there. In fact, their policy on your parking receipt states this. We complained and were told this was true and we would have to find our own parking spot and then get transportation back to the hotel. They did not even offer to assist in this. We also found the front desk and the waiters to not be the least bit friendly. However, the bellman was friendly because he collected enough information for his relative to call us within minutes of checking in to offer his tour services. He also passed one the information so that this tour guide could reconize us when we were about 100 yards from the hotel and call us by name to again try to sell his services. I would not recommend this tired hotel with a great location. Don't even think about this hotel if you have a car and want to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da2434890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have stay there twice in 9 years, I will continue to go back this wonderful hotel that provides great service for us. All the employees are very attentive and very professional. They bend over backwards to make your stay wonderful. The restuarant service is fast and the food is delicious. Great location as a hub around town for visitors, close to everything, all within walking distance. Thank you Posada del Sol for a great stay in beautiful Guanajuato.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs, all hotels around town sometimes noisy outside, otherwise great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dosvagosmexicantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. While the hotel is in a great location, right on the main square, full of life, it is decrepit and in urgent need of a makeover. We had a large junior suite with only one plug to charge our phones and tablets. It must have been a great hotel back in the day, some movies were shot there but it is not well kept. The people at the reception where pleasant but the waiting staff was not. As a matter of fact, they gave us the impression of not being happy to work there. Especially at breakfast, some were totally unpleasant and we had to ask for better service. Would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Must say that the location of this hotel was fantastic...just within walking distance of the towns different historic sites. Few places are bit ways off like "la presa", and a museum or two...but no big deal. We managed to see and do quite a bit in town.
One thing that made things uncomfortable was the noise at night at the plaza. Having a room facing the plaza was great, until you hear music from clubs and bands outside til 1am. One of the staff members that helped get and load a taxi for us, did mention weekends being the busiest and thus noisiest. Will consider that for next time we visit (or stay at a less noisy area)...for visit we shall again. Good times indeed!!!

Room Tip: Plaza views are great, but do consider how noisy it could get during high traffic times and days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Positives:
- in the very centre of the city, close to the theaters, museums, etc
- the wake-up call and calling taxi went very smooth
- the staff was very friendly
- bed was very comfortable
- sheets, towels are super clean


Negative:
- can't sleep because of the noise ( mariachi band outside sings until 12:30am, and then a singer with a guitar and and amplifier sings until 2:30am ).
- the rooms are old, you can hear everything from the hallway since there are cracks in doors, the shower walls are sticky
- the food in the hotel restaurant is really bad, except the leg of lamb
- margaritas brought to our table were all of different consistency: one had all the lemon, the other all the alcohol, etc. They give you a ticket for a drink "buy one get one free", it wasn't worth it since the drinks were so bad.
- getting an espresso takes 20 min, and it is full of coffee grains.
- the carpet in the room is dirty - after 2 min in the room barefoot the soles of the foot become dirty

If you stay there despite all of the above, here are some fixes:
- Noise: ask to change your room to the inner yard (they didn't do it for me claiming that they were all booked up)
- Coffee: there is a Starbucks across the street and Cafe Tal (fantastic coffee and chocolate) 10 min away by foot

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyGandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013


Positive: Great Location right in the center, spacious room.

Negative: complicated to find their parking. Parking is super full and cars on the top of each other. If u want to use your car to go somewhere, do not leave it there. Rooms has no AC. It's cool inside with the fan, but the second bedroom had no fan either. It is hot there. Super noisy. We couldn't sleep. People were partying till 5 outside. The bed is super hard. One of my biggest disappointment was the food. It was horrible. No Internet in the room, just in the lobby.
Overall it is way overrated and doesn't worth to stay there. $1,600 pesos/ Night. The hotel Value = $250 pesos/ night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terhesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Santa Fe

Property: Posada Santa Fe
Address: Calle Jardin de La Union 12, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1862, our Guanajuato Hotel keeps in its facilities a captivating colonial and historical appearance, a signature element of the best Hotels in Guanajuato. Posada Santa Fe is home of a big artwork collection by local artists and a lobby that stands out for its lofty beamed ceilings, fine chandeliers, antique furniture and spectacular paintings garnishing the walls. Stay in one of the 43 guest rooms of our Hotel in Guanajuato, all of them homely and comfortable for an easy rest in this magical colonial city.For added convenience, Posada Santa Fe Hotel features some other elements that distinguish us as the top choice among Guanajuato Hotels. A Tourist Ministry certified Restaurant with national and international dishes, a place that boasts a great view to the Jardin de la Union, a Parisian- style cafe terrace, functional rooms for both social and corporate events, parking lot and an endless list of amenities and services for a 4-star stay in the most traditional Guanajuato Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Santa Fe Guanajuato
Posada Santa Fe Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing