We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Splendid Thanksgiving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Capellina

La Capellina
Ranked #15 of 230 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Splendid Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We spent Thanksgiving week in Guanajuato and after scouting restaurants (and trying many) selected La Capellina for our afternoon T-Day treat. And it was just that - my wife had a very flavorful salmon filet and I had the local specialty, enchildas mineras. Both were artfully plated and were delicious. Service was good, and we enjoyed the outdoor, street seating..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chasmo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    100
    38
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Pretty on the outside without the food to back it up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I was really disappointed. This place has a great location - just a few steps from Teatro Juarez - and wonderful decor that screams upscale. But the food was disappointing. I asked for their more popular starters - the grilled portabello mushroom on polenta, and the shrimp tacos in chipotle sauce - and their most popular mains - the filet duo and the grilled tuna - and among the four, the most interesting was the grilled mushroom with polenta. I was really disappointed given the staff tried their best, but in the end, the restaurant was just a shell - beautiful and great location, but no substance to back it up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“Good alternative in Guanajuato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I went to this restaurant last weekend on Dec 25th, 2012. It was an excellent option with fresh food and nice service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Much better than the Jardin restaurants and very close.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We ate here twice once inside and once outside. Great salads! Arrachera steak was excellent. Great presentations, the dish with the mariscos is a sight to behold and delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DRPLDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tlaquepaque, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good dishes, but be careful with the tip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had an issue with the tip. We were a group of 8 people, the waiter wanted more than 10%, and he stopped us to discuss the matter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capellina also viewed

 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Capellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing