We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location and basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #17 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location and basic hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

clean but very small room. room was listed as atrium which translates to facing the interior courtyard. which then translate to noisy. the room had one very small window that looked at to hallway and atrium. The air conditioner in the room didnt work and the staff was very helpful in switching our room quickly.

breakfast was basic eggs, meats..etc. and abundant.

This is probably considered a 3 star hotel. nothing special and inexpensive. but i would say the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

hotel has a very small fitness room. added bonus is the washer and dryer if you need them.

Room Tip: atrium room will be small and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    667
    154
    40
    25
See reviews for
521
827
192
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a minute room in this hotel, but fortunately we were staying for just one night.
The building is historic and very close to the Zocalo, but otherwise has no soul. The amenities are modern but breakfast had a feeling of a college cafeteria.

Room Tip: Be aware that a standard room does not have room for a chair and little room to get around the bed...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gilldiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overall my experience was great but in a historic building there can be issues. One issue was water, we were without it for hours one day. Not sure why but it just happened to be after a day of climbing pyramids when I could really use a shower. Eventually it was solved but it was about 4 hours later.

Room: The room was your standard, run of the mill Hampton Inn. I had a 1 bedroom suite and not much of a view, just tops of buildings.
Property: There is a lovely stained glass dome over the center/top of the hotel which is just lovely. There is also a great little outdoor space on top of the hotel which does truly provide a nice respite from a long day of sight seeing.
Location: If you want to be in the historic city center, this is the place. Just a few blocks to the Zocolo and a short walk to the lively street scene at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is not a bad hotel by any means, in fact, it’s a bit above average. We ordered a room with a king bed. The room wasn’t huge, but had the desk separating the bed and couch area, so it felt like we had two rooms.

We had a few issues with the room; first, the shower door was broken and wouldn’t close. We had to fill the ice bucket with water to keep the door closed. We called maintenance and they fixed the issue while we were out that day, good as new (all the while, the management said that we could have another room if we weren't satisfied).

Next issue was that our air conditioning quit working one evening. We called the front desk, they sent a tech up with a fan and he tried to fix it. He couldn’t. It was late and the front desk offered us another room, but we didn’t want to have to pack up and move so we dealt with it overnite (it wasn’t horrible). Again, the next day they repaired it while we were out.

The final issue we had was with the carpet. It looked clean enough, but walking on it in socks proved that the carpet needed a cleaning in the worst way. Nothing they could do about that.

Other than those issues, the place was clean, the bedding and towels fresh, the bed very comfortable, and the service fantastic. We were happy with our stay. We ate in both restaurants on site and both were really good!

We typically stay at the Gran Hotel when in Mexico City staying in the Zocalo. However, the Gran Hotel was all booked up so we tried this place. For us, this is a good (and less expensive) alternative when we stay here. We’ll always try to stay and the Gran Hotel first (we love the view of the Zocalo and the Cathedral), but if they are all booked we’d have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 422. The ice machine is right there and I apologize to the people staying in tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kula762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Safe, clean hotel in a great location. Knowledgeable and helpful staff.

My only gripe was that the wifi was very slow (hence 4*). Otherwise great room, great service.

If you are HHonors Gold or Diamond, I'd suggest also having a look at the Hilton Reforma down the road too. Rates are often not much more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently spent six nights in Mexico City, three nights each at two different hotels. The first hotel was a glossy number in Zona Roma while the remaining three nights were spent at the Hamptons Inn & Suites.

The rooms in each of the hotels I stayed in were approximately the same price. However, the Hampton Inn was, by far, of much better value. The price of the room included a free substantial breakfast as well as free Wifi. I think its scandalous turning up at a hotel these days only to find you have to pay an extra US $50 for three days of Wifi access. This cost should be included in the room rate as internet access is just as necessary as a toothbrush for most travelers.

The Hampton Inn comprises an old colonial historic building, lots of character and a short walk from the central plaza. This appealed to me as firstly, I am not a glossy-hotel sort of person and secondly, the moment you set outside the front door of the hotel, you are immediately amongst the throng and bustle of the city. Close to everything and lots to see. Leave your hotel in the evening and just walk. That's one nights entertainment just there. Fantastic.

I had a large outside-facing King suite which comprised two rooms and had all the amenities of any upmarket hotel room. The bed itself was the best bit for me. It was sooooo comfortable. It was on the third floor and while I was aware of the hum of the street below during the day, this didn't bother me at all. In fact I prefer it to complete silence. At night I didn't hear a thing.

In summary, great room in a fantastic location. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppy_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

i could give this property 5 stars but my only gripe is the amount of noise we experienced the first night we stayed. We got not even 2 hours sleep because of the amount of noise we could hear from the streets below. But in saying this, the other nights of our stay were peaceful and uninterrupted.

The location is so central The staff are so welcoming and friendly, and the free breakfast is the best way to start the day. The room was a decent size and the shower pressure was sufficient. You will be sure to enjoy your stay here, but be sure to pack ear plugs just incase. Better to be safe than sorry right?

I love Mexico City, and this hotel allowed us to enjoy everything in the area. oh and it is close to the Zocalo metro station, which we used daily. And after all, a little noise never hurt anyone :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#35 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#16 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing