We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate, the potential to be great but wasn't and didn't stay”
Review of Hostal Condesa

Hostal Condesa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Condesa
london, england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unfortunate, the potential to be great but wasn't and didn't stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I don't like to leave a negative review but this really was not a good experience. We had been travelling in Central America for seven weeks and chose this hostel for our final night of the trip based on the reviews.

We emailed in advance and asked for a private room with bathroom as it was our last night and we wanted to relax. The email communication was great and we were really looking forward to it.

We informed them of our arrival time but when we arrived there was no one around to let us in. We stood outside for a good 5 minutes with our stuff and eventually a fellow guest arrived and let us in. There was no one at reception at this point.

Someone did let us into the room a few minutes later, the bed was unmade and still had the previous occupants sheets on and there was no bathroom. The room was also next to the kitchen which seemed ok but had dirty dishes in the sink.

The person who had emailed us arrived about 10 minutes later only to inform us that none of the rooms actually have bathrooms at this point. She apologised for the sheets and promised to bring us some. A further 10 minutes past and nothing arrived so we simply left as it was really not a good impression.

We had stayed in budget accommodation for the whole trip so were not expecting hotel standards but this was not what we were expecting after reading the reviews. We paid a bit extra and got a really nice hotel which was a shame as Condesa could have great potential.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspinkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
10
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Really enjoyed our stay, it was close to nightlife, and the subway station was a 5 minute walk. Free breakfast was great, as was the internet.
Very secure and safe, friendly staff, made our first stop in Mexico very enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo07Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Travelled with a group of 5 male friends down through Mexico after SXSW festival and this hostel was absolutely perfect.

Its extremely safe, as is all of Condesa, and this hostel represents outstanding value given the surroundings (think the Knightsbridge of Mexico City!).

The hostess could not have made us feel more welcome, the rooms were perfectly laid out /spotless and the breakfasts were excellent.

It is very peaceful inside with a buzzing nightlife outside. Plenty of nice bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk (also a laundrette and a cobblers which is essential for anyone coming back from a festival).

Highly, highly recommend this hostel, probably the best hostel i have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardoistheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2009

I loved this place. Great neighborhood, right next to the metro, nice staff and a cool chilling room area; what more do you want? My only complaint is that I'm there right now and I can't get to sleep because of the noise, but that's a small price to pay for such a great location. Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Daniela and her staff are kind and ready to help make your stay in Mexico City a pleasurable experience. They are more than willing to assist you in finding museums and other points of interest throughout the city. There are several guide books available to guests in the commons area, as well as a computer with free internet access. The rooms are clean and affordable. Breakfast is also included. They typically offer fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, milk, juice, tea and coffee. The hostal is located in the beautiful and hip Colonia Condesa with its Art Deco charm and lots of great food and drink within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciscoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_NYC25
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This hostel is absolutely fabulous. It is a small hostel. In fact it almost blends into the apartment building from the outside. There are three private rooms and three rooms that each hold 4 people in bunks. So, it is very small and intimate.

The owner, Daniela, is one of the sweetest and nicest people. She is very responsive via email and will make you feel very welcome. She helped me with so many things, from giving advice on a trip to talking to the airlines that lost my luggage (since my Spanish is not very advanced).

I found the place completely charming. When I was there, there were a handful of guests. There is a living room where there is a computer with free internet access and a television with lots of channels. It serves as a communal space and all of the guests would hang out there and get to know one another. All of the guests would go out together every night (I guess this varies depending on who is staying there). However, the small and intimate nature of the place, lends itself to making friends.

Staying there is more like being in a small house with roommates. It was a great experience.

As for the facilities. They are new and it was a nice and lovely place. Daniela was so warm and accommodating. The hostel actually was one of the highlights of my trip. I highly, highly recommend it!!!! Plus, the neighborhood is terrific. A few blocks up the street are tons of restaurants, bars and clubs. And the hostel itself is only a few blocks from the metro as well.

Go here! It is fabulous!!!!

  • Liked — The owner, Daniela, is terrific
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mark_NYC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed in Hostal Condesa for 3 nights in a double room, at the end of September.
The room was very clean, with a double bed and a small closet. At the apartment we found everything we needed, even a satellite TV and a free internet. The owners were so hospitable and nice people! They helped us with everything we looked for - to find a good restaurant, the right subway line and much more..
The neighborhood is excellent, with a wide variety of restaurants & cafe's.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
#81 of 149 in Mexico City
5 reviews
Condesa
Anys Hostal
Anys Hostal
#7 of 214 in Mexico City
71 reviews
Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
#42 of 214 in Mexico City
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Roomies Hostel Condesa
Roomies Hostel Condesa
#60 of 214 in Mexico City
13 reviews
Condesa
Hostal La Buena Vida
Hostal La Buena Vida
#75 of 214 in Mexico City
37 reviews
Condesa
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec - Privanza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condesa

Property: Hostal Condesa
Address: Avenida Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Condesa Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Condesa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing