We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, crappy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel
Ranked #25 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The rooms are pretty good, tiny but good. They are much smaller than the Sheraton that is 2 blocks away, which is pretty old but still better than this horrible hotel. I travel on business a lot and this was the worst stay I had in 7 months in Mexico.

I need my bills to be emailed to me since I travel a lot and don’t have time to scan them to submit them as expenses. I requested this when I checked out and never received it. I have called them 3 times and never received the bill.

The staff is unprofessional, specially the one in the concierge. The only good thing about this hotel is that they have a steakhouse on the second floor that is really good since it is a franchise that does not belong to the hotel.

My recommendation is to stay at the Marquis that is 3 blocks away from this hotel, in which the service is incredible, it is only 10 dollars more per night and has a magnificent Mexican restaurant. The only downside from the Marquis is that you don’t get any frequent traveler points.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a pretty ugly view so it does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hernan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel is at good location, but the lobby and the rooms are very small.

I paid $230 dollar per night. Some nice or better hotels close by are only $80-100 per night. It is not worth it if paying by yourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have stayed here on two differnt occasions. The Marriott Reforma is in a great location at a good price. Only a 20 - 30 minutes ride from the airport. It is located right on the main avenue with many surrounding restaurants and shop and very close to the U.S. Embassy. I would avoid the side streets south of the hotel in the evenings as I got approached several times about "nice ladies. There is a very good Argentinan restaurant across from Hooters that serves great steaks and chicken at a resonable price.

The Marriott lobby is quite large with a little store to buy stuff like water, soda, souvenirs, medicines, etc. There is a bar with a lounge band in the evenings. The executive lounge on the 16th floor is quite spacious and has an outdoor area to relax. The gym is sufficient. There is a pool, two jacuzzi's in the common area and a steam room and sauna inside the mens locker room.

The steak house inside the restaurant was just so-so. The Sunday brunch at the restaurant near check in was fantastic! I would highly recommend to add this to your stay.

No wireless was a surprise, but that didn't concern me. I would stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: There are many ATM's near the hotel, so no need to hassle with the banks at the airport to excha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAsolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I missed my flight from Atlanta to Mexico City due to Airplane mechanical failure. I called the Marriot toll-free number and reported it. After waiting on the phone for 30 minutes the clerk informed that the she had informed the Marriot Reforma hotel, and I will not be charged a “no show” because force majeure (no fault of mine).
Later, I checked my account; I noticed there is a stay list from the August 14-15 my Marriott reward to include points. I knew I did not stay at this hotel during those dates; I check my visa account, and the stay is indeed a real and valid charge. I called the Marriot toll free customer service; they did know why I charge for an extra night and stated they would look into it. They Marriot had yet to inform me at what happened. I called the hotel and they stated they had billed me the fictitious night due to “no show” caused by the broken airplane that cause my trip to be cancelled.
I called Marriot customer service and after speaking to many rude Marriot employees to date the problem as not been solved, and I am still invoiced $$141.23 by the hotel.
I need Marriot organization to step and keep their word.
By the way, I am a Marriot platinum member – if this is way I be will treated I am moving on to different hotel chain that takes care of their customers, solves issues and have integrity.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
4  Thank bryanwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in a standard room which was ok but a bit small for two adults and a child.

The hotel has a fantastic executive floor with gret views of the city and all day food/non alcoholic drinks included in the price.

The location is excellent, close to the monument to independence, giving good access to the city centre.

Great breakfast buffet at the main restaurant, you see a lot of business people having working breakfasts.

Overall the staff is very professional and attentive, congratulations to them.

Room Tip: Ask or a room with a view, ours was facing mostly a wall. Standard rooms can feel a tad small, a sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike_fedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is extremely well located in Mexico City. You can't beat the location as it is so central.

The hotel has been nicely renovated and is kept up very well. The lobby is very tastefully decorated and modern. The guest rooms are pretty standard Marriott-style rooms, even on the concierge level. The bathrooms are very good size and well equipped with every amenity.

The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks English well. Check-in was fast and easy.

The concierge level lounge is on the top floor and has a great outdoor patio with outdoor furniture perfect for sunny days. The lounge has a great breakfast with hot food options, snacks and light eats all day long and has a real nice spread in the evening to 10pm. Lots of hot food options even though they only say just one is offered nightly. And the staff attending the lounge are very attentive and extremely friendly.

The pool is a decent size outdoor pool with comfortable lounge chairs, but offers no view as it's on the 4th-5th floor and surrounded by large walls. The gym is a good size and has great equipment - lots of cardio equipment, weight machines and free weights.

All in all, a great hotel in a perfect location in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is nice enough but really? It was built 3 years ago and it dies not have wireless. Do not stay here if you are on business.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#10 of 313 in Mexico City
1,524 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 313 in Mexico City
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#12 of 313 in Mexico City
1,184 reviews
Le Meridien Mexico City
#22 of 313 in Mexico City
521 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel

Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 276 | Col Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £125 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel offers the utmost in luxury, convenience and innovation, ideal for business travels and weekend getaways. Our hotel offers quick access to Reforma Avenue, the United States Embassy, the Angel of Independence, the National Museum of Anthropology and Chapultepec Forest, among many others. Our hotel in Mexico City features newly renovated guest rooms' carpet and bedding, spacious marble bathrooms, LCD TVs, safes, high-speed Internet, large desks, ergonomic chairs and soundproof windows. Savor delectable Mexican dishes, prime steaks and expertly crafted cocktails at our on-site restaurants, or enjoy a brisk workout at our modern fitness center with spa services or atrium lap pool with retractable roof. Our Mexico City hotel also features 13,000 square feet of stylish event space, including an auditorium with a capacity of up to 500 guests, perfect for weddings and conferences. Make your upcoming trip absolutely unforgettable. Book a stay at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mexico City
Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing