We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and easy going place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Condesa

Hostal Condesa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Condesa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and easy going place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The location of this place is brilliant! Condesa is a fabulous neighbourhood and the hostal is in a prome location, close to bars and great restaurants, and also a few minutes walk from the metro!!! It is also close to the metrobus!
For its location, it is pretty cheap.......but comfortable! Sure, it is not the Ritz, but the place is clean and you have access 24 hours!
We did not have a noise problem, except the church ringing its bells a bit early......it is located a few blocks away and is beautiful, but that is not their fault :)
Had a small mix up being overcharged with money......but they returned the cash asap! At least they are honest!!!!!!!
I do recommend this hostal for the budget traveller! ;)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
10
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A nice and simple hostal located on the street with all the bars, restaurants and coffees - and the next metro is just five minutes away. The neighbourhood is beautiful and safe, with lots of places to discover. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We were 8 people, 4 men, 4 women, the main thing was a bedroom for men and bedroom for women with bathroom, this didn't happen.

They stole the credit card to one woman and tried to clone the credit card to another woman, because they made ​​the mistake of leaving their cards in the hostel.

Terrible service when we arrived to the hostel.

Room Tip: Try another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Biggest problem is noise. Owner is very kind, but service is pretty limp. They just opened a bar on the ground floor and noise volume is big. Every yahoo in town is at high volume.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markinship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Well, it's not the Ritz, but it doesn't claim to be either. This place is cheap, friendly and conveniently located. If you are a semi-active individual, you can walk to pretty much any attraction in Mexico D.F. from this place and if you are not; well, the metro is only within a 5-minute walk. Even with my overfilled 85+10L Deuter backpack on my back, I was able to walk to the metro station with only minor back pains. The best part is that this place is literally only a 1-minute walk away from THE best Mexican food you can get in or out of Mexico! Sure, you won't see pictures of the rooms in the latest issue of Boutique Hotels Magazine, but the rooms are clean, spacious and functional. Hey, for the price we paid, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

You must check out our site for all the info and pictures.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVacationAdvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

I stayed at this place for three nights, the guy Manuel that runs the frontdesk can be rude, he misunderstood a conversation my friend and I were having and thought we were talking about him, he reacted very aggressive towards us and said a lot of bad things. We asked for towels on our first day and got them 30 mins later with an attitude. The location is perfect ! close to the metro station and to restaurants and bars, price is good. Manuel ! You can get that 100 % if you improve your costumer service and attitude.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omar_alonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

I stayed in Hostal Condesa for three nights. It was such a good experience, I have been traveling in Mexico and my last stop was Mexico City. I was a little bit worried because I heard some not so good things about security. From the moment I made the reservation it was a good experience. I booked a private room and it was really nice. The hostel has a common area with Cable TV and a computer but for my surprise I had my own TV in the room. I wasn’t expecting this in a Hostel.
The location is spectacular with lots of young people, bars and restaurants in a walking distance. I really recommend this hostel if you want to be in a very clean place and in the middle of all the night life in Mexico City!!! Definitely I’ll come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
#93 of 141 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Condesa
Hostal La Buena Vida
Hostal La Buena Vida
#70 of 206 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Condesa
Anys Hostal
Anys Hostal
#6 of 206 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Condechi B&B
Condechi B&B
#57 of 206 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
#31 of 206 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Condesa
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec - Privanza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condesa

Property: Hostal Condesa
Address: Avenida Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Condesa Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Condesa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing