We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel near the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #19 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Overall I liked this hotel, though there were a few problems we experienced during our stay.

Pros
The location of this hotel is great if you want easy access to the sites of central Mexico City around the Zocalo. The rooms are very nice, beds comfortable, everything kept very clean, the complimentary breakfast is pretty good with a lot of options, there is complimentary wireless Internet service, and the building is quite charming. The staff offers pretty good service.

Cons
When we arrived the electricity was out in the building and only emergency lighting was working and it took several hours for them to get it fixed. At least once they did there were no further issues. They didn't offer an explanation of what happened since they weren't sure at the time we checked in, and I didn't ask later either. The wireless Internet service is a little weak in the rooms. The two restaurants/cafes in the hotel did not offer very good service or food (though the one could be related to the electricity being out and them relying on emergency power). As others have mentioned, the AC leaves something to be desired. We were told it did not get below 18C, but even then our room stayed at a steady 19/19.5C.

Overall, I would return to this hotel if I were to return to Mexico City and wanted to stay near the Zocalo.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view - ours had the window frosted, probably because it faced towards an alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquistbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

This place was very nice. It is 2 blocks from the Zocalo. We had our kids with us, and they had a great time there. They have a free business center. They have plenty of stuff on the tv for people to watch. They have a good free breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. They hooked us up with some very good local tour guides. The rooms were comfortable. The place felt very safe, and it was well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel last week, it is certainly a beautiful building and it is conveniently located if you need/want to be in a downtown hotel: 2 blocks away from the Cathedral, Zocalo and Palacio de Gobierno (Government Palace), and a metro station (subway). Rooms are clean and comfortable. Every morning a very decent breakfast is served including hot items, pastries, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, choices of milk, etc. In addition to the above, this Hampton has a very good service, all the employees are courteous, efficient and they always welcome you with a smile. Once we checked out, one of my friends found out that she had forgotten her iPhone, we called the front desk and they found it and gave it back to my friend. Housekeeping and Front Office people are awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is excellent with wonderful accommodating staff. The location in the Centro Historico is perfect. Lots of dining and sight seeing options near the hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. We had a wonderful stay here

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor which has access to the roof garden and the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel has been one of our favorites for the last few years. We usually travel to the city once or twice a year for a few days and almost always stay here, since we first discovered it. It is a relatively new hotel in one of the very old building in the Centro Historico. A very moderate price for a very nice hotel.

Check-in is always a breeze; we have never encountered a delay. The staff throughout the entire hotel are extremely helpful and courteous and will go out of their way to do anything that they can for you.

Rooms are pleasant, spotlessly clean an airy. There are two restaurants on site---one a coffee shop the other, Fishers is a seafood restaurant. Food is average in both. However, the coffee shop houses Garabatos, a bakery extraordinaire. The pastries at this bakery are to die for and you can eat them in the restaurant or take them to your room for a wonderful evening treat. The bakery is a 5-star experience.

The hotel is just a few blocks from the zocalo, which is a must-see on any trip to the city.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmigoArturoArturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed here over a long weekend holiday in Mexico City. The obvious selling point of this hotel is the location; it's perfectly situated in the old historic district. You can easily walk to the major sights/museums; the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Zocalo. The hotel itself is clean and efficient, and the employees are friendly. The rooms are a little on the small side, but include all the amenities you'd expect. The bed was comfortable. There was a small bathroom with a walk-in shower that had plenty of hot water. There is a small exercise room (just a couple of machines), but the equipment was fairly new and well maintained. Even tough the hotel is in a "historic" building, the hotel itself doesn't have a ton of character (despite the stained glass atrium. If you are looking for a great location at an affordable price, you'll be hard pressed to do better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MPLSKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife and I visited Mexico City and wanted to stay in the historic district. This is the perfect hotel. It is 2 blocks from the Zocalo and the historic buildings and churches in the area. It is in an old building that has been restored completely. Rooms are clean as can be and very quiet. The breakfast buffet is complete with eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, waffles, fruit etc. It took about 35 minutes by cab from the airport in heavy traffic, 20 minutes going back with regular traffic. The area around the hotel was safe and filled with street vendors and performers. When we set the dates to go, we did not know that Sept. 16 is Mexican Independence Day, which draws huge crowds to the Zocalo, along with the closing of streets in the historic district. The hotel fairly priced. We had a small suite with fridge and microwave with 2 queen beds (our grown son met us there) for about $120 per nite. No pool or spa, but did have a small exercise room with eliptical, tread mill and bike.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the busy street and it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jackson507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
1,437 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,768 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
827 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 312 in Mexico City
2,000 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £85 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing