We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Dante Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I spent two nights in la Casa de Dante, and I had a very good experience. It is a quiet, friendly and clean hostel. The breakfast is AWESOME. La Senora Irene and Diana are experts of Mexican food, and you will eat a different sophisticated dish almost everyday. No limits of repetitions, you will be surprises by their friendly spirit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxana C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Dante Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Every now and then you stay at a hostel that just feels so welcoming, this is one of them!

The property is actually well located (it's really only a 10-15 pleasant walk into central town) and the area is completely safe so that walking home late at night isn't an issue.

The free breakfast is great and freshly cooked with homemade love while the communal areas such as the roof/balcony provide a great place to chill out if you want to stay still.

One very good English speaker works here if you Spanish is not so good!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelOverTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time staying in a private room in this hostel, mainly because the owners were so friendly and welcoming. (E.g. When I arrived Dante started out by offering me fruit and a cold drink before I even paid for my room) Breakfast each morning was something tasty and nutritious served in a really friendly, cheerful atmosphere. The building itself had great views and several different areas for hanging out and socialising, and it was cheerfully decorated, including with new poinsettias for Christmas time and a huge bunch of beautiful, fragrant lillies in my room - things like that are really more than what a budget hostel needs to do, which made me think that the owners just actually care about running a really good hostel. Overall - excellent value and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for one night on our recent travels. We were greeted by the owner (Dante) who was helpful & got us into our room nicely - because they had availability, he even let us choose which room we wanted which was a nice touch! Dante was helpful with maps/local tips & set us on our way. He also showed us the view from the balcony which was amazing!

Breakfast was lovely (yummy fresh strawberry juice the highlight!). Only thing to know (which to be fair is clearly noted on the website) is that there is a bit of a hike up/downstairs to get here & its a little away from town. 10mins or so to get to town, but if your looking for a lovely hideaway in Guanajuato, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

La Casa de Dante is exactly as described. The welcome is so warm that even after a short 2 day stay we felt touched by the warmth of the family especially Irene the mum. Never had such good breakfasts so different tasty and well presented. Would recommend. Steps were steep but we knew before we got there however on arrival with suitcase would recommend a taxi to above as walk from top road with cases far easier. Many thanks for a memory we won't forget.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The whole family at La Casa de Dante made us feel so at home. We came with a group of four and were split across two rooms, both on the top floor of the establishment. This meant that we had a great view of the town. The hotel itself is very indie, with the top rooms locking with a lock and key instead of a doorknob.

Unlike other places in a similar price range, they gave us soap and clean towels and -- here's the best part -- they gave us breakfast every morning. While the steps up to the hotel can be tiring late at night, the place really can't be beat when you're looking for something fairly close to the center of Guanajuato to celebrate the Festival Internacional Cervantino.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KyleBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a treat it was staying at La Casa de Dante - without doubt, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in... and I've stayed in a lot! The rooms are tastefully decorated in a traditional Mexican style, all areas are kept spotlessly clean, the kitchen is well-stocked with all utensils and crockery needed, the rooftop terrace has incredible views, and the breakfast is scrumptious! Not to mention that Señora Irene, the owner, is the most delightful, warm and interesting lady. She treats you like a part of the family and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and at home. She even placed a vase of flowers in my room on my second day there. Such a sweet touch!
Ps. Don't be put off by the steps leading up to the hostel, the moment you step through the doors and into the friendly ambience, the 5 minutes of exertion is completely forgotten! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Socavon
Socavon
#24 of 55 in Guanajuato
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Son de los Santos
Al Son de los Santos
#11 of 78 in Guanajuato
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casona de las Aves
Casona de las Aves
#46 of 78 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Hogar de Carmelita
El Hogar de Carmelita
#2 of 66 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Dante Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Dante Hostel

Address: Callejon Zaragoza # 25 | Paseo de la Presa, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Guanajuato
Price Range: £18 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great panoramic view and our famous Mexican breakfast is waiting for you in Casa de Dante, discover why many travelers decide to climb up 165 steps to find a bed with us; stay in a colorful private room or in a bed of our shared dorm.Further than good service and commodity, our hostel offers you a full furnished kitchen, Wi-Fi internet, laundry service, information and touristic tours, regional handicrafts and much more!Discover the best breakfast and best service only at La Casa de Dante ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Dante Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing