We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with a funny name :)”
Review of El Zopilote Mojado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Zopilote Mojado
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice place with a funny name :)”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good location, in a reasonably quiet, but still very central place (you need to climb some stairs). I was staying one of the additional buildings accross the plaza (private room with bathroom, shared kitchen, living room, terrace with amazing view), where I felt like home: the design was lovely, the service friendly and helpful, the wifi coverage good. Their coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiloptaelanevemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
62
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This inn is small and utterly charming; every detail of decor and furnishing a delight. The location is perfect, if you're willing to do a little climbing in this mountain town. It's far enough from the central plaza to be quiet, yet only 2 minutes away. Comfortable, excellent food, and the staff was superb! Pablo, the manager, picked us up at the airport, and got up at 4:30 am Sunday to get us to the return flight. HIghly recommended. - Carol

Room Tip: They're all good, as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolwolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

El Zopilote is a charming, colorfully decorated and quite new hotel. We loved the great sleeping conditions and the Olive and Almond amenities. The breakfast was tasty and the whole ambiance very cozy in general.
The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating giving us room choices even though we arrived on a Sunday evening after booking the rooms 12 hours before.
Another major plus is the great position: the hotel is located downtown and we could walk everywhere.

The town consists of many pedestrian alleys, one-way streets and underground tunnels which makes finding the hotel quite tricky by car (our GPS was lost). The hotel is located in a pedestrian only area and the closest parking is quite expensive (13MXP / hour). Alternatively, you can try leaving the car on other streets (very limited parking available). Keep in mind that this applies for all the hotels in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepTravelling196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked two rooms and found the hotel to be quite charming and colorful. The rooms were clean but the bathroom for one was not part of the room and the other room had a bathroom that was not entirely private. However, the bathrooms were modern and clean. If you're tall get a bed without a foot board as the beds are short. Our window opened up to an area where you could clearly hear people talking and laughing downstairs. The walk to the hotel from the main square was up a flight of stairs so dragging our suitcases up was a chore as the hotel was inaccessible by taxis. Breakfast was okay, a little dried up and it cost 50 pesos if you were staying there. My grand daughter said the hot chocolate was very good. Staff on the other hand were very friendly and helpful. I think this hostel was good value and a great place for young people to stay. However, it was a tough walk to get to for us older folk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 520normi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent two nights in one of El Zopilote Mojado's apartments. It was a sweet place, a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town, but wonderfully quiet. The apartment was very clean and came with a small, but well-equipped kitchen. The staff at El Zopilote were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hotel is on a pedestrian walkway and small plaza, 1 to 3 blocks, from the main plaza/park, 2 theaters, 3 churches, Don Quixote museum, and many cafe's and restaurants. You have to walk up at least one block up medium hill to hotel for check-in. We stayed in separate apartment from hotel that had living room, bed room, bathroom, dining table, and small kitchen. Apartment was on a small well lit at night sidewalk closer to main plaza then main hotel which was about 1 block away. Room was very clean, quiet and bed very comfortable. We were there on a Friday and Saturday night and even though main plaza was full of tourists and live bands our apartment was very quiet. It was on ground floor so no view. Staff was very helpful and arranged for taxi for an early departure the next morning. We had a great breakfast at the hotel lobby café which was extra but worth the 75 pesos each. We enjoyed our stay and really enjoyed our first trip to Guanajuato.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment separate from main hotel. No view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. Quiet, comfortable, beautiful furnishings, helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast (separate charge), reasonable price. If you arrive by bus, you'll need to take a taxi or city bus to the center of Guantajuato. Our taxi driver didn't know where Mexiamora Square is. The closest familiar drop-off point is the Teatro Principal.

Room Tip: We wanted twin beds so we stayed in the Pipila room. Very comfortable and roomy, with a communal kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 75 in Guanajuato
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 57 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Zopilote Mojado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Zopilote Mojado

Property: El Zopilote Mojado
Address: Calle Plaza de Mexiamora # 51 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Zopilote Mojado Hostal and Cafe is located on beautiful and tranquil Mexiamora Plaza in Guanajuato's historic center. We have 7 guestrooms, 2 apartments and a guesthouse available in our 3 buildings located on and around the plaza. All of our properties have well appointed common areas and terraces with panoramic views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Zopilote Mojado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing