We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of Elegance!”
Review of Condesa Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Condesa Haus
Ranked #8 of 151 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Touch of Elegance!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here late Dec 2013 to early Jan 2014 for four nights. It was our first trip to Mex City. The high ranking of Condesa Haus made it an obvious choice for us.
In terms of location, it turned out to be perfect for the way we like to travel. We tend to leave the hotel early and sight-see all day... so it was great to come 'home' to a really cool and elegant area like Condesa. The neighbourhood is full of all kinds of cafes and restaurants and it is very pleasant to walk around.
As for using the Metro, Juanacatlan is about 20 minutes walk away. American friends warned us it wouldn't be safe etc, but we didn't experience any issues at all. Like any large city, take the usual precautions. There is a taxi stand at Juanacatlan if you don't feel like walking back at the end of the day.
We tend to be walkers and discovered it was possible to stroll to Chapultepec Park and the Anthropological Museum. All in all, the Condesa district is a great place to be stay.
As for the B&B, we really liked it. The whole place exuded a wonderful art deco ambiance. The room we had was extremely spacious.
Having said that, to be fair to prospective visitors, you should note some rooms can only be accessed by stairs. Moreover, I don't know how typical our room was, but our shower was a kind of open arrangement which didn't allow any kind of privacy. No problem in our case, but if you are travelling with someone where modesty is an issue, then you might need to look into that aspect of things.
Breakfast included a cooked meal plus the usual cereals etc... the dining area was really lovely.
We asked the staff to arrange transport for us on three occasions... always done punctually and efficiently. Email contact was also handled promptly.
I would definitely stay here again if I ever visited Mexico City again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    49
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
148
52
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We just had one night at Condesa Haus and were really looking forward to the stay based on reviews. I'm afraid we just had an average experience - the room was small - bathroom tiny with no shelves to set anything. The shower looked wonderful with two shower heads - large and roomy but there was no hot water. I just dipped in and out - my husband tryed for about 15 minutes to get hot water but only managed a very slight luke warm.

The entry to Condesa Haus is unmarked - needed to ask a passerby on the street if we were in the right spot. The breakfast was good - with a buffet bar of cereal, fruit and yogurt plus a menu to order omletes and assorted egg dishes.

The common areas are nice with a sweeping stairway and some funny little interior balconies from the rooms. Our room had a rather odd "rock" wallpaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

A nice old house that was built in the 1940s. It's very hard to beat the location. The staff is very helpful and breakfast was included in our stay. My only complaint is the water in the shower was difficult to regulate in our room which was on the ground floor. The other rooms we rented were just fine. Luis, Martha and Mary did a amazing job taking care of us;-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank samasvestas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My favorite suite at Condesa Haus is the "mini-apartment" or Penthouse suite on the very top floor of the Condesa Haus buillding. This is great for people who say for a long time like me. There is a kitchen which is connected to the living room/dining room. The whole place gets great light, and has a nice view of the city. And the access to the terrace great when I want to smoke a cigar.

Dianiella is always there for anything I might need. Fernando and Allesando, the duenos, always go that "extra mile" during my visit. Many thanks again, I will be back soon!

Room Tip: The Penthouse is great for business travelers. You have to walk up 3 sets of stairs, it's great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVibeBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Can't say enough positive things about my four-night stay at Condesa Haus during the Thanksgiving weekend. The small hotel is located in the charming Condesa neighborhood. It reminds me of a few neighborhoods I previously visited in Buenos Aires. It is relatively quiet and safe, but there is plenty to do with several bars and restaurants located within a few blocks.
The staff is consistently helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Luis.
Fernando, the owner, provided great recommendations for planning three days of sight-seeing. The breakfasts were delicious and the chilaquiles were probably the best I have ever eaten.
All rooms are decorated differently. Mine was spacious, comfortable and unique with a claw-foot tub within the room. The room faced the street with beautiful, large windows, but I did not experience any noise disturbances.
The price could not be beat for the location, size, comfort,food and service.

From Condesa Haus I was able to walk to several other neighborhoods including Roma, Rosa and the large Park/Museums. I did use the Metro and found it to be orderly, safe and relatively easy to understand. Disclosure, I have used many subway systems. It may be daunting for some less-traveled, non-urban types. Getting to the closest Metro stop was a bit of a chore the first time as the stations are not well marked and it requires crossing a very wide and busy street. However, after the first time, I was able to find it without difficulty. Mexico City cabs are affordable and safe as long as one arranges for cabs in advance and does not hail one on the street.

In short, I found Mexico City to be an interesting, friendly international city with much to see and do and not at all like the negative assumptions which many Americans make.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloverdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great place, wonderful inter-war fantastical interior, excellent breakfast, good internet in the central foyer space. Close to good restaurants and bars, in the middle of the Condesa triangle. Staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartnharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nice friendly experience. Room was clean and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. The surrounding area is amazing, full of great restaurants, bars, you name it. If I return to Mexico City, I will certainly come back here! Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#42 of 310 in Mexico City
311 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#55 of 310 in Mexico City
60 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#51 of 310 in Mexico City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#9 of 310 in Mexico City
1,311 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#10 of 151 in Mexico City
336 reviews
Condesa
Distrito Condesa
Distrito Condesa
#11 of 151 in Mexico City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condesa Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condesa Haus

Property: Condesa Haus
Address: Cuernavaca 142 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condesa Haus is a new concept of hosting in Mexico through a blend of art, comfort and technology all at Condesa the most famous and trendy neighborhood in Mexico City. All suites feature Wi Fi internet, flat TV , cable TV, Bath w/tub and a local cell phone. Start your day with a delicious breakfast included. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Condesa Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condesa Haus Hotel Mexico City
Condesa Haus Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing