We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to experience Mexico”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Best way to experience Mexico”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you want to experience Mexico, go to Guanajuato; staying at Casa Zuniga makes that experience pleasant, relaxed, safe and fun. Enjoy the experience of sitting on a balcony overlooking the city after of full day of walking thru the city. Casa Zuniga has the amenities; a great breakfast, conversation with people from everywhere, free multiple tickets on the cable cars and friendly hosts (Rick and Carmen) who go out of their way to make your visit memorable.

Before you go, read about the history of the area and learn a few words of Spanish (and use them). Remember, you are in Mexico and staying in an area surrounded by roosters, barking dogs, fireworks, and men announcing gas and water. But you also hear kids playing, laughter, and neighbors talking and greeting you (if you use you few words of Spanish) on the street.

Now, If you want to go to Mexico and expect to experience America, stay instead in the Americanized colony of San Miguel de Allende or Guadalajara. There you can be surrounded by other Americans who have lived there for years and who still refuse to learn spanish and expect Mexico and Mexicans to cater to their American standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you. You told me you would do it and you did it. A true man of his word. Gracias! BTW, gracias is one of the words that I have learned. So far It really comes in handy over and over again each day.
Casa Zuniga is in the Centro Historico of Guanajuato. On our one street you have the old mansions of the silver barons. Surrounding these mansions you have homes carved into the side of the ravine that is Guanajuato. Casa Zuniga shares the side of this ravine with the neighbors and their farm animals. We still have farm animals in the center of the town, the Centro Historico. We are seriously deep in old Mexico here and it's great!!!.

Again, Gracias for the review, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    36
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
333
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Most people might think that Guanajuato might be the last place to go to four weeks after hip surgery because of all the hills and steps, but I needed a break and Casa Zuniga was beckoning. It worked out well. Casa Zuniga is vast. Their exercise room had some serious machines that I needed for my rehab. Then there was the pool. I wasn't too mobile which meant that I spent most of my time at Casa Zuniga. Never seemed to get in anyone's way. The guests from all over the world made for interesting conversation at breakfast. The food was (as usual) great. I was able to take in a few activities in town after a while. The funicular just outside the front door made getting to the center of town easy - even for me.. I left in 2 weeks with my batteries charged, my body rested but also strengthened, my spirits raised, and my hip in much better shape. Thanks to everyone, particularly Carmen and Rick.

Room Tip: All rooms are large Some have patios, however most people are not like me on this visit and spent m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Gracias for whipping this review out so quickly. As you know, reviews are what keep us on the map. Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our visit to Guanajuato we spent two nights at Casa Zuniga, a charming B&B nestled on a hill overlooking the town. Casa Zuniga is only a very short cable car ride away from the historical center, the cable car is located next door to the B&B and Casa Zuniga will provide you with free tickets.
Parking is nearby and the parking cost will be paid by Casa Zuniga.
Our room was specious and sparkling clean with a beautiful view overlooking Guanajuato, the shower is simply the best with plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure.
Our room (Renee-Max) had two large king size beds, very comfortable.
Breakfast was a delight, every day a new dish was served in addition to the regular spread and is served at 9 am.
The owners are a wealth of information; Rick is a historian and a joy to talk to, the staff is friendly and helpful.

If this is your first visit to Guanajuato by car as it was ours, you might find driving in town a challenge. Guanajuato has many tunnels crisscrossing underneath the town and can be confusing. Also finding the B&B is difficult because it is not located on a street. We hired one of the many guides around town to take us there ( Ask the guide to take you to "Monumento Pipila") the B&B is next to it. This was money well spent!
We enjoyed Guanajuato very much and plan to return for a longer visit, when we do we will definitely stay at Casa Zuniga again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you. It is so considerate and thoughtful of you to write this nice review. As you said. the easiest way find us is to go to Monumento del Pipila and look for the Casa Zuniga-Funicular sign. You can see the house from the sign. It's the one with the private landing pad on the roof.
Again, thank you very much for the review. Reviews help keep us visible.
See you on the next trip, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Dear Carmen and Rick,
We loved staying at your amazing, artistic house. The views of magical Guanauato are spectacular. It was wonderful to zip down to the Jardin on the funicular & thanks too for the tickets to ride. I loved that you were so eager to find a kettle to make proper tea. Thanks for researching and discovering that making tea is important to English & Canadians.

Our time in Guanauato was too short, being only for 2 days. We were following the drivers of the Carerra Panamericana race and when planning the trip had not realized that this town would be so interesting. There are lovely little museums, it is an easy town to walk around. Rick was quite right about the Mummy museum being rather not too exciting. The post office in the town is terrific, I still send old fashioned postcards with lovely stamps so that was a pleasure for me too. We enjoyed a diner style meal at Ofelia. The food was tasty and the restaurant colourful. We did not have time to go out to the best restaurant in the town, Las Mercedes, but will do so on a return visit.

We did not hire a car in Mexico as in the small towns it can be a nuisance. Rick arranged for a driver to come to Queretaro to drive us to Guanauato. We took the Primera Plus bus back to Mexico City, it was a good service and very inexpensive. I have learned to take the bus, hooray.

Thanks again Rick & Carmen, you two are fantastic hosts.
All the best, Linda & Andrew

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
HI guys:)) Thank you so much for your nice review. The next time you are in town, maybe you'll have time for a waling tour.
Take care and see you in the future,
rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The place is location perfect, right above the main plaza, and
Next to funicular , we even got ride tickets for the funicular from the owner. The owner is a great guy, very helpful, service was great; the only problem we had was to get there, once you know the place is easy, but first timers might have a problem . We drove all over town before we found someone who knew what he was saying, I guess they should ad to directions "next to the pipila monument" , everyone in Guanajuato knows about the monument more that the are or street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustavor984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have Pipila information on our site. Unfortunately you were led to believe thata on-line travel agency's Casa Zuniga site was ours. Had you booked directly with us, we would have been able to provide information, directions or arrange a airport pick-up. When you search Casa Zuniga, page after page of travel agency ads come up with Casa Zuniga in the wording. If the site does not have casazunigagto, it's not our site so the operator is just working off a property information sheet. Without knowing Guanajuato, there is little chance that the operator taking your reservation would be of any help with directions, information or a airport pick-up. Also, should they be advertizing discounts, also not true, None of the travel agencies can give a lower rate than the owner.
It's too bad that you drove around in circles for hours on end. Driving into Guanajuato without first knowing where you are going will most likely get you in trouble just like that. GPS does not work in Guanajuato. For you information, The Centro Historico where Casa Zuniga is located has 25 one way tunnels criss-crossing under the village. Six one way surface streets. The main street into town is a covered riverbed, one way. There are 3,615 named pedestrian pathways.running between the homes and other buildings and an estimated 14-16 thousand un-named pathways.
Next time you book a reservation, you might ask your self what would be better, booking directly with the owner who will have the best room rate and knows about the place or a operator working for a on-line travel agency. the difference is huge.
rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collioure66190
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You can't go wrong here! The previous reviews cover most aspects of staying here. Great hosts, charming and helpful staff, fine communal breakfast where you easily fall into conversation with fellow travelers, huge bedroom with good facilities (don't look for the TV- there isn't one) and a view over Guanajuato that amazes and enthralls at all hours. Check out the (solar heated) lap pool: we forgot out swimmers but were assured it was wonderfully warm by fellow travellers.
We were there last week at the beginning of the Festival Cervantino and just had a wonderful time with events, atmosphere and interaction with other international travellers. Rick recommended a great but simple Indian cum Mexican restaurant and a local bus ride up to the dam at the edge of town. Add in the short but fun trips up and down the funicular (located practically at Casa Zuniga's front door one end, and in the centre of town, at the other) the visit couldn't have been better. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are lucky to have the Funicular so handy. Just one in all of Mexico and it's right next to the house. Thank you again, you were charming guests. Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were contacted in advance by Rick (owner) to secure a driver from the airport. Israel turned out to be a guide as well- speaks very good English . Owner Rick also contacted us to ask for special needs.
Hosts Rick and Carmen were great- Rick gave us a quick guided tour on foot of the historic center and was full of great information. Carmen with her helpers prepared delicious breakfasts- best food we had during our 12 days in Mexico!
Rooms were spacious and beds comfy- great balcony views of the city.
I highly recommend Casa Zuniga- you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: balcony rooms looking over city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeR012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review, We did what we could to make your Guanajuato visit a memorable one. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you agin for helping us with your review.
See you the next time you visit Guanajuato. Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing