We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel
Ranked #23 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The property is in a great location, right in front of the American Embassy and in the middle of Paso de la Reforma. You can walk to a shopping mall that is nearby and in there you can find several entertaining and dining options.

Checking in and out was very fast. To go to your room you have to use your key to start the elevators, which I think is very good for security.

My room was on the 8th floor and away from the elevators, I didn't hear any noises and I also had a very well appointed minibar and also a coffe and tea service. One thing that I particularly liked about this room was that it was very well lit. that is one of the things that I really like from hotel rooms and this one met and exceeded my expectations in that regard.

There is a bar with live music which seemed to be very good although I didn't get a chance to go in. I did go to their Mexican restaurant for dinner and the food was very good and the service superb.

The staff is very attentive and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this hotel for business trips to Mexico city

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors and ask for it to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped.

Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de saber que pudimos superar sus expectativas y le agradecemos enormemente que haya elegido hospedarse en nuestro hotel.

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros su experiencia durante su estancia pasada.

Agradecemos el tiempo dedicado a sus muy agradecidos comentarios y lo esperamos de nuevo en el corto plazo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    321
    106
    42
    55
See reviews for
111
153
83
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I'm surprised to be writing a poor review for a Marriott property, because these have usually been pretty good in my experience. However, the Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel is a glaring exception and I cannot recommend that anyone stay there.

When I arrived, I was surprised to see the hotel covered in notices and warnings from the Mexican government's office of consumer protection detailing various violations of consumer law. The hotel's license to operate was apparently suspended, but they were operating anyway, which hardly inspired confidence. So, when I checked in and was asked to sign a blank credit card voucher for incidentals, I wasn't particularly inclined to do so absent any explanations. I was handed a copy of a letter from the general manager which didn't address the substance of any of the violations but only apologized for the signs being unsightly.

The front desk seemed to punish me for my insolence by assigning me a very small room right next to the elevator shaft (it sounds like a jet taking off right behind the bed every time the elevator moves) with no view. A worker was sent along with me to lock the minibar, because they apparently thought I'm the kind of guy who would run out on a minibar bill. The window looked out to the blank wall of an adjoining parking garage a couple of feet away, so there was no view and no sunlight. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but I consider delivering a good night's sleep to be a fundamental competency of a hotel and due to the elevator noise, the Marriott utterly failed in this respect.

Granted, the target market of Marriott properties seems to be 80 year olds, and Latin America is not known for high technology, so I suppose I should not have been surprised by the lack of free WiFi anywhere on the property or to find Windows XP running on the ancient PCs in the business center. Still, I expect better. It is the year 2014 and I don't understand why I should have to stay at a 2-star or lower hotel to get good, fast WiFi.

The hotel concierge was friendly and very helpful, recommending a good Mexican restaurant and providing a map of the area. This was the one bright spot in the service offered. And the location is excellent, providing easy access to most tourist attractions in Mexico City. So, however, do many other hotels, and I recommend you choose one of them instead for your next stay in Mexico City.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit, look out the window to verify the view, and spend long enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dialtone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the time dedicated to share with us your comments on our hotel

Let me start by apologizing if you felt a lack of service at check in when as part of the standard Marriott policy, we requested an open credit card voucher.

As you mentioned we recently had a government visit were we had some observations to improve the products we are offering to our clients, the stamps were put only while we complete all the requirements made to the hotel so we can offer you a better product to enjoy, I apology if this fact caused you any kind of distrust during your stay

On additional standard procedure triggered by the decision of a guest of no leaving a guarantee is closing credit in any of our restaurants/bars, including in room service bar. Again, this measure was not directed to your personally as this, as mentioned, is standard procedure. Sorry if this was misinterpreted and made you feel uncomfortable,

In closing, and addressing your comment regarding room location we have 50% of our units with partial views of Reforma Avenue, but our excellent location compensates for this observation.
We politely request a future opportunity to recover your loyalty and may be sure your visit is as successful and restful as expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to Mexico City on business and stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate me on my trip. From the staff working the front desk, to the staff in the executive lounge I felt that all me needs were being met. The walls were a little thin as I could hear people in the adjacent room and the hall. The view from the room was of a black brick wall so make sure to ask for a room with a view. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the city make sure to stay on the side of the hotel opposite the adjacent buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest.

We want to thank you for the time you took for sending us your valuable comments.

Let me an apology for the inconvenience experienced during your last stay in regard to noise coming from adjacent rooms,
Marriott Corporate verifies thickness of unit walls according to standards which our property meets, We offer you the option of contacting noisy neighbors, with our commitment to secure your peace and quiet nights.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It is a relative new Marriott facility. It is well located on Paseo de la Reforma close to restaurants, embassies and cultural centers. It is well secured and the staff is kind, friendly and ready to help. The restaurant at the hotel has a great atmosphere with the best of the Mexican and so tasteful cuisine. The guest rooms are immaculately clean with a fresh linen scent and a great business desk. At last, the gym is state-of-the-art with a Spa where a minty scent populates the air when you walk by. I would have give them five stars, if it were not for the view of my room over a contruction site. Hopefully, it should be over by now.
Keep it up Marriott, Mexico!! I hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for the time dedicated to share your comments with us.
Is very important for us to know that your last stay was pleasant. We feel proud to cover all the expectations of our guest. In regard to the views of the rooms, 50% of the rooms have partial view to Reforma Avenue the other section, as you pointed out, face the constructions.

We want to offer an apology for this inconvenient but please let us know for your next visit to Mexico City Marriott Reforma to secure a better view face.

Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It's my first time in Mexico City. I'm here on Business and I'll be traveling here 6-10 times a year and this is my company's "preferred" hotel next to our offices. I was greeted when I arrived, but they couldn't find my name on their checkin sheet. Long convoluted check-in process at front counter and lots of whispering among the two colleagues it took to operate the reservation computer. They must have been whispering "let's give him the room with the worst view" - and they did! That would be 401. The walls are paper thin! I really wish there was a sound machine to block the sounds of other guests on other floors and rooms.

Room Tip: as I stated in the title ... not 401 (or presumably any on this floor). No Views! Go higher people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caeh0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest.

First of all we want to thank you for the time you took for sending us your valuable comments through this media, they are really important for us.

Second, we apologize if in some moment you felt we gave you a room without a nice view. Unfortunately our property is located between buildings and that is why in Marriott.com you can see that we have all our rooms with no view. As you can realize this fact is completely out of our hands, we hope your understanding; our first comitment with you is to be the best hospitality option in Mexico City as business traveler.

Your company and business is really important for us, we hope to have the oportunity to host you again in the near future.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
427 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Hotel was very nice, great location if you need to be in the Reforma area, or have any reason to be at the US Embassy this might be the best hotel nearby.

Breakfast was good, rooms are nice.

All three nights of my stay, I could here coughing, and sneezing from the rooms on either side of me. Someone in the room to my right would sneeze 4 to 10 times in a short period of time, then within a half hour it would happen again. The person in the room to the left was coughing throughout the night. I could here people speaking on phone calls as well.

Nice hotel, but the walls seem to be more like a Fairfield Inn than a full Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us we appreciated very much your constructive criticism.

We want to offer an apology for the inconvenience that you experienced during your last stay in regard to noise coming from adjoining as near by rooms.

Marriott Corporate verifies thickness of unit walls according to standards which our property meets, however please let us know your estimate dates to return, to make sure your stay is comfortable to your standards.

We hope to have the honor of hosting you the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at the Mexico City Marriott Reforma recently on business and was pleasantly surprised. This was my first trip to Mexico City so I was not quite sure what to expect. Overall my trip was very pleasant and productive and the Marriott Reforma fits that description. I was immediately greeted upon arrival and escorted to the concierge level on 16... they knew I was coming and were ready for me. The check in process was friendly and efficient. The room was nice and very suitable for getting work done and relaxing. The concierge lounge is large with a very open floor plan and a beautiful patio for conversing or just enjoying some of the surrounding sky line and sounds of the city. The lounge area is very nice too. Plenty of room to catch up with a colleague, a nice bar/lounge area and the restaurant provided a nice breakfast and dinner if you are just too tired to battle the streets after work. The surrounding area struck me as very safe and it is near the US Embassy. Some decent food options nearby that provide you the "international standard business dinner" (aka, Capital Grille) or the authentic (El Farolito.. I know it's a Mexican chain, but c'mon... it's great!). And lastly but certainly not least, the staff is always friendly and helpful. All in all, The Marriott Reforma exceeded my expectations and I will surely stay again when business (or pleasure) brings me back.

Room Tip: When I stayed, the concierge was only $20 more per night and provided free snacks and breakfast as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Reforma, General Manager at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest.

We are very pleased to hear of your experience in our property on your last stay.

Thank you also for the way you describe our Executive Lounge, undoubtedly an added value for our Marriott Rewards members.

We look forward to continuing being your honored hosts in your future visits to Mexico City.

Cordial regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#15 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Le Meridien Mexico City
#20 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#17 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel

Property: Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 276 | Col Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#26 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel offers the utmost in luxury, convenience and innovation, ideal for business travels and weekend getaways. Our hotel offers quick access to Reforma Avenue, the United States Embassy, the Angel of Independence, the National Museum of Anthropology and Chapultepec Forest, among many others. Our hotel in Mexico City features newly renovated guest rooms' carpet and bedding, spacious marble bathrooms, LCD TVs, safes, high-speed Internet, large desks, ergonomic chairs and soundproof windows. Savor delectable Mexican dishes, prime steaks and expertly crafted cocktails at our on-site restaurants, or enjoy a brisk workout at our modern fitness center with spa services or atrium lap pool with retractable roof. Our Mexico City hotel also features 13,000 square feet of stylish event space, including an auditorium with a capacity of up to 500 guests, perfect for weddings and conferences. Make your upcoming trip absolutely unforgettable. Book a stay at Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mexico City
Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing