We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My friend and I were on business and needed 2 nights in Guanajuato. I found Casa Zuniga on Trip Advisor and it sounded perfect. Rick and his lovely wife are the owners and they gave us a wonderful welcome and Rick told us the complete history of the town and was full of information. It was the best breakfast I had on this whole trip. The rooms are huge and being so close to the Fenicular was brilliant.
When I go back there next time, I will be staying at Casa Zuniga!!!!
Thanks Guys
NZ

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piharox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
muchas gracias/thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. nothing was a deal killer with this stay. sometimes our home almost works out..... if it weren't for the barrio dogs, the many stairs, too many church bells, etc.,etc.,etc. and it's all true. but if you accept guanajuato as is just like these guests did, you'll have a better time:))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    36
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
331
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

It's been over a month since we stayed in Casa Zuniga. I can't say enough. This is a beautiful house, typical Mexican architecture with a breath-taking view of Guanajuato. Mornings are the best, as the sun rises over the mountain and you can see the entire city glow.
Rick and Carmen are amazing. Breakfast was to die for, plentiful and delicious. I loved every minute of it.
The location is perfect, right above the town center, and you can either walk or take the funicular. The steps are very steep, and it's a great work out, so you can take off some of those calories! The food is amazing in Guanajuato, so I suggest you take the stairs, since you'll eat a lot :).
Rick knows so much about the city's history and culture, and will give you a tour on your first day. You will fall in love with this place and the people in there. You will fall in love with Guanajuato.
It's a magical place. I would truly want to live in Casa Zuniga :).

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Rick is great craic. We loved Guanajuato and Casa Zuniga is the ideal place to stay in the town. Not just is the location great with amazing panoramic views of Guanajuato but just like Rick, Casa Zuniga is full of character. Our only regret about staying here was that we didn't have more time. Our room was very big, comfortable and our balcony had a great view overlooking the town.

Rick immediately made us feel welcome by giving us a tour around the B&B which didn't end with the hotel itself. He very kindly brought us to the funicular (which is very conveniently right next door) and talked us through the opening times etc. Breakfast was great - everyone eats at the same table so its a great way to meet new people. The food is lovely - lots of fresh fruit and warm Mexican breakfast cuisine. You won't go hungry that's for sure!

We spent some time in Mexico City and then did a 5 day road trip to Guadalajara (staying in Bernal, Sierra Gorda, Guanajuato & Pénjamo Guanajuato as well visiting other towns during the day). Out of all the towns we visited we would return to Guanajuato the first without a doubt and we would definitely book Casa Zuniga.

I can't have put it better than the reviewer Marshamaroo "We travel to have unique experiences, and this is one of the most unique places you will ever visit, both the city and this B&B"

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireanneDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Not only is Casa Zuniga a true work of art in itself, it is filled with great works of art. That's not to say simply pictures on the walls, but outstanding murals of local history, incredible wrought-iron sculptures, and more. It's hard to over praise our stay there: the location is perfect, with a superb view of beautiful Guanajuato, out of the heat and noise of the town so that we were very comfortable even in May. Our room was huge, with big windows and cross-ventilation when needed. Free tickets on the famous funicular put us minutes away from the historic center. Breakfasts were huge, varied, and delicious. And our hosts Rick and Carmen and their staff were kind, thoughtful and friendly. Rick even treated us to a most entertaining and interesting summary of local history. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in our price range in Guanajuato or anyplace else in the world. This is a gem not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the town and also cross-ventilation if it's a warm month.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I'll start by saying that my first visit to Guanajuato has sold me on the town...I love it! First impressions count for something and Casa Zuniga was it.

Rick sent Arturo to get me from the airport and bring me to the hotel. It could be challenge unaided. The hotel is multilevelled and sprawling, it is Rick's work in progress and his attention to detail is apparent. The rooms are large and sport wonderful panoramas of the city below.

Breakfast is at 9 and is served family style. There is a huge quantity of fresh prepared food...yumm!

The entrance to the funicular is right across the alleyway. Rick provides tickets and you can be flown to the very walkable historic centro in 5 minutes. The hotel can get somewhat noisy in the early to mid evening, but that is true of most places in Guanajuato, the town is in a big bowl and sound travels up the sides.

If one wishes to walk down into the town there is and old road which starts about 200 yards east of the hotel which was the actual route that Hidalgo and his 20,000 fighters went down towards the Alhondiga.

If you have a question about the town past or present, ask Rick and prepare to listen!

I'd return in a flash!

Room Tip: Maxcito has a wifi modem in it...great signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesOB523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent 4 weeks backpacking around Mexico and Belize, and this is one of the nicest places we stayed. Ric and his wife were beyond lovely, the room we had was massive and really clean, with a gorgeous balcony. I suspect Ric gave us a free upgrade as we'd only booked for their most basic room. Breakfast was fab, WiFi was handy and it just felt really nice staying there. Highly recommend it to anyone. Ric also gives a free pass to the cable car which you'll need to take the 2 minute journey down the hillside, unless you feel like walking down, and taking the cable car back up. We were really sad to leave Guanajuato and the hotel behind for the crazyness of Mexico City.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twist007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We travel to have unique experiences, and this is one of the most unique places you will ever visit, both the city and this B&B. Everything that has been said about Casa Zuniga in other reviews is spot-on, so there is no reason for me to restate it here. I will add that talking with Ric about Guanajuato and his own journey that brought him to this place is as good enough reason to stay here as any other. If you want unique, odd, unusual, different, and memorable then this is the place for you.

His home on the hill is clean, comfortable, cozy, charming, and yes, out-of-this-world crazy. It will take you days to figure out how to get from one place to another, and you may never be able to figure out why or how he built things the way he did. I think Ric explained it best when he said that he had the best success when he just went with the way things are done in this city, instead of trying to do things the "normal" way. There is absolutely nothing normal about this place- except for maybe Ric's wife, Carmen. She does indeed seem oddly normal amidst this oasis of craziness, except of course she is married to the mad scientist himself.

I could go on and on about reasons to stay here, but let me just say that if you are coming to this crazy city (and I mean that in a good way) then it would indeed be crazy not to stay here. We stayed nine days and wish it could be more.

Room Tip: any one with a bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marshamaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing