We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Breakfasts, Great Property with views and Gracious Hosts”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 79 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at Casa Zuniga from January 17-20 with another couple. When we arrived our hosts Richard and Carman were on hand to greet us and make sure we were comfortable in our rooms.
Richard was a fountain of information insuring that we were aware of all the great dining places to visit and the interesting places to see while in Guanajuato.
The breakfasts that were prepared by Carman and her assistances were very memorable as I have never had gourmet Mexican food previously. After breakfast was completed Richard was on hand to give you information on any of the sites you wished to visit and would assist in getting you transportation to the site if needed. One morning Richard gave us a walking tour of Guanajuato's underground. Richard is very knowledgeable about the City's history and is willing to share it.
Our stay is very memorable and I would only stay at Casa Zuniga when visiting again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willowbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

the village is pretty small. just a few streets for cars. makes walking a must if you live here. one of the many up-sides of walking is that you get to know all the nooks and crannies of guanajuato. we are always more that happy to pass on any information that may help make your stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Although located up on the Panoramica, this B&B has offers the convenience of being in the city as it is only steps away from the funicular that ends up right behind Teatro Juarez. The rooms have beautiful views of the town so it can be very enjoyable to spend time just enjoying the scenery. A good breakfast is included each day at 9am. The rooms are simple but attractive and very spacious.

Note: Googlemaps could not provide accurate driving directions. The B&B website notes the location next to plaza Pipila but none of the locals recognize such a plaza. It is relatively easy to access by taking the Panoramica to the Monument El Pipila and parking in the pay lot nearby. Rick has arranged a discounted rate that comes out to about $9US per day. If you are having trouble just stop and call Rick to avoid wasting a lot of time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpayne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

driving in from san miguel de allende, you will be on hwy110 once you are in the village.. monumento pipila plaza is on the panoramica road 70 meters above the center of the village. the panoramica road runs into hwy110.

unlike SMA. less than 2% of guanajuato's homes are accessible by auto. this makes walking a must in the village. to reach our home, you must walk exactly 50 steps down from the monument plaza. our home is just like guanajuato. built on the side of the ravine with steps inside just like guanajuato. this may prove to be too much for some.

we don't have a high thread count, fancy dishes, formal setting. this is just our poor home. live here full time. however, everyday is like a sunday breakfast with friends and/or family that came to visit for the week end. you know, some watching the game, some talking, others wondering round the house. for that reason, we don't pack the rooms with stuff. we want you to come outside mingle and explore. we treat every one of our guest the same. however, this only works for about 90% of the guests that stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I took my girlfriend here for a surprise birthday vacation.after reading many reviews here on tripadvisor and other site everything lives up to your expectations to a helpful unque and beatiful B&B. The rooms are comfortable, unique with an excelent view of guanajuato view that doesn't dissapoint a novie photographer like myself. With the feel of a traditonal mexican hotel but the comfort of being in a hospitable mexican family. Your close to all attractions and if your up for the climb then you really can enjoy all of Guanajuato from here. I plan to come back that's a promise. Thanks to Frank and his lovely wife for welcoming us with delicous food and service. if your considering any other place please take my recomendation and come here first. We stayed in the renee max room just beautiful. Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chribidough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

that is what we shoot for, the best bang for your buck. our place worked out for this guest. happy with what we had to offer. that makes things go right and only get better. you get a big bed or two, each bedroom has a private bath en-suite, private entrance, wifi, view from your bedroom or just outside the bedroom from a patio, pass to use the funicular free, a discount on parking, big breakfast, run of the house, etc. you can use the laundry area, kitchen area, etc. nothing fancy or worth hanging round the house for. you're in guanajuato, we want to be your base camp for exploring this wonderful village. in today's market a stay with us comes in at about thirty seven bucks give or take per person. most of our guests are happy with their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night a couple of weeks ago and our only regret was that we couldn't stay much longer. Rick and Carmen are wonderful. Rick is American born and totally passionate about his adopted country. He happily shares his extensive knowledge of the history and culture of the area. He has organized a project to protect and improve the water supply of the town. The B & B is super-comfortable, clean and relaxed, with incredible views of the city if you have a room that faces the valley. Guanajuato is a dynamic university town that is not over-run by tourists. I began planning our return within an hour of our arrival and we will definitely stay at Casa Zuniga.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

they arrived with a smile. few creature comforts and even less streets accessible by auto didn't slow them down one bit. they seemed to acclimate and blend right in with the rest of the village right from the get go. instead of just vising the village for a day, they accepted us as we are and lived with us for a day as one of the residents of our little barrio. no complaints about all the singing/music, children laughing/playing in the callejones and neighbors going about there daily activity, etc. they took advantage of really seeing guanajuato as it really is as opposed to a staged setting. we are just one big family here in the village of guanajuato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Throughout my travels I have stayed in a variety of accommodation levels from budget to luxurious 5 stars and even one and only 6 stars hotel in the World.
Casa Zuniga imponed me from logical setting where everything makes sense and everything has it's own place and everybody knows their own responsibilities to extraordinary genuine human touch where protecting a guest'srights and working towards guest's benefit is a priority.
So what if there is a project going on ?
Who comes to UNESCO destination to occupy a hotel room and complain about life imposed sensible local situation?
After all you didn't book Burj Arab so some common sense should knock your door.......
Food- excellent
Cleanness - sparkling
Amenities - great
PR and Service - one of the kind
Setting- Romance screaming !!
Value - You already Rockefeller :))
I will always recommend this fantastic, charming B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

thank you for taking time to write such a kind review. we are just a small mom and pop bed and breakfast. just a two star lodging. nothing fancy. more like a base camp from where you can explore this wonderful village and mix in with the rest of us that are lucky enough to live here. this is our home and it;s a delight when we are visited by such a nice guest. arriving with enthusiasm and curiosity to get to know the village and most importantly the vitality and youthfulness to get out there and explore. hopefully we will see you when you visit your poor home in guanajuato again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Won't regurgitate what other reviewers have stated -- Rick and Carmen are definitely friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the Xavo Mazalt room (two bedrooms) with comfortable king sized beds sharing a bathroom. The rooms are super clean and efficient. The shower is a little funky with limited water pressure. If you have a car, you will pay $90 pesos per day to park.

The place is a great location -- you ride the funicular down smack dab to the heart of GTO. You can't ask for a better location. Breakfast was outstanding.

I would give 4 to 5 stars, however, there is a fairly major project going on here being managed by RIck on the top level and down on the side of the home to add more rooms or a new water system. From 9 to 5 pm (approx.) there will be fairly extensive banging and ongoing work. Little chance of going back up for a siesta after a morning of exploring. Would have been nice to have known -- might have stayed at a place w/o construction. Nevertheless, It is pretty quiet though during the night. If you're willing to put up w/ the construction, this is a very fair value at $1000 pesos/night.

I can't imagine a place in GTO with better views than CZ.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

it's just a fact of life here in guanajuato. we are on water rationing. the days that the water department turns on the water later than scheduled, the neighbors come to our home for water. we are the only home in the neighborhood with a covered in-ground water storage, purification, filtration, water softening system. some mornings, there can be a line of neighbors that have come for hot water from our water heaters. they just need 2 to 4 gallons of hot water. so that they can change the baby's diaper and wash the baby with warm water, the father can shave with hot water, the kids can wash up for breakfast with warm water, etc. our neighbors come for water because they know that we will share our water with them to the last drop and then figure out how to get more. unfortunately, giving water to the neighborhood does lower the water pressure for the house. however, to tell our neighbors that are bathing out of a bucket not to take water until after our guests finish their showers because it lowers the water pressure, is way too ugly american for us.

we have six streets in the village for cars and 3,615 named callajones for foot traffic only. so almost 100% of the homes in the village can not be reached by auto. so there is no way for parking at the property. parking in the village starts at about 360 pesos per day or more. we have an agreement with the owner of the public parking lot just above the house off the panoramica road. the owner gives our guests a 75% discount on parking. that's about the best that i can do.

we are next to the most visited site in guanajuato, monumento pipila. as a result of all this foot traffic, a lot of food trash ends up on the callejon. this attracts stray dogs and in the end we have lots of germs that the little children pick up playing in front of their homes. normally we would wash the callejones with a broom and bleach but we have no water to spare.

the village fathers are turning over to us an antique pozo (open, in ground water storage) going back to the 1700`s. since our home is the closest above the pozo and since we have the largest surface area for collecting water for the pozo, the neighbors are donating their time before/after work and their days off to work on constructing the water collection system. when this guest returned in the morning, the neighborhood had no idea that he had returned to take a nap. once that was know, the neighborhood stopped working on their water system until the guest had finished his morning nap.

in the long run, water to disinfect the callejones will be better for everyone. the more we can wash down the callejones with bleach, the less dog poop for visitors/guests to step on. more importantly, less germs to get tracked into the homes and onto the hands of the little neighborhood kids. if the price is bad press to make this happen, so be it.

i explained what we were doing to this guest, however, it seemed to be of little interest to him. we were hoping that a room rate of just 37 dollars and fifty cents would off-set the inconvenience to him of the neighborhood water project but apparently not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed with Rick and Carmen and we loved it. They are exceptional people with an exceptional home. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to everyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

thank you:) makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: £57 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing