We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the centre of town, excellent service, best place to stay in Guanajuto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 83 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I found this B&B when searching online for accommodations for my family and friends who were travelling from Canada to our wedding in Guanajuato. In the many months leading up to the wedding, I corresponded with Hugo the innkeeper, and he was so helpful in answering questions and sending photos. We booked the whole place for several nights and my family and friends had an incredible stay here. Hugo was so friendly and warm and funny,like an old friend - he was a wonderful host! All of the rooms are uniquely different, the whole space is so colourful and artistic. This is beautifully designed with so much Mexican flair.

The rooftop terrace provided amazing views to all the city, and it has a lounge area with an honor bar where everyone shared a lot of laughter and good times (and some cervezas!).

It is located in the heart of town, and you can walk to all of the popular places in the city. Many restaurants and pastelerias (bakeries) surround, and Hugo is amazing for recommending places to eat and places to see.

We will stay at Alma del Sol on any return trip to Guanajuato, and the same goes for our family and friends. Not a single negative to report, this is just an exquisite space, made all the more special by Hugo.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jglyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

Lovely B&B in heart of Guanajuato, easy walk to museums. Hugo, the proprietor has traveled much in India so rooms are filled with fascinating Indian tapestries. Luxurious bathrooms, great bedside reading lamps, coffee machine in room set up each day so all you have to do is turn it on in the AM. Roof garden and sitting area with help yourself beer and margaritas. Breakfast delicious. Staff outstanding--will orient you and arrange outings, reservations, etc. Actually, I'd like to move in and take up permanent residence.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbreuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I was in Guanajuato for a family wedding and we booked the whole B&B for family and friends who traveled from Canada and Australia. We had such a wonderful experience staying at Alma del Sol that we're all talking of going back some day. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the breakfasts gourmet, staff friendly and helpful and the rooftop terrace a great place to sit back, relax, and spend precious times with friends. Hugo was fantastic in helping us manouever the city, making recommendations for eating, places to see and things to do and we were never disappointed with his advice. My daughter's wedding was wonderful and the experience was even more lovely for all of us by staying at Alma del Sol.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yukongail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We spent two nights in Casa del Sol, a beautiful home with a wonderful roof terrace. After deciding to take Spanish lesson at the Escuala Mexican, Hugo, our host, offered us to rent his Casa del Corazon which is located right next to the Escuela Mexicana (2min walking distance). Hugo took care of that we had every day fresh orange juice and his servants prepared us Mexican breakfast and lunch. Hugo gave us many good hints how best to discover Guanajuato on your own way. No matter if you want to stay in Casa del Sol or in Casa del Corazon, both accommodations are unbeatable in location, comfort, cleanness, price and hospitality! We want to come back definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berndroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I have lived in San Miguel de Allende for 21 years and visit Guanajuato often for cultural events, especially for the Festival Cervantino. Until we found Alma del Sol we never had a good hotel experience. The manager, Hugo Amaya, takes care of every possible detail to make his guests comfortable. There is no better location, the plumbing is modern and functions well, the beds are new and comfortable with luxury linens. Hugo's breakfasts, served in a glass dining room on the 3rd floor are awesome for taste and with a stunning view.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emnadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

What a delight to stay at Alma del Sol. Convenient to all that soulful Guanjuato has to offer, this B&B worked out perfectly for me, a solo woman traveler. Hugo, the manager, is gracious, informed and connected in the community. He provides tons of helpful tips on what to do, where to eat and shop in this beautiful city. I arrived early in the morning and even though I wasn't officially checking in until that afternoon he made sure I had a comfortable place to rest in the sun room and had me join the other guests for breakfast. That led to invites to join other guests as they explored the city, attended symphony rehearsals and got together to celebrate a birthday at a local nightspot. My room was actually a suite - I'm already discussing returning and sharing the room with a friend. I loved the artifacts and wall hangings. Breakfast was delicious. Simply stated, it's a wonderful and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEACEAKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Alma Del Sol is the best find in Guanajuato. It is centrally located, with a quick walk to all main attractions. The B&B is beautifully decorated and makes you feel that you have entered your own private special place in the heart of the city. The terrace is a great place to relax and have a drink at the end of a day full of sight seeing. The staff are incredibly friendly and warm. I can not say enough wonderful things about Hugo, the B&B Manager. He provides great insights into the city and has such a gregarious personality. I have stayed at many places in the Guanajuato and none compare to Alma Del Sol. In fact, I have stayed there 4 times and would not stay anywhere else. It is great fro couples or families. The breakfasts are a great way to start the day and the food provides a wonderful taste of Mexican Cuisine.

I highly recommend Alma Del Sol to anyone who wants to stay in a great place, in the heart of the city.

Jodi
Berkeley, California

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joloBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 54 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 54 in Guanajuato
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 54 in Guanajuato
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 83 in Guanajuato
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique 1850
Hotel Boutique 1850
#1 of 54 in Guanajuato
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rector Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: Calle del Sol #3 | Downtown, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alma del Sol is an old stone and adobe house in Guanajuato's beautiful, historic center. The five ample rooms, including two suites, have lots of character with super high ceilings. Four of them have balconies or large window with a greta view of the city. The rooftop terrace offers a great place to relax and enjoy the downtown views while you sip on a cold drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Del Sol Bed And Breakfast Inn
Alma Del Sol Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing