We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in Mexico City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa D'Italia

Casa D'Italia
Ranked #382 of 4,170 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Condesa
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

For years this place has offered the best Italian food in Mexico City.
Tiny place with great service and freshly made pasta.
Very recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Had a fish with olives, capers and garlic in a delicious tomato based sauce. The pasta was very fresh and the carpaccio was well seasoned. Service was also excellent without being too overwhelming which usually happens in Mexico City restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyG126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Best Italian food in town by far. A bit pricey but worth it. The wine selection is good and the specials are well always special!! My favorite dish is the vegetable 'fritata' and the fish dishes are excellent as well. Make reservations or go early for the meal, since it is always full.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food as always; not so great interior renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We've been a fan of Casa D'Italia for years; it's been our neighborhood 'go to' favorite place for great Italian food in DF. So, we recently returned, after a four-month absence. The food and service did not disappoint . Our entradas and platos furertes were all great. And all the same waiters were there to greet us. The one downside, I'm afraid,was their recent renovation. The place is downing in the color beige, from the faux stone walls to the chairs and tables. What happened to the Italian flag on the ceiling? the coziness? the color?? I felt like I fell back into the '80's. Yikes!! I'm so grateful that the food and service are still as wonderful as they every were, but this new look seems very wrong. We'll still return for great Italian food, but maybe we'll ask to sit in the patio.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When you crave Italian in the DF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

One thing that happens in most "ethnic" restaurants in Mexico City is that to cater to its mostly Mexican clients Seasonings and condiments tend to lean heavily on chiles, chile sauces and similar condiments.
Not here at Casa Italia where all the homemade sauces andtraditional Italian classics are prepared as faithfully as can be.

With its Italian owner hovering and making sure that the osso bucco is fork tender or that the spagetti al vongole has a roch garlic and clam brothiness to it there is not much more to ask for.
Oh yes , better bread ....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa D'Italia also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Casa D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing