We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Guanajuato
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would rate this hotel as excellent in terms of value for money. My only reservation was its location, about 15 to 20 min walk to the city, which was nothing for me but a real stretch for my wife, unfortunately. In other words, if you and whoever you're with are fit to walk, the location is not a problem. Otherwise you may want a hotel closer to the city center. That being said, the hotel is very good, with very friendly staff, a decent-sized pool, gorgeous gardens and "cottage style" rooms, although the cottages are attached together. the rooms are located at different levels, accessible by tunnels (reminiscent of the way the city is built). We also noted wheelchair access, although not sure if this is available in all parts of the hotel. Our room had a very comfortable king-sized bed and a TV with CNN. If you've been out of the US for a while then it's nice to catch up with news in English. WIFI is free but a bit spotty at times. We had a long wait for hot water to come through the shower system but once it came we were fine. I would recommend this hotel for couples or families.

Room Tip: Our room was near a major reception area. There was a wedding reception going on and we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our stay with my family at this beautiful hotel was fabulous. We felt like we were in an old castle. The older rooms were small but great with a domed brick ceiling. Breakfast was a huge buffet that left nothing out with both American and Mexican food. The pool was great. My kids loved the slide. It was in the city but a few taxi minutes away from Centro. My only complaints were that we didn't get much warm or hot water during our showers. Brrr... And none of the staff spoke decent English.

Room Tip: Get the singular rooms near the entrance, not the ones in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anamariacaminoreal, Director General at Camino Real Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Bankizy:

Primero que nada quiero agradecer sus comentarios sobre su reciente estancia en esta su casa Camino Real Guanajuato los cuales nos son de gran utilidad para corregir posibles errores en nuestra operación, los cuales ya están siendo atendidos esperando que en su próxima visita logremos satisfacer todas sus expectativas de calidad y servicio.

Estamos para servirle siempre!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been here in a group - the staff was very helpful and kind. The rooms were big with balcony, good sized bathroom - only a bit more light especially in the corner where you store your luggage would be helpful. A pool with a slide made a perfect afternoon, but could be a bit cleaner. The breakfast was plentiful and left nothing to wish.

Room Tip: If you are good on foot, take an upper room in the older buildings - a bell boy will carry your lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Stony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anamariacaminoreal, Director General at Camino Real Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014
Google Translation

Buen día:

Gracias por sus comentarios sobre su reciente visita a Camino Real Guanajuato los cuales nos son de gran utilidad para mejorar la percepción de servicio de nuestros huéspedes.

Es nuestro compromiso asumir una actitud de cambio y mejora por lo que esperamos nuevamente vernos favorecidos con su preferencia en un futuro próximo.

Atentamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here on our way to San Miguel Allende because we did not want to stay downtown. Great locacation and a 15 minute walk downtown. The hotel is undergoing an expansion so the next months may be disruptive. In any case I expected a much better room than the one we got. Carpet squares in a 5 stars supposedly doesn't cut it for me. Neither did the fact that no one even bothered to offer to unlock the mini bar, not that we even use it. We asked for wine glasses no such luck!!
The Pozo bar on the other hand was a great find and Margaritas were great as was our bartender, she was engaging and full of info about the town and restaurants.
The staff at the front desk while not unfriendly did not go out of their way to offer info on the hotel or otherwise. They made a taxi reservation for us but the driver turned up 2days early, maybe it was the agency's fault but I wonder. The towels in the room were well worn.
However we enjoyed the garden and the waiters in the restaurant were friendly but not particularly attentive as I repeatedly had to call them for this and that.
This is not how I remember the Camino Real chain!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the expansion site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anamariacaminoreal, Director General at Camino Real Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014
Google Translation

Buen día:

Gracias por los comentarios de su reciente visita a Camino Real Guanajuato, los cuales nos son de gran utilidad para corregir posibles errores en nuestra operación.

Tenga usted la plena confianza que durante su próxima visita lograremos satisfacer todas las expectativas de calidad y servicio.

Atentamenente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The maids do a good job. Linens are changed every day and our room was clean except for an old bar fridge that was hidden in a cupboard. It was dirty and smelly and requests for it to be cleaned or removed were ignored. There is only one decent restaurant close by, and also a large supermarket. The walk to the Central Zone is about 25 minutes and downhill. Unfortunately the walk back is uphill and the sidewalks are not in the best condition. The hotel shuttle is twice the price of a taxi. Not up to normal Camino Real standards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arip412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anamariacaminoreal, Director General at Camino Real Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Buen día!

Gracias por sus comentarios que nos envió de su pasada visita a Camino Real Guanajuato, los cuales nos son de gran utilidad para corregir posibles errores en nuestra operación.

Esperamos nos den la oportunidad de recibirlos nuevamente en esta su casa.

Atentamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in a business trip. Room was nice and clean. Staff were friendly. Hotel has a nice environment and an a beautiful outdoor pool. Breakfast included many options and it was included in the rate i got. We tried restaurant a couple of times and it was good. There are also restaurants close to the hotel. It is about 30-40 minute walk from heart of downtown.
The only issue i had with this hotel was noise at night. My room did not have good sound isolation and i could hear people talking and even sometimes yelling in the hallway. There were also noise from mechanical room of the hotel. I usually don't wake up at night, but in this hotel i woke up a few times every night.
I also had week Wifi reception, however my colleague in another room was okay, so i guess it depends where your room is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehsan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It's a beautyfull hotel just a few block away from the center were all the glory of Guanajuato is. The problem with the hotel is that it needs to be cleaner, our room was full of dust and it didn't look clean at all, the front desk lost my reservation but they still gave me a room protected with a credit card, if I did not have a credit card I would've end up looking for an hotel. There's plenty of taxi services outside the hotel which only charge about $3 Dllrs to take to downtown.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Baldor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus O, Manager at Camino Real Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks to taking the time to share your experience with us.

For Camino Real Guanajuato es really important your comments and we will working in all the matters.

Tanks again we hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 55 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#16 of 55 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
270 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#22 of 55 in Guanajuato
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guanajuato

Address: Alhondiga 100 | Col San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Guanajuato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guanajuato is located in one of Guanajuato's most beautiful haciendas "San Francisco Javier" with beautiful garden and a pool, 155 rooms includes Deluxe rooms, Juniors, Master and a Presidential Suite. La Huerta Restaurant center piece is a 16ht century chapel is open from 06:00 to 23:00 hrs from Monday to Sunday, also we offer 24 hours Room Service. We have meeting rooms and facilities for banquets until 380 persons. Swimming pool and children pool is open from 08 to 20 hrs. Is located at 10 minutes from the main attractions of the city's Historic Center like Alhondiga de Granaditas, Teatro Juarez , Mercado Hidalgo and Museo de las Momias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Camino Real Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing