We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on appearances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Camino Real Guanajuato
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed 15 February 2013

What appears to be a nice hotel is spoilt through poor service and a veneer approach to the facilities. I stayed here for 4 nights and experienced service ranging from indifference to plain rude, and had problems with my door key three times, wifi four times, and a blocked toilet. Nice property but would not return for the price

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Camino Real Guanajuato
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

We loved it...plan on goin back! Very quiet, very clean it is a beautiful hotel...the rooms are beautiful, the bathroom too
Very modern...good restaurant...incredible food!! Nice location...nice views!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this place, it is magic, the service is excellent and the building is worth of a visit specially at night. Very good option to stay in Guanajuat, By far our favourite City of our trip, we will come back to enjoy more of it and of course we will stay again in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the view to the city or the couryard, at night it is a bautiful view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Not too far from the Bus Station and not too far from the Center of Guanajuato, nice rooms, clean, friendly staff. From mexico city is arround 4.5 hrs by bus so if you want to enjoy your trip go to Central del Norte bus station and take the 7 am bus.

Room Tip: Taxis in Guanajuato are very cheap, dont forget to visit the mummies museum. If you are going in Oc...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Implecably maintained in a quiet area of town. You could walk to downtown (downhill) in 20 or 30 minutes, and catch a cab back to the hotel for some 40 pesos. The rooms are smallish but nice. All the employees were courteous and helpful. We did not eat ther, but the restaurant looks nice. A very good base to explore the gorgeous city of guanajuato.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My family and I were here for one Saturday night and were pleased with our stay.

PRICE: On the phone, a friendly (English speaking) receptionist told us the room would be 1800 MXN a night, which included two double beds for four people. We were pleasently SURPRISED however, when upon payment of the room, the rate was unexpectedly lowered to 1200 MXN. We didn´t ask any questions, but were happy with the adjustment! Our price also included 2 full buffet breakfasts as well.

POOL/BAR: As Canadians, we love our drinks and recreation, and the setup at the hotel was great. The pool was spacious and had a little jacuzzi spa as well. There was a really nice (and high) waterslide that kids slid down everyone minute or so. It was tastefully decorated with a nice rock mountain on one side. It then started to rain, but that didnt ´dampen´our stay. My parents and I were playing cards at one of the tables by the pool, and the wonderfully attentive staff member (Juan) helped us move our table and possessions to under the poolbar roof. He spoke good English and was attentive and quite helpful in recommending an oustanding restaurant in town (Casa Valades). Prices were cheap for drinks (30P a beer and 50p Sangria) Order it with vodka - its wonderful.

ROOM SERVICE: Room service was great, and took half an hour ( a little long) to get to our room, HOWEVER, we ordered at 3 in the morning. Order the hamburger, its well priced and delicious.

CLEANLINESS: Immaculate.

MAINTENANCE: Everything worked as expected. The showers were awesome and had lots of pressure and hot water.

TECHNOLOGY: Wireless was free. All you have to do is call front desk for the code. Only one code per room though, so if you have two iPads, only one will have access.

The only concern i would recommend would be the location to the city center. Its a 15 min cab ride and if traffic is bad you can just about double the time. However, they do have cabs readily available.

Overall, a wonderful experience at this hotel, Book this hotel if youre in need of some R and R in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor, it had a nice balcony and is easily accessible.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxBlazerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We chose this hotel because it is one o the few that have a swimming pool in Guanajuato, and with kids, the pool is a must. I knew the hotel when was "Parador San Javier" and some that charm is lost for ever. The hotel is build inside an old Hacienda, it is still appreciated from the outside, however none of it is left to be seen or feel inside of the Hotel, wich is a pity. Other than that, excellent service and accommodations, perhaps the only issue with us is that both mattress in our room where old or overused and gave us uncomfortable nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustogomez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 55 in Guanajuato
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#15 of 55 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#20 of 55 in Guanajuato
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guanajuato

Address: Alhondiga 100 | Col San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: £71 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Guanajuato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guanajuato is located in one of Guanajuato's most beautiful haciendas "San Francisco Javier" with beautiful garden and a pool, 155 rooms includes Deluxe rooms, Juniors, Master and a Presidential Suite. La Huerta Restaurant center piece is a 16ht century chapel is open from 06:00 to 23:00 hrs from Monday to Sunday, also we offer 24 hours Room Service. We have meeting rooms and facilities for banquets until 380 persons. Swimming pool and children pool is open from 08 to 20 hrs. Is located at 10 minutes from the main attractions of the city's Historic Center like Alhondiga de Granaditas, Teatro Juarez , Mercado Hidalgo and Museo de las Momias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Camino Real Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing