We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet home!”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet home!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is not a hotel at all - it's a home in Guanajuato! Rick is such an amazing guy - warm hearted, considerate and very knowledgable! He puts his heart to this casa and makes everyone feel at home! Great view from mountain top! Don't worry about transportation - it's just one minute ride down to the centro and Rick gave you multiple tickets coupon upon arrival! Will never regret living here! I will definitely recommend to my friends! ActuLly I booked here because my classmate recommended to me as we'll!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Z_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We really appreciate this review, it being this guest's first. We were recommended and didn't want to let him down. Again, Muchas Gracias. Glad you had a good star to your Mexico vacation. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    36
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
333
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Than having a beautiful pool waiting for you after a day of exploring beautiful Guanajuato? The answer: nothing could be better. Visited Casa Zuniga for the second time and loved in this order: Rick and Carmen, the view, the breakfast (wonderful each morning,) all the wonderful art throughout (especially Rick's wonderful sculptures,) the pool, our room. Our room was the Maxito and was spacious, clean, nicely furnished, with a small balcony, and with a 270 degree view of Guanajuato, the city of sounds and color. Speaking of the city, we used Casa Zuniga's recommended driver and tour guide, Israel Torres for an airport pick up and tours of the surrounding area. He was personable, speaks English well, knows his stuff and is on time, and his pricing is reasonable.
Summing it up, this is all that you would want in a B & B. As an advisory there are lots of stairs to negotiate so let Rick and Carmen know BEFORE you reserve your room if you have limitations.

Room Tip: Loved the Maxito with it's balcony, but new friends stayed in the Trini which is cozy and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinHomebodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for this review. Guests become friends and return. It doesn't get much better than this. It's great to have them over and see them enjoying themselves by the pool. . Thank you for coming to visit us again. Hope we see you again. A little sooner next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Casa Zuniga was fantastic; great location, tasty breakfast, interesting clientele. If I was forced to complain about something, the bed was really hard. But I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Maxcito room was spacious with great view of the city below from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Muchas Gracias for your review. Sorry that the mattress was too hard for you. All of our bedrooms have a King Size Sealy Spring Air mattress. Seems to be fine for the majority of the guests. However, this is the 3rd person in six and a half years that felt the Sealy mattress was too hard. One of the three guests, traveled with their own foam pad that they used over the mattress. We'll need to keep a look-out for quality foam pads just in case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Casa Zuniga is a real gem! The view is breathtaking especially in the evening. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well appointed. The common areas are well maintained and filled with absolutely unique artworks. Relaxing in and around the pool is a great way to recover after walking around Guanajuato all morning. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. They recommended THE BEST driver, Israel, for a trip outside of Guanajuato. Oh yeah, and breakfast is way too delicious to miss!!!

Room Tip: The Morgan room has a great view with a balcony and the Margarita with windows on 3 sides is a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJMcginnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. You put in a lot of travel time on the road. Very happy to hear that our driver worked out for you. Hope to see you again. Again, thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

If I have a chance to visit GTO again, I will stay at Casa Zuniga. Beautiful B&B, comfy and clean room, amazing view, delicious breakfast. You also need to use Casa Zuniga's driver, Israel, for transportation and guided tours. He and Rick made our trip to GTO memorable and extra special!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Isis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. A thank you note and a beautiful smile. Can't ask for more than that. Makes having a B&B a wonderful way of living. So glad our driver worked out for you. Everyone here at Casa Zuniga does their best. Hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were referred to Casa Zuniga by friends -- and absolutely loved it. Imagine a home of your eclectic, unusual, artsy friend - blended with a hotel, and you got Casa Zuniga. Rick and Carmen are masters at creating a warm friendly atmosphere -- the rooms are spacious and large, very tastefully decorated (I couldn't stop snapping photos of the decor as well as the breathtaking view outside!), the home-made breakfast cooked by Carmen and her helpers is delightful, and Rick is a master communicator -- he kept sending me personalized notes ever since they confirmed our reservation, always referring to Casa Zuniga as "your home" -- and I truly felt it, it was our home away from home. Everyone has already mentioned all the other pros: proximity to El Pipila and the funicular, the ticket for the funicular provided free of charge, the parking lot near El Pipila and the hotel and the fact that the parking is included with your hotel stay... This is simply the most perfect place to stay, and I will happily recommend it and its owners. Thank you so much, Rick and Carmen!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony -- you'll have your own amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukigirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review for us. All the staff thanks you! We do what ever we can do to make your stay comfy. We really want you to make yourself at home and enjoy what we have to offer. Thank you again for your stay and hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our second time at Casa Zuniga and it's even more amazing! To be there is a trip on it's own, this place is as eclectic as it's owner. Welcome to 'Mundo Rick', this guy is talented and eccentric and what he has built needs to be seen. Since our last visit he has created an art gallery of metal work and sculpture. Soon it will be added to the sights of GTO or if not it should be.
You will be comfortable there, the rooms are super, good beds and all the amenities. There is a pool and patio as a new addition and the pool is WARM! It might be the only outdoor pool in town that is warm.
Then there is Carmen and her helpers. They quietly keep the house immaculate (think sheets and towels on the line) and prepare you the most amazing breakfast! It's got it all; good coffee, fresh fruit, eggs, Mexican dishes and desert! If you have amazing luck you will be there for the enchiladas with the cilantro salsa verde...it left 4 of us speechless, we just let that flavor hang in our mouths. And cinnamon buns too.
Rick and Carmen, you make me smile.....

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view...I forgot to mention the VIEW! Also, Guanajuato is all about stairs, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so very much for this review. Over one forth our guest are returning guests. They already got comfortable in their home. They've just been away for a while. Returning guests are a big plus. They make the new guest get comfy in their home that much sooner. You were all great guests. Thank you for your stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing