We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Zuniga is the best home away from home.”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 74 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casa Zuniga is the best home away from home.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had been referred to Carmen and Rick's B and B by good friends. This has to be one of the best B and B's we have ever stayed in. We were made to feel so welcome and at home by both Carmen and Rick. We stayed in the Morgan room and it had a stellar view of Guanajuato. Our breakfasts were delicious and some of the best meals we had while in Guanajuato.
What was really extraordinary is that Rick took his time to personally show us the city of Guanajuato with a running commentary of Guanajuatos history and also another day took us on a tour of the Valencian Mines. These two tours really gave us a better idea of Guanajuato and it's incredible history. We were so fortunate to have chosen Casa Zuniga as our B and B.
We will recommend Casa Zuniga to all our friends and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgallakeOswego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    36
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
336
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The raving reviews are true! We had the distinct and most interesting pleasure to stay at Rick and Carmen's B&B for a full week during the Festival Internacional Cervantino. The B&B was truly a great experience, not only because of the very pleasant B&B but even more so because of the hospitality of Rick and Carmen. Carmen's breakfasts were excellent and Rick provided two of his famous tours (city and the mine). He is an extraordinary tour guide, host, historian, artist, construction manager, comedian and more! We also met several interesting guests at Casa Zuniga as well as in Guanajuato. And we chose to have a special dinner at Rick and Carmen's friend's restaurant, Las Mercedes. That was also fantastic! We hope to return with some of our friends to show off Guanajuato, Las Mercedes and especially Casa Zuniga and Rick and Carmen!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Trinidad room. We were a bit concerned because it was the least expensive. Our con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoSwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I decided to stay at the Casa Zuniga for the Festival Internacional Cervantino in Guanajuato Mexico. What a wonderful place and a gracious host Rick and Carmen were.
Each day the breakfast was unique and wonderful and one day even included flan.
Rick made arrangement for a wonderful dinner, took us on a tour of silver mine and walked us through the town giving us all kinds of information.
This is a great place to relax.

Room Tip: If you get a chance stay with Rick and Carmen, you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
this guest was interested in what happened here to chang the world. it was my pleasure to take him to where it happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just returned from a trip to Guanajuato and the wonderful B&B Casa Zuniga. Went there with my sister to celebrate our birthdays and found a gem. The amazing view and perfect location would have been enough, but Rick and Carmen were the caveat of the whole trip. From the moment we arrived at La Papila and were met by someone who carried our luggage down to the hotel (all arranged by Rick), we were treated as long lost family and warmly welcomed. Carmen's breakfasts were so delectable with a new choice each morning. Rick's energy and enthusiam was infectious. Each morning he would help us with our plan for the day and helped with the arrangements. He even took us on a historical walking tour of this delightful city that helped put the Mexican revolution in perspective. We learned a lot and had fun doing it. I can highly recommend Casa Zuniga and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view. The vista is captivating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nona4skslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
a very special occasion, and here in our little village. i was happy to do what i could, share information and history about our little village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was one of my favorite places we've ever stayed. For $92 a night, plus tax, we got an enormous, clean, and tasteful room with a king bed and a fantastic view of the city, plus one of the best B&B breakfasts we've ever had and as many tickets as we could use on the nearby funicular to get to and from the city. Add to that that Rick and Carmen are as considerate and charming hosts as you could ask for, and it adds up to one of the best stays we've had.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention how close the B&B is to the gorgeous overlook of El Pipila. I'm an amateur photographer and I went to El Pipila for both sunset and sunrise. Couldn't have been more convenient. I woke up for the sunrise and within three minutes of waking up I was at the hill setting up for pictures. It really is that close to one of the most beautiful views I've ever seen.

I only have one caveat on Casa Zuniga: if you're taking a taxi from the hotel or the bus terminal, be sure to tell the driver to drop you at El Pipila. Otherwise he may not know where Callejon del Pochote is and if you're very unlucky he'll drop you at the bottom of the hill and you'll have to haul your luggage up Guanajuato's hills. That's essentially what happened to us, and it was not fun. However, it was our own fault for not knowing the location beforehand, and that's the ONLY complaint we have about Casa Zuniga. If you tell the driver to drop you at El Pipila, the hotel is a hop, skip, and a jump from there--and every driver in the city knows how to get to El Pipila.

When we go back to Guanajuato, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dallasite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My husband and I found Casa Zuniga online. We didn't have time to do our usual level of travel planning before our trip to Guanajuato so I had forgotten about all of the great reviews. What a find! We stayed for a week; everyone at Casa Zuniga contributed to a perfect vacation. The simplicity and cleanliness of our room made the entire stay pleasant and comfortable. Everyone was so warm and friendly. Carmen and Rick had the perfect balance between making us feel as welcome as friends and the kind of "professionalism" that gave us confidence that if anything needed to be taken care of, it would be done well. The breakfasts were amazing--so fresh, with great combinations of fruit, eggs, juice, beans, coffee, and a different main dish each day. When bringing out fresh papaya, Carmen mentioned that some people don't like papaya--perhaps it's because Mexican papaya here in the US (at least in L.A.) tastes nothing like the fruit there, surrounded by other wonderful food! All of the breakfasts were served with warmth and friendly conversation, as well as recommendations for things to see and do. Rick's tour made history come alive, so that I came away wanting to learn more & more. We were especially fortunate to be on the tour during the re-enactment of the bringing of the statue of the Virgin of Guanajuato to town. We would not have known how special this was without Rick's explanation of the history and the context. We really appreciated the warmth, affection, and respect in the relationships at Casa Zuniga, including the staff. All of this added up to our feeling that we had a good sense of place as well as a refreshing and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Luz, NM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for the second time at Casa Zuniga in August 2011. Now it's like arriving at a friend's house! Rick Zuniga is a host par excellence. He knows the history of the city and is enthusiastic about each guest that arrives. One immediately is enveloped in the warmth and hospitality that is Mexico! The rooms are sun-filled, spacious, atop the hill where the statue of Pipila stands. The view of the town is spectacular. The breakfasts are fabulous with abundant and delicious food from his wife Carmen's kitchen. The easy ride in the funicular takes you down to the Teatro Juarez and Jardin Union in El Centro. And yes, back up again. Or you can walk the many steps for exercise.
Don't miss this experience in beautiful Guanajuato!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FloraLaLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing