We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 72 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Zuniga prior to going to San Miguel and had a fantastic time. Great location with amazing views of the city and easy access to the Tram down into town. Two of the highlights were the authentic Mexican breakfasts and Ricks history and storytelling of the sites around Guanajuato. Make sure you ask him for a brief overview of the lovely murals and his art work depicting the history of the area. We will visit and stay at Casa Zuniga again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcstiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    35
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
328
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Location of this hotel is very close to El Pipila. So one gets amazing view of the beautiful Guanajuato. I was there for only one night. Rick Zuniga (the owner) gave us the free tickets to use the ropeway for going up & down to city center. Breakfast was very tasty. Would love to stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Piyush K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Guanajuato where we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Zuniga. I chose this B&B thanks to many positive comments on Trip Advisor. We had a bit of trouble finding the place, as our GPS doesn't understand that there are small pedestrian streets. It is at the top of the hill overlooking the city. At first I was disappointed that we weren't in the town. I was foolish, because the view from the top of the hill was incredible. There is a funicular ten feet from their doorway to transport you directly to the square. We used this to come up to the B&B, however, the walking path down to the town was wonderful. We have visited many places in Mexico, but I think Guanajuato is now my favourite. Our secure parking was paid for by Carmen and Rick and we were given a multiple use ticket for the funicular as well. They also paid for the porters to carry our luggage (on their shoulders) down the stairs to the B&B. Both Carmen and Rick were extremely knowledgeable and very interesting to listen to. The house has many wall murals, painted by Rick describing the history of Guanajuato. Breakfast was tremendous. We sat at the large dining room table and were served by Carmen and two lovely girls. The pool was 87 degrees but we were too busy sightseeing to take the time to enjoy this added treasure. The house is multi-levelled and is very interesting as well. We were with two other couples and all of our rooms were very large and very comfortable. We will definitely return. Suggestion, if you are driving- we had one of the tour guides (that flag you down as you enter the city) to help us find the B&B. We thought about paying a taxi to guide us, the tunnels are interesting but difficult to navigate.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Rick is a vey generous and welcoming host. He knows so much about the history of the area and he is happy to take the time to tell you about it. Rick's house is perched on a hill overlooking the old town. It can be easily reached in less than 5 minues on the funicular (an attraction itself - Rick provides passs for free during your stay) or for a 30 to 40 pesos taxi ride (only needed if you're out late). Our room had spectacular views of the old town and a large open plan living / bedroom / bathroom. Free wi-fi is provided but no TV (not that you will need one). All in all a very nice place to stay. He also has an amazing and very long brand new pool with great views.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IloCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Our home is open to the guests. Patios, pool, galleria, gym, laundry area, kitchen area and a television area. This is just our home and your home during your stay. However, like most homes, there are no televisions inside each of the bedrooms.

We do our best to give each guest their money's worth. we'll keep working at it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47sharigirl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here the first of Nov. for four nights. The view from our window looking down into the city was so amazing, ever changing, morning shadows, moon rise. Such a treat! Carmen's breakfasts were in a league by themselves--superb, unique, delicious! The fact that the funicular is right there to take you down into the heart of the city and back up is really a special feature of this place as well. Rick is a force of nature! He has a passion for the city, its history and people. Take his recommendations for a real understanding of the role of this city in the history of Mexico. We were so pleased!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 47sharigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It's wonderful when for us when guests accept our hospitality and fully enjoy their stay. This is just a home with guests living in it with us. We made the home for everyone that stays with us to enjoy. It's our luck that we have the view and the rail tram that can zip you to the heart of the village in just 90 seconds. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Carmen and Rick - the owners - virtually offer their very intricate and original home to be yours for the duration of your stay. Both constantly add and modify this multi-level building which includes a pool and terrific terraces with views of the charming historical city of Guanajuato. We were 3 and occupied a large 2-bedroom suite with vanity separate from the shower and toilet. ...and what a sumptuous breakfast! ...and different every day! The location is unparalled. Only steps up to the monument 'Pipila' on top of the hill and steps down to the funicular for which the B & B owners offer free tickets. A place and owners you will cherish for a long time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Borisrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for such a nice review letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want our guests to make themselves at home. Just relax and enjoy their stay. If there is anything that you need, just ask. This home is made with our guests in mind. It's great when guest accept our hospitality and make themselves at home. Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We spent 5 days in Guanajuato and chose Casa Zuniga because of all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled we did! Perched on the top of the hill just steps away from the funicular that takes you right down to the square with a pass card provided by the owner, the bird's eye views from just about everywhere in Casa Zuniga are extraordinary. We had a picture window in our room that framed the view on the opposite hillside perfectly. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Rick is incredibly creative, and we loved admiring all the metal sculptures, objets d'arts, panels etc. that he and his helpers have fashioned out of metal scraps in various corners of this spacious casa. Carmen and her kitchen helpers produced, each morning, a sumptuous breakfast of several courses that changed each day. We enjoyed the company of fellow guests at the breakfast table and found the entire experience to be very warm and inviting. We hope to return to Guanajuato, a very vibrant and interesting city, and will not hesitate to return to Casa Zuniga. Hopefully, when we do, the plan to perch a metal spaceship on the roof will have been realized!! Thank you Rick and Carmen for being such friendly and gracious hosts who helped make our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
We read/translate all the the reviews and thank you letters to the staff. It makes such a big difference. They see over and over that they are very big part of making a excellent stay and it motivates them to do even more. Together we all want to thank you for taking the time to put smiles on faces all around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#7 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing