We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Rick and Carmen”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 78 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our second stay at Casa Zuniga. Everything we loved about it two years ago is still evident--spotless, stunning views, great breakfasts, and wonderful hosts. Rick and Carmen have now added a long lap pool, more rooms, and more art. But what continues to make Casa Zuniga special are Rick and Carmen, who are gracious, thoughtful, "real" people. As an example of how they go above and beyond, Rick got up in the wee hours to fix a take-away breakfast bag for family members who had an early morning flight from BJX. Rick's commitment to the people of the neighborhood and of Guanajuato, and the way he interacts both with staff and with guests, are delightful. If he's offering it, don't miss his guided tour of the mine and church. Thanks again, Rick and Carmen!

Room Tip: The balconies that come with the Morgan and Mexcito rooms provide amazing views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debhikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Casa Zuniga B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Casa Zuniga is a special place created by a remarkable individual, Rick Zuniga. High on the hillside but only a short distance from the Jardin (main square), Casa Zuniga offers stunning views and a great base to explore Guanajuato. But what really makes Casa Zuniga special is Rick. His knowledge of the area and its rich history along with his enthusiasm contributed more to our stay than we expected. Thank you Rick!

Rick’s house is very large and it is easy to get lost in but it is also easy to turn a corner and be impressed by one of Rick’s murals or sculptures from found objects. And don’t forget to check out the roof! Rick, his wife Carmen, and staff are all gracious and make you feel welcome in their home. The rooms are basic in their decorations but the location and views tend to make up for it. And Rick’s enthusiasm and willingness to share information and take you on tours to the churches, mines, etc are incredible. If you are look for quaint, colonial-style accommodation, this may not be for you but if you are looking for clean, efficient rooms in a fantastic location with wonderful breakfasts and a great host who will give you an unique experience, this is your place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2peaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Zuniga prior to going to San Miguel and had a fantastic time. Great location with amazing views of the city and easy access to the Tram down into town. Two of the highlights were the authentic Mexican breakfasts and Ricks history and storytelling of the sites around Guanajuato. Make sure you ask him for a brief overview of the lovely murals and his art work depicting the history of the area. We will visit and stay at Casa Zuniga again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcstiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Location of this hotel is very close to El Pipila. So one gets amazing view of the beautiful Guanajuato. I was there for only one night. Rick Zuniga (the owner) gave us the free tickets to use the ropeway for going up & down to city center. Breakfast was very tasty. Would love to stay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Piyush K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Guanajuato where we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Zuniga. I chose this B&B thanks to many positive comments on Trip Advisor. We had a bit of trouble finding the place, as our GPS doesn't understand that there are small pedestrian streets. It is at the top of the hill overlooking the city. At first I was disappointed that we weren't in the town. I was foolish, because the view from the top of the hill was incredible. There is a funicular ten feet from their doorway to transport you directly to the square. We used this to come up to the B&B, however, the walking path down to the town was wonderful. We have visited many places in Mexico, but I think Guanajuato is now my favourite. Our secure parking was paid for by Carmen and Rick and we were given a multiple use ticket for the funicular as well. They also paid for the porters to carry our luggage (on their shoulders) down the stairs to the B&B. Both Carmen and Rick were extremely knowledgeable and very interesting to listen to. The house has many wall murals, painted by Rick describing the history of Guanajuato. Breakfast was tremendous. We sat at the large dining room table and were served by Carmen and two lovely girls. The pool was 87 degrees but we were too busy sightseeing to take the time to enjoy this added treasure. The house is multi-levelled and is very interesting as well. We were with two other couples and all of our rooms were very large and very comfortable. We will definitely return. Suggestion, if you are driving- we had one of the tour guides (that flag you down as you enter the city) to help us find the B&B. We thought about paying a taxi to guide us, the tunnels are interesting but difficult to navigate.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Rick is a vey generous and welcoming host. He knows so much about the history of the area and he is happy to take the time to tell you about it. Rick's house is perched on a hill overlooking the old town. It can be easily reached in less than 5 minues on the funicular (an attraction itself - Rick provides passs for free during your stay) or for a 30 to 40 pesos taxi ride (only needed if you're out late). Our room had spectacular views of the old town and a large open plan living / bedroom / bathroom. Free wi-fi is provided but no TV (not that you will need one). All in all a very nice place to stay. He also has an amazing and very long brand new pool with great views.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IloCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Our home is open to the guests. Patios, pool, galleria, gym, laundry area, kitchen area and a television area. This is just our home and your home during your stay. However, like most homes, there are no televisions inside each of the bedrooms.

We do our best to give each guest their money's worth. we'll keep working at it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here the first of Nov. for four nights. The view from our window looking down into the city was so amazing, ever changing, morning shadows, moon rise. Such a treat! Carmen's breakfasts were in a league by themselves--superb, unique, delicious! The fact that the funicular is right there to take you down into the heart of the city and back up is really a special feature of this place as well. Rick is a force of nature! He has a passion for the city, its history and people. Take his recommendations for a real understanding of the role of this city in the history of Mexico. We were so pleased!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 47sharigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It's wonderful when for us when guests accept our hospitality and fully enjoy their stay. This is just a home with guests living in it with us. We made the home for everyone that stays with us to enjoy. It's our luck that we have the view and the rail tram that can zip you to the heart of the village in just 90 seconds. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: £56 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing