We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”
Review of Hostal Condesa

Hostal Condesa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Condesa
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Really enjoyed our stay, it was close to nightlife, and the subway station was a 5 minute walk. Free breakfast was great, as was the internet.
Very secure and safe, friendly staff, made our first stop in Mexico very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo07Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2009

Travelled with a group of 5 male friends down through Mexico after SXSW festival and this hostel was absolutely perfect.

Its extremely safe, as is all of Condesa, and this hostel represents outstanding value given the surroundings (think the Knightsbridge of Mexico City!).

The hostess could not have made us feel more welcome, the rooms were perfectly laid out /spotless and the breakfasts were excellent.

It is very peaceful inside with a buzzing nightlife outside. Plenty of nice bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk (also a laundrette and a cobblers which is essential for anyone coming back from a festival).

Highly, highly recommend this hostel, probably the best hostel i have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardoistheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

I loved this place. Great neighborhood, right next to the metro, nice staff and a cool chilling room area; what more do you want? My only complaint is that I'm there right now and I can't get to sleep because of the noise, but that's a small price to pay for such a great location. Stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Daniela and her staff are kind and ready to help make your stay in Mexico City a pleasurable experience. They are more than willing to assist you in finding museums and other points of interest throughout the city. There are several guide books available to guests in the commons area, as well as a computer with free internet access. The rooms are clean and affordable. Breakfast is also included. They typically offer fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, milk, juice, tea and coffee. The hostal is located in the beautiful and hip Colonia Condesa with its Art Deco charm and lots of great food and drink within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranciscoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This hostel is absolutely fabulous. It is a small hostel. In fact it almost blends into the apartment building from the outside. There are three private rooms and three rooms that each hold 4 people in bunks. So, it is very small and intimate.

The owner, Daniela, is one of the sweetest and nicest people. She is very responsive via email and will make you feel very welcome. She helped me with so many things, from giving advice on a trip to talking to the airlines that lost my luggage (since my Spanish is not very advanced).

I found the place completely charming. When I was there, there were a handful of guests. There is a living room where there is a computer with free internet access and a television with lots of channels. It serves as a communal space and all of the guests would hang out there and get to know one another. All of the guests would go out together every night (I guess this varies depending on who is staying there). However, the small and intimate nature of the place, lends itself to making friends.

Staying there is more like being in a small house with roommates. It was a great experience.

As for the facilities. They are new and it was a nice and lovely place. Daniela was so warm and accommodating. The hostel actually was one of the highlights of my trip. I highly, highly recommend it!!!! Plus, the neighborhood is terrific. A few blocks up the street are tons of restaurants, bars and clubs. And the hostel itself is only a few blocks from the metro as well.

Go here! It is fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mark_NYC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed in Hostal Condesa for 3 nights in a double room, at the end of September.
The room was very clean, with a double bed and a small closet. At the apartment we found everything we needed, even a satellite TV and a free internet. The owners were so hospitable and nice people! They helped us with everything we looked for - to find a good restaurant, the right subway line and much more..
The neighborhood is excellent, with a wide variety of restaurants & cafe's.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

first trip to mexico city and i couldn't have asked for a better landing spot and "home".

i found this place by accident on the web but it turned out to a gem of a place. on the outside, it looks just like any good old apartment building. when i arrived, Daniela who owns and runs the place greeted me warmly, helped me get settled in. condesa is a happening part of mexico city and this is in the perfect location. i have a private room (clean, simple with a double bed and lockers.

i have been the only guest here so far, so i get the whole living area and bathrooms to myself. as the previous guests already commented, free internet, cable tv, breakfast every morning, all in all first grade hotel like services at a great backpacking/hostel price!

there are tons of restaurant and bars around but the place is quiet. i have friends who live in the condesa area so i walk everywhere every day. i will definitely be coming back and i would recommend this place to everyone. (even though i would like to keep it a semi-secret as well so i can still come back without the crowds...)

also, before i arrived, daniela was very responsive and hospitable to me over emails, patiently answering tons of questions i asked (i have never stayed in a hostel before, so i was a little nervous.

so in summary - perfect location, unbeatable prices, lovely people to be around and made me feel like home...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank communityorganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Anys Hostal
Anys Hostal
#8 of 227 in Mexico City
72 reviews
Condesa
Tao Bed & Breakfast
Tao Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 161 in Mexico City
86 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#24 of 227 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
#86 of 161 in Mexico City
5 reviews
Condesa
Izta 54
Izta 54
#40 of 161 in Mexico City
4 reviews
Condesa
Hostal La Buena Vida
Hostal La Buena Vida
#83 of 227 in Mexico City
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condesa

Address: Avenida Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: £7 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Condesa Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Condesa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing