We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't buy wine ... not as good as the competition ...”
Review of Giacovanni - CLOSED

Giacovanni
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Polanco
Cross street: Esquina Mazarik
Description: In Giacovanni you can enjoy a casual atmosphere and while savoring our amazing wood fired pizzas, a variety of salads, antipasti and pastas with traditional Italian flavors.
Level Contributor
1,085 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Don't buy wine ... not as good as the competition ...”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I must first admit that the preparation of the food and ingredients were top notch (albeit expensive) and that the service was acceptable to good ... at the Condesa location.

However what put me off was that you have to pay a 155 peso uncorking fee for a wine purchased in their restaurant because they "purchase all their wines from the Botarga" ... which is the gourmet shop linked (they are a partner business) to the restaurant next door. At least they told us this before we ordered ... but when you go eat fine dining Italian you want to drink what ... WINE!! And I don't want to pay out of the nose for it.

Kind of turned me off ... I would rather go back to Rosetta in the Roma Norte.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Blah!”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Definetly not the best italian restaurant in town, and the service is slow. We started with an artichoke antipasto with goat cheese, good flavor, but it was very greasy (yuck!). The entrees were good, I think the best one was the salmon (special of the day). The tiramisu, in my opinion was too sweet, but the rest of my party seemedto enjoy it. I would go back, but prefer not to.
Beware of the valet parking it costs $40 pesos for 3 hours, and then star charging $40 pesos for every hour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elsalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hnnh???”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Never got to eat here (Condesa restaurant). Many places closed on New Year's in Mexico City so made a reservation for Giacovanni on Sonora in Condesa. Fifty minutes before the time scheduled, an email popped up telling me that the restaurant had cancelled my reservation. What's that about?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Over a period of 5 years, we've tried many pizza restaurants throughout town, and if you like well-done, thin crust pizza baked in wood-burning ovens, there is no better than this place. Even when it comes delivery, it's excellent. The toppings are always fresh and they never pour anything on too thick. You can taste every ingredient you request.

We've been to all 4 locations over the years and they've always been consistently great.

As good as the best in Napoli!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanderkinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good food and it has a nice terrace.”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

The place has a nice terrace and offers great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giacovanni also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing