We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #18 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with a few glitches”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

With an excellent location a few blocks from the main square and a charming exterior, this is a lovely hotel. The hotel is well done and a nice place to stay, and ideal to see the main sights of the city. We did however have an issue where the hotel arranged a taxi to a wedding that we were attending - the driver clearly didn't have any idea where he was going and after asking many, many passers by we eventually made it there half an hour late (and the charge was double the cost of our return journey). However, this might have just been bad luck, and overall we would still recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    680
    155
    40
    26
See reviews for
530
835
199
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was one of the most disappointing hotels we stayed in during our trip to Mexico.
Good location but a completely unacceptable hotel. Our original room 322 looked out on to an internal wall through a darkened mirrored window, was small and felt very claustrophobic and the air conditioning did not work properly. After not sleeping very well on the first night we upgraded to a suite (room 303) for USD 50 for the remaining 2 nights. We saw 2 other rooms before that one – one was the same grade as ours which did not have a real window simply an opaque window on to the inner courtyard of the hotel and another suite had only a small window in the bedroom above head level and suffered from the disadvantage of being opposite a disco.
All the rooms we saw are unimaginatively furnished and depressing. The reception area for the hotel for breakfast was very crowded with groups arriving and departing and not really large enough. The buffet breakfast was poor. There must be somewhere better perhaps The Grand Hotel, Mexico City.

This is part of the Hilton Group and we understand part of the cheaper end of the group, certainly in the US - some people may want that but we didn't.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great hotel, with an exemplary service from all the staff. Location is superb. I will stay here again every time that I come back. In fact this will now be a corporate destination for all of our staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Originally we tried to stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico but found it too expensive so settled on the Hampton Inn. It turned out to be an amazing decision.

We had a king size bedroom which was big enough to let our 1.5 year old son run around the room without seeming crowded. The bed was big enough that our son slept horizontal between us and we still had a comfortable night's sleep. It was also big enough to make a pillow fort. And the TV was on a swivel so if our son was sleeping in the bed, we could easily turn it to the couch area so that the glare would not shine onto the bed. Plus there didn't seem to be many objects around the room within his reach.

The hotel has a very big rooftop patio with high walls. During the day we were the only ones up there (everybody no doubt sightseeing) and he had a ball running around and rearranging the patio furniture cushions. There is also a children's room (consisting of a little table and chairs) but we did not use this.

There are a couple of steps to enter the hotel but there was always someone there offering to help lift the stroller. Our son spent lots of time running up and down the ramp to enter the lobby and no staff complained. We also could have rode the glass elevator continuously as our son was fascinated by the view.

The free breakfast was great - scrambled eggs, make-your-own-waffles, croissants, dry cereal, etc. Our son stuck to eggs, toast, orange juice and yogurt. The staff was extremely accommodating for a toddler at breakfast. We tried to sit at the far end as it gave our son the best view of the lobby glass elevator which seemed to memorise him during his breakfast.

Each day the room was supplied with two bottled waters which made making his bottles that much more hassle free.

The hotel is a five minute walk from Zocalo and its street is quiet (for Mexico City). We had an inner room and it was very quiet. At the corner are four pharmacies which do sell baby products. There are also a few Vips restaurants nearby that seem to be kid friendly (pancakes).

The entire staff was super nice. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We found a good deal on trivago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupontheKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay in this hotel, thinking in change from IHG to Hilton :) value vs cost is really good, only bad thing they hadn't toothpaste :( could be better with a biger Gym. Laundry is an advantage

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubaldo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you are visiting Mexico City this hotel is charming and centrally located (ie walking distance) to the city center. We absolutely loved staying here and will return. The concierge speaks excellent English and was a huge help getting us an interpretor for a business and driving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel in great situation, 5 mins from central square. Room very comfortable, quiet and well furnished. American breakfast very good. Reception staff helpful with regard to restaurant recommendations. Everything great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,359 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
716 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#17 of 305 in Mexico City
1,879 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#26 of 305 in Mexico City
683 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 305 in Mexico City
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing