We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is really a fantastic place. It's right next to the funicular with a great view over the city. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the breakfast was one of the best we had during our stay in Mexico. Can really recommend this place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Muchas Gracias for taking the time to write your review. Carmen and her kitchen crew work hard at putting together the best breakfast that they can. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed it. The Xavo Mazalt bedroom worked out the way we planned it. This bedroom was designed for a family. Everyone together but with the private sleeping areas. Camen and her housekeeping staff have 10 bedrooms, 2 kitchens, 3 dinning areas, family room, living room, gallery and patios that they work at keeping clean. Carmen and her workers are happy to hear that their work makes a difference. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    36
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
333
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, PA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

i visited yesterday just to stop in (couldn't stay the night) with a friend, just to see Rick and hoped to get a quick tour of this marvelous B&B. Instead, he gave us an hour of his precious time, showing us around, explaining the details of his amazing murals and art work and in wonderful detail, the entire history of the mines of the region and the history of Mexico and the battle for Independence. He is a truly gifted story teller and teacher, and we were captivated by his grasp of facts, sense of humor, and overwhelmed by his generosity. I hadn't seen him for 4 years, and he remembered me. It was a highlight of the entire day to show my friend his beautiful B&B and to have the gift of his time and energy. Casa Zuniga has everything: incredible view from 'way above the city, amazing beauty, a great breakfast, and the extra gift of Rick. He is famous in the area for his generosity and for helping others, also. Someone should make a documentary about Rick. This is a place not to be missed if you spend the night in Guanajuato. I will stay there every time I spend the night in Gto. But don't worry, he will not bend your ear if you are not interested. A+++ and many thanks, Rick!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Muchas Gracias. You are an easy person to remember.
Carmen and rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at Casa Zuniga mid May and chose my accommodation based on Tripadviser reviews - I wasn't disappointed. Wow! What can I say that hasn't already been covered with rave reviews? I suppose I could talk about the experience through the eyes on a female, solo traveller (who does not speak a word of Spanish!). I spent a week in the Trini room. It was extremely comfortable, clean and safe. Fresh water is on hand and, yes, the breakfasts are magnificent (cinnamon rolls Yum!). Rick greets you at the door and instantly makes you feel at home. He speaks English so there is no problem with the language barrier. As well as being a complete character, he is a wealth of knowledge on Guanajuato and its history. His passion for the area is evident in his enthusiasm and hand-made displays throughout the house. Nothing is a problem. The pool is heated and is a nice way to finish the afternoon, soaking up the sun's warmth before heading down town for dinner. The Funicular is a stone's throw away from the door or you can take the stairs. Both easy and safe! As for Guanajuato itself - a step back in time. A hidden treasure! Photos do not do it justice. A city rich in history, culture, theatrics and presentation. Warm in climate and especially in hospitality. I would return in an instant

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Hola Leisa M, jackpot... we're the lucky ones. The quintessential solo female traveler. The Trini bedroom is just off the dinning room and kitchen. The first room that we built. The Trini bedroom with it's small patio was our entire home during the rest of the construction. Most of the guests that stay in this bedroom have closer contact with us and the staff. Makes you feel more at home. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and you know where your home is in Guanajuato.
Carmen and rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thanks first of all to Tripadvisor as I booked this directly from recommendations found on this site. We loved loved loved this B&B. Just as everyone has said: Rick and Carmen have created a beautiful home and welcoming clean environment for travelers. The breakfasts were amazing. I have never had guacamole as good as we had at breakfast every morning. Make sure you really connect with Rick and get as much information about his home and about Guanajuato before going out on your own. Had we talked with Rick at much length earlier in our stay we would have done a few things differently. He is very knowledgeable and exudes energy and love for his country. I felt very safe staying at this inn and also within the city of Guanajuato. Big traveler hint: if you are interested in going to the mummy museum, TAKE THE BUS or a taxi. We walked and it is just a constant incline. We were exhausted by the time we got there. Also, apparently there is a mausoleum attached which we later learned was very interesting but since we don't speak the language we must have missed that tidbit from the tour which is in Spanish. We will go back to the treasure Guanajuato and we will go back to the treasure Casa Zuniga!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maxcito room which is very spacious, has a king size bed and a balcony with an amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywhitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Muchas Gracias. We want you to enjoy Guanajuato. Coming home to a comfy place to rest is part of it. We lucked out on location. Walking down full blast, no running, from the front door to the main street is less than 3 minutes and coming up as fast as you can is just over 3 minutes (not counting a couple of days to recuperate). However, the Funicular is right next door if you want to go that route. We even have a short cut to our top entrance from the Funicular. Just two meters away. We cut a deal with the Funicular guys and pass that on the guests that ride free. Guanajuato is just one big family and you get that feeling if you just accept our hospitality.
Carmen and rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Zuniga! We had a little trouble finding the place (in our rental cars), but once we were there everything was perfect. Rick covered the cost of Funicular rides down to the city and parking in the lot up the hill from the Casa. Lots of stairs, terrific views and the best breakfast we have had! Visit Clave Azul for a drink or two (free food if you have two drinks, and the margaritas are great!).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoJo535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuanajuatoRick, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. we do what we can to make your stay excellent. The girls really appreciate complements about their breakfast. They said "Muchas Gracias".
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Rick and Carmen have been absolutely wonderful. The BB is immaculate, the rooms beautiful, the bed comfortable and the views stunning. An added bonus is the incredible metal work and sculptures created by Rick and his talented craftsman. Feels like home and the breakfast are muy excellent. Two thumbs up for sure.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Maxito room and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Muchas Gracias for writing your review. It really makes us happy when you say that you enjoyed your stay. Your review is just like your thank you card. You were a delight. We hope that you return one day. Carmen & Rick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We highly recommend this wonderful B&B! A truly magical place with spectacular views....wonderful staff and charming owners, Rick & Carmine!! Rick built this multilevel casa with so many details in making this place an amazing B&B to stay at! Our breakfast was actually the best we have had in any other B&B that we have stayed in, ever!! Rick is a metal artist and has adorned his place with so many unique pieces of art & murals! He even built a very long and wide lap pool that is pleasantly solar heated to enjoy at the end of the day to relax in after much walking and climbing stairs and seeing the wonderful sites!!
Rick is so knowledgeable of the history there and gave us so much information! Thanks Rick!!
Guanajuato is a town full of culture, museums,art, music,theaters, Cathedrals, Mines and many, many tunnels that make this place incredible!!!
Many thanks to Rick & Carmine and those absolutely wonderful women in the kitchen that cooked for us!!! We will definitely be back and tell all our friend's in Ajijic, Mx. about Casa Zuniga!!!! :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Morgan Room"! I think they are all pretty unique though, all 10 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Muchas Gracias! Read the review to the girls and they got a big kick out of it. It's like giving them a thank you card. We are luck to have our little B&B in Guanajuato. It's a Mexican destination. Guanajuato being so compact makes it like one big theme park where you walk around to see the sights. The changes and events that took place here in Guanajuato made changes world wide. History was written here in Guanajuato. Well now that you guys know where we're at, we should be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing